We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Choice For American-Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of China Harbor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Harbor
Ranked #107 of 181 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Good Choice For American-Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The menu, like most American-Chinese restaurants is extensive. There are some sophisticated dinners offered, but I generally stick with the lower priced "Combinations".
The food is always well-prepared. Unlike many restaurants of this ilk, they do NOT skimp on the featured ingredients.
I prefer take-out to dining in, mostly because it always seems either too cold or too warm inside. It's also fast and convenient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    0
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have always had a great meal here, service is always spot on and friendly, and you can't beat the price. Their Crab Rangoons are perfect. They have a lot of meal specials and a really large selection of choices. I don't believe they are vegan friendly (some of their veggie dishes come with pork fried rice). I have never left here hungry, and more than a few times have brought food home. They have a thriving take out business, and a full menu available for take out. The restaurant is very clean- I have a friend who repairs big kitchen vents, heaters and the like- he says they have the cleanest kitchen he's ever been in. Nice place, good food, enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyC65_Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My brother in-law had a bad plate of food and was told that they have the same cook and not to order that meal again. Guess, I will not be returning again. PS: This place is either too cold as it was today or too hot in the warmer months, never been there and been comfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I come to China Harbor with my best friend when were in Bangor and To us it is one of the best places to get Chinese food in the area. We took it upon ourselves to try out a lot of different chinese restraunts in the area (over a period of time of course) and we have found that they are the best! Good job China Harbor!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAC21994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very happy with this chinese restaurant. Great food , Great price, Great Service.
We had a bunch of different things and all of it was good. there was so much food that we each took home a doggie bag. We would definatley come again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsYahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to China Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing