We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent & affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Country Inn at the Mall
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent & affordable!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My new husband & I stayed at this hotel 1 night during our honeymoon before we headed to Bar Harbor. The staff were helpful & pleasant to deal with. They laid out fresh cookies & had juice/coffee available 24/7. The rooms were kept up to standard. It is a very "homey" place to stay. They were very helpful at accommodating our needs. This hotel is within 5 miles of everything. We went to McGlaughlins for dinner one night & had amazing lobster. There is not a pool or hot tub. They also do not have HBO but have several channels for you to enjoy on downtime.The WIFI was excellent! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I'm very happy that we could help make your getaway enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    266
    63
    16
    7
See reviews for
232
237
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklee, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here on 6/9 we enjoyed our stay. The night before we stayed at the days inn and decided to try this hotel. This hotel is 100 percent better. Thank you for everything your staff is sweet and kind. They even helped with directions

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel!
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm happy to hear that you found our staff helpful. I will be sure to pass along your compliments! We are always pleased to hear from our guests. Your feedback is very important to us. I hope that you will stay with us again, if you return to the area!

Thank you, again!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were happy with the accommodations. On the plus side it was a quick, friendly check in. The room was spacious and clean. A good breakfast was complimentary. On the negative; while waiting in line with our pre-booked confirmation, we hear the desk clerk offer a local couple the same type of room for less than we paid. Also, while they offered free HBO, the channel came in to snowy to watch. Overall, it was nice and the staff was friendly. No frills.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineOconnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. This is something we strive to maintain and your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you. To address the negative points that you mentioned, it is the case that some guests receive different rates than others. We do offer discounts for certain memberships, and circumstances. For example, a guest staying with us for leisure may receive a different rate than a guest who is staying with us for business. A guest on business might receive a different rate than a guest who is staying for a medical procedure/emergency at one of our local hospitals, etc. You might also receive a different rate by booking through a 3rd party booking agency. We offer several discounts, and are happy to offer them to any guest who might qualify. Everyone is free to inquire about things that may qualify them for a discount. I do apologize for the HBO channel. Steps have been taken toward getting this problem fixed.

Thank you, again, for your feedback! Our guest's opinions are of the utmost importance to us and your feedback is what helps us provide the best experience possible!

Sincerely,
Jennifer F.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Roberts, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here a few days en route to other destinations. Room was very clean. Staff were very courteous and helpful. Great little breakfast nook that was included in our stay. Other than having to walk from the lobby to the other end of the inn, everything was convenient. Within walking distance to shopping and nearby restaurants. I'd come back any time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you were happy with our accommodations. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to my staff! We look forward to having you stay with us again. Always feel free to let us know of any preferences you may have when you make your reservation. We are always happy to accommodate requests to the best of our ability!

Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is so far out of all the hotels I've been to, this is the best and the cleanest ever. They are very kind and helpful with any of my needs. The rooms are all up to date and a good size. Most hotels have a very small room and are lucky to even have a sink. The price and what you get are amazing. Anytime I'm back in the area this will be my fist choice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleStilkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place is really a gem if you are traveling on route 95 in this area. It was frozen raining sideways and stinging my face as I walked up to the front door of this little inn. We opened the front door and there in front of a blazing fire place a rocking chair making it feel like home. The rooms were clean, modern and beds comfortable. In the morning we got free hot breakfast. They had eggs that weren't so good but the Belgian waffle maker made very good waffles.
This place is a great value. I will definitely return when I'm in that area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room directly over the front door and enjoyed the view. It was quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you, very much, for taking the time to post your review! I'm so glad we were able to offer you the comforts of home during such unfavorable weather. Home away from home is what we aim for! I hope you come back and stay with us again, soon!

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
4.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at the Mall

Property: The Country Inn at the Mall
Address: 936 Stillwater Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangor
#4 Family Hotel in Bangor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#9 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Country Inn at the Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the intersection of Hogan Road and Stillwater Avenue, The Country Inn at the Mall is your home away from home when visiting the Bangor area. Our independently owned 94 room hotel has been hosting guests from all walks of life since its opening in 1989. Our cozy lobby offers a "country" ambiance that most people describe as homey and comfortable - the cookies that are made fresh daily also help! The welcoming atmosphere of the lobby is appreciated by our guests who enjoy the couches by the fireplace - or if it is warm you will find them on the front porch passing the time in the rocking chairs. Our front desk staff is always friendly and courteous as we provide exceptional customer service to every guest, for every stay and our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their attention to detail. The consistent positive feedback that we receive from visitors is a testament to how much each employee cares about the hotel and our guests. We have many people who have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bangor - regardless of what interest initially brought them to the area. Whether you are a returning guest or trying us out for the first time, we appreciate your interest in our hotel and we look forward to providing you with an excellent stay at our Country Inn at the Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your The Country Inn at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At The Mall Hotel Bangor
Country Hotel Bangor
Country Inn Bangor
The Country Hotel
Bangor Country Inn
The Country Inn At The Mall Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing