We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Country Inn at the Mall
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Country inn at the Mall on two separate occasions and both stays were very good. From check in to check out the hospitality was exceptional. the continental breakfast was a great way to start our day. The rooms were spacious and clean. I will stay there again the next time I am visiting Bangor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    272
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
243
253
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great place, included breakfast and internet access. We only spent one night here but no complaints. Very clean and comfy beds.

The only downfall for a family travelling is the lack of the swimming pool.

The staff were very accomodating and helpful. Coffee and cookies available in thelobby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Guest Relations Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel is very CLEAN, a little outdated maybe but very nice. Price was great. Location is perfect, practially across from the mall if you are in Bangor to shop, I know I was. The only downfall if I had to pick one is that because the hotel is very clean and has regulars returning because of this, it was very very busy! The hotel was full. This isn't a problem, great for the hotel but not so great when you want to eat breakfast and it's so busy you can't even get in. So we didn't end up having the continental breakfast, just too busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Guest Relations Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. I apologize for the breakfast area being congested. We value your feedback and look forward to accommadating you on your next visit to the Bangor area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This inn is great! Privately owned and service was great. Rooms were nice and clean with ample room. Also, the continental breakfast was typical of what you see at any chain restaurant.

Would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting Bangor.

Room Tip: Didn't have any issues with noise. It is just off the main highway so traffic noise is low. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mastros2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Front Office Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Country Inn at the Mall (what a title!) is an adequate place to stay -- nothing more, nothing less. It seems quite clean. The staff are friendly and businesslike, and the bed was quite comfortable. My partner and I were staying here for one night on a return trip from Nova Scotia, and as a road-side refuge, it offered what we needed. Didn't try the breakfast, so I can't say anything about that.

If you're looking for charm, character, or a memorable experience, this is not where you're going to find it. If you're looking for a decent room and a place to lay your head because you need one and you're trying to find the most economical place in Bangor, this is a pretty good bet.

Other reviewers have complained about noise from other rooms, but I didn't notice conversation or other noises, other than hearing showers turn on and off. A minor annoyance, but not worth a giant fuss for me.

One concern that might be more important -- the air-conditioning / ventilation units are quite old-style, and noisy. We stayed on a cool night, so we got away with it off. We were also on the ground floor, so opening the windows was not an option. Had we been there on a hot night, an upper-floor room would have been a must to avoid the AC noise.

Room Tip: Upper floors if you want to open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Guest Relations Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Your feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We just returned from a 3 nite stay and found this hotel to be great for the price. It is close to all the shopping hot spots and great dining within walking distance. The hotel was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. They even had warm cookies at the front desk which was a nice added touch ! It is a non smoking hotel. There is no need to run the AC as the windows open for fresh air which is an added bonus ! I will return after my credit card returns from its shock state from all its use from shopping !!
I highly recommend the drive to Governors Restaurant on Broadway for breakfast, a great place !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank filbertcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Guest Relations Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind words. Your feedback is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way up to Canada. First impressions were positive, all looked in good shape, check-in staff were friendly and we were impressed by the size of the complex. However, when we were handed over the door keys we were sudprised to see actual door keys, not the swipe type everybody else has these days.

The room was clean and of reasonable size. Unfortunately, the hotel was only providing 2 towels which is a little off the mark. The air/con is quite noisy and we were able to hear every single word the guests of the adjacent room were saying - interesting for a little while, but then it got creepy.

Location is perfect, if you need to go shopping at wal mart - but if you prefer to see some of Bangor you need to drive for 10 mins or so. There are no restaurants within walking distance.

Our rating is 3 out of 5 due to room acoustics and location.

Room Tip: ask for a room near one of the many entrances, otherwise you need to walk quite a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
458 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,025 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at the Mall

Property: The Country Inn at the Mall
Address: 936 Stillwater Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangor
#4 Family Hotel in Bangor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#9 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Country Inn at the Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the intersection of Hogan Road and Stillwater Avenue, The Country Inn at the Mall is your home away from home when visiting the Bangor area. Our independently owned 94 room hotel has been hosting guests from all walks of life since its opening in 1989. Our cozy lobby offers a "country" ambiance that most people describe as homey and comfortable - the cookies that are made fresh daily also help! The welcoming atmosphere of the lobby is appreciated by our guests who enjoy the couches by the fireplace - or if it is warm you will find them on the front porch passing the time in the rocking chairs. Our front desk staff is always friendly and courteous as we provide exceptional customer service to every guest, for every stay and our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their attention to detail. The consistent positive feedback that we receive from visitors is a testament to how much each employee cares about the hotel and our guests. We have many people who have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bangor - regardless of what interest initially brought them to the area. Whether you are a returning guest or trying us out for the first time, we appreciate your interest in our hotel and we look forward to providing you with an excellent stay at our Country Inn at the Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Country Inn at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At The Mall Hotel Bangor
Country Hotel Bangor
Country Inn Bangor
The Country Hotel
Bangor Country Inn
The Country Inn At The Mall Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing