We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, economical hotel in Bangor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Country Inn at the Mall
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
NewBrunswick
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good, economical hotel in Bangor”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while in Bangor for a concert and shopping. We were looking for an affordable place to stay that was clean and in a good location. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. While the accomodations aren't luxurious, it's a good, solid hotel for the price.

The hotel is about 2 mins from the Mall and right next door to a huge Walmart. There are restaurants within walking distance including Applebees, Olive Garden and Dunkin' Donuts.

The room was clean and the beds are comfortable. The hotel also offers a continental breakfast but we didn't eat there.

Overall, a great spot! We'll return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    273
    67
    16
    7
See reviews for
244
254
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PEI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Canadian shoppers, stayed at Country Inn at the Mall in June 2012. Have stayed at many hotels in Bangor over the years. Rooms at this hotel are basic and clean, complimentary breakfast was ok. Biggest problem with this hotel is that the room doors have a large gap at the bottom and you hear every conversation in the halls. Not the greatest thing when you are trying to sleep at night when other guests are coming in or early in the morning when other people are going to breakfast at 6 a.m. Impossible to sleep if anyone is talking in the hallway. You hear every word. Just be forewarned. I will try another hotel next time even if I have to pay a bit more, it would be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I found this hotel to be very convenient to the mall and the college our son will be attending. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My 3 girl friends and I recently stayed at Country Inn at the Mall for 3 nights , while doing some shopping in Maine. We have stayed there on 2 previous shopping trips and are always pleased with the accomodations. The room decor is a bit dated but have always been very clean . We rented two rooms, side-by-side on the 2nd floor for $81 each per night. A continental breakfast is included and we alsways appreciate the freshly-baked warm cookies and coffee available in the front lobby area, The front desk staff and housekeeping staff have always been very friendly and curteous. The hotel is located a stone's through from Walmart, and is very close to the Bangor Mall, Kohl's, Target, Christmas Tree Shoppe and Burlington Coat Factory.

Room Tip: The hotel is 2 levels and their is an elevator for those with mobility issues. Lots of parking space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happybluenoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

As a Canadian coming to Bangor to shop for all the things that Americans take for granted, I found this property's location ideal. A bit dated, but I'm here for a clean room and a comfortable sleep, not to be awed by architecture. Good parking, friendly staff, adequate breakfast, and a reasonable price. Will stay here any time we're in Bangor

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

For 81.00 in Bangor, 2 min walk to Wal Mart and so close to shopping centers, this place offers a good deal. Great breakfast , waffles, Eng muffins, toast, eggs, cereal, fruit, etc. Regular type motel room, clean, functional, good parking. We have stayed here lots and will continue to use for value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel provided what we needed: location, right price and breakfast. However it wasn't anything special. We were woken up in the morning by construction going on outside so maybe ask for an upstairs room?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktsapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
459 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
1,031 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at the Mall

Property: The Country Inn at the Mall
Address: 936 Stillwater Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangor
#4 Family Hotel in Bangor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#9 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Country Inn at the Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the intersection of Hogan Road and Stillwater Avenue, The Country Inn at the Mall is your home away from home when visiting the Bangor area. Our independently owned 94 room hotel has been hosting guests from all walks of life since its opening in 1989. Our cozy lobby offers a "country" ambiance that most people describe as homey and comfortable - the cookies that are made fresh daily also help! The welcoming atmosphere of the lobby is appreciated by our guests who enjoy the couches by the fireplace - or if it is warm you will find them on the front porch passing the time in the rocking chairs. Our front desk staff is always friendly and courteous as we provide exceptional customer service to every guest, for every stay and our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their attention to detail. The consistent positive feedback that we receive from visitors is a testament to how much each employee cares about the hotel and our guests. We have many people who have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bangor - regardless of what interest initially brought them to the area. Whether you are a returning guest or trying us out for the first time, we appreciate your interest in our hotel and we look forward to providing you with an excellent stay at our Country Inn at the Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Country Inn at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At The Mall Hotel Bangor
Country Hotel Bangor
Country Inn Bangor
The Country Hotel
Bangor Country Inn
The Country Inn At The Mall Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing