We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They understand what gluten free is!”

Dysart's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 184 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Description: We're a family restaurant specializing in home-style food. Whether for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert, we serve homemade and delicious food in a friendly atmosphere. A must visit for a true Maine experience. Breakfast is served all day, we offer takeout, and we provide a variety of Dysart's made bakery goods to take home. Open 24 hours Monday-Sunday.
Hodgdon, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“They understand what gluten free is!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I had a awesome meal. When I mentioned I was gluten free the young girl knew what that meant and offered a gluten free menu. When I ordered, I asked some more questions about gluten free and she said they had a separate cooking area for gluten free items. She passed my test! I really enjoyed my meal and had no reactions at all. (I have been gluten free for over 14 years and easily react to gluten.) Some of the others had some awesome deserts. It is a 24 hour restaurant and truck stop. Very close to the I-95 exit so easy on and off. The trucking lounge and eating area is separated by a wall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
958Cherie, Public Relations Manager at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're happy to offer gluten free options for those that are sensitive to gluten. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    262
    80
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint John NB
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been here many times as both a commercial driver and on personal visits and I have always left there feeling well treated, well looked after, and very well fed. Awesome food, and lots of tempting choices on the menu. Go hungry and prepare to be treated as family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
958Cherie, Public Relations Manager at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review, NBfamily! We're glad that you enjoy our food and service! We're happy to treat all our customers like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Too chaotic!!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Was taking the greyhound bus, the restaurant is in the terminal so we grabbed some breakfast. Nothing special, portions size was above average that was nice. :) restaurant was chaotic and hectic so loud and confusing at times i should have ate in my car. Alot of terminal restaurant s are the same so I expected it. Not good not bad , satisfactory though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mellissa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
958Cherie, Public Relations Manager at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We're sorry for your experience here at Dysart's. It can get chaotic at certain times throughout the day. Please let us know what we can do to help make your next visit more enjoyable. Thank you for providing your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nasty”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went here for breakfast before heading out on a road trip. The food was barely edible, as a matter of fact we didn't eat much it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungrymusicman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
958Cherie, Public Relations Manager at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We apologize for your experience here at Dysart's. Is there anything specific we can do to help? Was there something in particular that was wrong with the food? We appreciate your feedback and would like to do what we can to make your experience here a positive one. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Home cooking at its best”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I am always pleasantly pleased when my family dines at Dysarts. Home cooking at its best. The portions are large and a great value. Many options for the whole family. I love that the wait staff seems to remember regular customers. Always a stop when in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dysart's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dysart's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing