We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in a Diner”

Nicky's Crusin' Diner
Ranked #27 of 183 Restaurants in Bangor
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun in a Diner”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went with a group of friends to Bangor for a wedding and stopped at the diner for some lunch. We just Googled diners in Bangor and found it. The minute we walked inside, we knew we would love it. The décor is a history of American culture from the 50's to present day. A huge collection of Maine license plates on the wall and even some pin ball machines suspended from the ceiling.
Of course, this is not a museum so we wanted to eat. The wait staff was attentive and friendly and the menu was extensive and it has something for everyone. I had breakfast for lunch and it did not disappoint. The portion was more than amble and the raisin toast was the best raisin bread I have ever had. My companions were equally as enthusiastic.
The bath rooms were clean and it is reasonably accessbile for someone with a mobility issue like me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kMH714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenjday, Owner at Nicky's Crusin' Diner, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you! And we are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Have a great time at your wedding and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    59
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun decor with extensive menu”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this restaurant off the highway on our trip to Bangor. What a great find!. We had breakfast and lunch. Our party enjoyed pancakes omelettes sandwiches and everyone had a wonderful meal.

We didn't sample the ice cream, but it looked wonderful.

The decor is an eclectic next of 50s memorabilia. A lot of fun to look at.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenjday, Owner at Nicky's Crusin' Diner, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are so glad you stumbled upon us too! And enjoyed breakfast and lunch with us! Hope to see you again the next time you are in Bangor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
227 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good Spot for Breakfast or Lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nicky's is a local favorite with good food and excellent service. The atmosphere is of a 1950's diner with an extensive breakfast and lunch menu to satisfy every appetite. The servers are attentive and the food arrives faster than you expect and one recognizes immediately that most of the patrons eat there often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenjday, Owner at Nicky's Crusin' Diner, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks! We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent place to celebrate with car buddies!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

food was good, served quickly, decor is facinating. always like to eat here, especially when in Bangor for annual car club get together,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank countrygirl1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenjday, Owner at Nicky's Crusin' Diner, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
And we enjoy your annual car club visit too! You are all so fun!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dole, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Repeat visit - very good experience again”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

As usual, I pay an annual visit to Nicky's when I visit Bangor ME yearly. Excellent atmosphere: brilliant vegetarian burger: crisp and fresh. I ordered a side of fries and they were more than satisfactory. Feel-good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zaom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenjday, Owner at Nicky's Crusin' Diner, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you! Glad your yearly visit was enjoyable! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicky's Crusin' Diner also viewed

 

Been to Nicky's Crusin' Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing