We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendation from Hotel Staff”

The Ground Round Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 181 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Recommendation from Hotel Staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived around dinner time, and with the time change from Atlantic Time Zone we were ready to eat. The desk clerks at the hotel recommended the Ground Round and it was a good choice. We took a seat in the sports lounge area and had the opportunity to view the many TV screens and enjoy our meal.

Sarah, our waitress took our orders and committed them to memory and they reached our table as ordered ... or so we thought. One of the salads had gorgonzola cheese on it that was listed on the menu but wasn't wanted - our mistake. When mentioned to Sarah that it was our oversight she said no problem - I'll look after that right away. It was replaced in a timely manner.

Burgers were cooked to order and soup was good and served hot.

We thanked the hotel staff for their recommendation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueJayJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    146
    55
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
774 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Very dry burger”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This seems to be a local hangout, as the parking lot was nearly full at 6:00 p.m. The bar is on one side, and "family" dining is on the other. I had the 1/2 lb burger on a sourdough roll, both of which were extremely dry. I applied mustard to the burger 3 times since the bun just soaked it up. For $7.99, I expected a better burger.

The service was slow and perfunctory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veazie, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just okay but near hotel and open late”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place could be so much better but it is just okay. Food is typical chain type food. Drinks are good and they have a wide selection. I have had great servers which makes the visit so much better and some poor servers which resulted in this place being rated average. The restaurant needs to be lighten up also . The major pros open late, close to several hotels and good drink and food selection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fifth night of our journey”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food and drinks were good. Service was a bit slow, but it was "kids night". An entertainer was making kids balloon thingy's. A few pops here and there, excited kids everywhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mediocre but near hotel and open late”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Food was alright and service could be better. Walking distance to several hotels on the strip. I wouldn't set this place as a destination for a culinary experience but if you need something in your gut after a long trip and its near your hotel on the road, this is a survivable choice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ImATravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ground Round Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Ground Round Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing