We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn at the Mall, great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Country Inn at the Mall
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great place to stay,with very friendly staff. We have been there several times. Ask for the "internet discount" to save a few more dollars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 781 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

I secured two hotel rooms for a conference months ahead of time. While 45 min. away from the hotel, I rec. a call from a frantic and tired friend that the hotel would not allow to check in a rest with out an IMPRINT of the card I had already given them. I explained to the staff that I was only 45 min away, and that they could certainly run the card I had given them. They would not budge, and denied that there was a manager present. I expressed that this was very poor hospitality service and the young woman on the phone with me got very snarly, and advised me I could "see a manager in the morning (this was 5pm btw..not midnight) since I was already going to be there." Very, very immature attitudes coming from the FRONT desk! Then she proceeded to speak ill of me (things I will not repeat) in front of other patrons, as well as my friend.
My anger subsided before I got there, and decided to cut the girl a break, but soon was reminded that training is needed all over this hotel. I do not even need to bring up the fact that the "charming" rooms are unlike what is advertized and haven't been charming since 1985. But I digress, I could have forgiven all of that had I knot caught the maids talking and joking about the guests as the cleaned the rooms, and again on the back porch while they smoked. It is lovely to walk through such a cute back porch that is for guests in a cloud of smoke and veiled hostility. I have been in customer service for over 15 years, and this hotel needs training, badly. I will not stay there again, and intend to inform the organizers of our conference.

Room Tip: Go stay at Quality Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Tammy R.,
I want to thank you for your time to complete a review on our property. Whether a review is positive or negative, feedback is essential for us to review policies and make the proper changes/training so that a situation such as your can be handled properly in the future.
I want to apologize that our staff did not provide you with the quality of service that you and your friends deserved. We pride ourselves on making sure that all guests have a comfortable stay here at the hotel and feel welcome to continue to come back again in the future. I have spoken with the staff that were working during your stay, and have reminded them of both our policies of customer service and our property standards.
Sincerely,
Russell C. - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

April 14,2012
We have stayed here a few times when we are in Bangor. The staff is always friendly and the rooms clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LanJacMur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stopped here with our 3 year old daughter for the night. As if the smell of pot in the halls wasn't bad enough, in the middle of the night we saw a bed bug crawl by our daughter while she slept. Left immediatley (and drove 3.5 hours home in the middle of the night) and now I get to spend the day cleaning our vehicle and belongings. Disgusting place!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank DisgustedFrederciton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnattheMall, Manager at The Country Inn at the Mall, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Country Inn at the Mall. Every time a guest gives us feedback, whether positive or negative, we have a chance to improve and we appreciate this chance.

We work very closely with a local pest control service agency, and take a very proactive stance with issues of any pest. When we received report of your complaint we immediately took the room in which you stayed off market, and had our trained staff inspect your room. After this inspection was complete, we found no evidence of bed bugs in the room. In regards to having a bug of any kind crawl across your daughter we do understand your anger and concern, and want to sincerely apologize.

In regards to a marijuana smell in our hallway, we are a non-smoking facility. Unfortunately there are occasions that a guest does not follow our policy. When a report of smoking in the building is reported to the desk or discovered by our staff, the guest is then spoken to and depending on situation, they are asked to leave the hotel and a cleaning fee is charged to them. Also, when a guest reports discomfort in any of our rooms we always do our best to find accommodations that will be comfortable. In this case, with a report of smoke smell we might have moved your family to another part of the hotel while we looked into where the smell might be coming from.

Once again I would like to apologize for your unpleasant stay but hope that you may try us again in the future so that you can see that the events of your most recent stay at our hotel is not a regular occurrence for our guests.

Sincerely,
Russell C. - Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a great place to stay for families. We have stayed here several times on our way to skiing and cape cod in the summer.
The rates are very reasonable. The rooms are always clean. The place is quiet and the staff are very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast in the morning is fabulous and it is in a great location.
We have never been dissatisfied with the Country Inn at the Mall.
It is not fancy but inexpensive and a good deal when travelling with kids.

Room Tip: I always ask to be on the parking lot which is dark and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellosaraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I always choose County Inn at the Mall when staying in Bangor, Maine. It is the cleanest, most comfortable hotel in the area and best value for the money. It has a very nice continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Once you enter the front entrance & walk past the lobby, you've now past the best looking part of this dated hotel. I liked the multiple entrances along the parking lot, so your room isn't far from a outside door. Me & my wife are convinced the building used to be a former school by the layout. The location is great if you are on a shopping trip, everything is close by. Unfortunately our room had a malfunctioning heating/ac unit which was set for heat only, but for some reason it would turn it's a/c compressor with no fan for a while then the heat with fan would come on. Upon doing this the unit would then make loud cracking noises "like ice breaking" which woke me up a few times through the night. I was a bit disappointed, with the frozen discs that you had to microwave for breakfast, oh, I meant the eggs & sausages. Overall, I'd say this place was average, but I have gotten more for my money at other hotels.

Room Tip: Book alittle in advance, because of it's close location to the mall/shopping & Canadians loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Careless_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
650 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 26 in Bangor
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn at the Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn at the Mall

Address: 936 Stillwater Ave, Bangor, ME 04401-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bangor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#9 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range: $96 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Country Inn at the Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the intersection of Hogan Road and Stillwater Avenue, The Country Inn at the Mall is your home away from home when visiting the Bangor area. Our independently owned 94 room hotel has been hosting guests from all walks of life since its opening in 1989. Our cozy lobby offers a "country" ambiance that most people describe as homey and comfortable - the cookies that are made fresh daily also help! The welcoming atmosphere of the lobby is appreciated by our guests who enjoy the couches by the fireplace - or if it is warm you will find them on the front porch passing the time in the rocking chairs. Our front desk staff is always friendly and courteous as we provide exceptional customer service to every guest, for every stay and our housekeeping staff prides themselves on their attention to detail. The consistent positive feedback that we receive from visitors is a testament to how much each employee cares about the hotel and our guests. We have many people who have been coming here for years and won't stay anywhere else when visiting Bangor - regardless of what interest initially brought them to the area. Whether you are a returning guest or trying us out for the first time, we appreciate your interest in our hotel and we look forward to providing you with an excellent stay at our Country Inn at the Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Country Inn at the Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Inn At The Mall Hotel Bangor
Country Hotel Bangor
Country Inn Bangor
The Country Hotel
Bangor Country Inn
The Country Inn At The Mall Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing