We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truckstop adventure!”

Dysart's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 179 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We're a family restaurant specializing in home-style food. Whether for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or dessert, we serve homemade and delicious food in a friendly atmosphere. A must visit for a true Maine experience. Breakfast is served all day, we offer takeout, and we provide a variety of Dysart's made bakery goods to take home. Open 24 hours Monday-Sunday.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Truckstop adventure!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had heard the "truckstop" next door to our hotel was recommended. And... we also asked at our last hotel (in Saint John, New Brunswick) where to eat in Bangor and they recommended Dysarts Restaurant. We were very pleased when we arrived in Bangor to find that the 2 recommended places were one and the same!

We tried Dysarts for breakfast (after memorizing the lengthy menu left in our Best Western Hotel) rooms. It's just across the parking lot from the Best Western too... so we could walk over.

The place is huge... shopping and showers for truckers, lots of locals eating here, and lots of tourists from the highway too. We tried not to eat too much so that one of us could manage pie for breakfast too (which we all shared).

Breakfasts are huge... I ordered eggs and hash; others had omlettes and/or pancakes. The toast was thick, hearty and with homemade bread. All was satisfying, promptly delivered and with a smile. The pie was very good, with real whipped cream on top. Nothing we had was really "out of this world," but a really fun experience. I've never eaten in a big trucker sort of spot before. Thanks Dysarts! I'd recommend you for certain. Everything was clean, predictable, and just what we needed before hopping on our plane for Pennsylvania.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Notjustanyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for writing a review! We are glad you took the time to try our breakfast while you were staying next door! Thanks for sharing the photos as well! We hope you continue to stop in anytime your are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    248
    76
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Massive pancakes, great service, and oh that raspberry pie”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stopped by for breakfast on a Saturday morning on a long road trip from North Carolina to the Maine "downeast" coast. For a truck-stop diner this place was a very pleasant surprise, even for my vegetarian wife. The service was prompt and courteous, the place was scrupulously clean, and it was obvious that there were more locals there than travelers (always a good sign for Interstate diners). My wife had a single pumpkin pancake that was the size of a serving plate, smothered with pumpkin butter, and I had a feta-and-tomato omelet and an English muffin - both were quite good. However, the best part was the whole, homemade raspberry pie we bought to take to our friend's cabin. It came packaged in a nuclear-proof box and was way too heavy for any normal pie. Upon opening we discovered this massive creation with a thick, flaky crust and a delicious filling. The pie was enough to feed four people for almost a week, eating it both for dessert and occasionally, for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pcumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for writing a review! We love to hear from our customers! We are glad that you enjoyed your meals! We are well known for our homemade desserts and are happy you got to share one of the pies with family and friends! We hope you continue to stop in on your trips through! If you travel by again this fall we suggest trying our Apple Pie, which is in season!! (We use locally grown apples!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The place you can count on!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a long drive it's nice to be able to get good reasonably priced food, but you have to be sure and get fresh baked cookies (including molasses cookies which you don’t see very often), Congo bars, and Brownies , which could make the rest of the drive all the better!.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TFCARR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for writing a review about us! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and that you wrote about our cookies! Did you know you can get a whole pie to go too! We hope you continue to stop and grab a bite to eat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddington, Maine
Level Contributor
197 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“great diner”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

busy truck stop, good comfort food...good service, much of it is house made...great strawberry shortcake......i think they are open 24 hours

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maine04428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for writing a review and giving us a great rating! You are correct we are open 24/7! We hope you continue stopping in...at least to grab some strawberry shortcake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I go here with friends late like 2:00am and we just hangout. The food is amazing, and the service is excellent. It's a fun local uniquely Maine experience. If you get the chance go here, the breakfast food is great at any time of the day! Best I've ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandon_mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dysart's R, Owner at Dysart's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for writing us a review! We love that you commented about coming here late at night! We are open 24/7 and are always cooking! We hope you and your family and friends continue to come hang out anytime of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dysart's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dysart's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing