We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely victorian style antique rooms with a New Orleans twist”
Review of The Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Charles Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. The room was lovely and very well decorated with the antique look. The hotel is well situated and the staff were amazing. The bar had great music and
the best selection of beer I have seen in a long time. What made it special was the patrons and staff who were very friendly and engaging. This place had this New Orleans feel to it..
Would go back there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christiane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 184 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love eclectic, but there are too many negatives here. The elevator has a pungent odor, the carpeting throughout was stained and appeared dirty, the room had a terrible musty odor, the bed uncomfortable. I wore flip flops at all times, not daring to walk in bare feet. Our room was on the street side, we did not sleep a wink due to outside noises, which isn't the fault of the inn, it is what it is. The one positive, entertainment in the bar which is adjacent to the lobby, a great place to unwind after a fabulous concert at the Bangor Waterfront Pavilion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building, hopefully less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GottaloveMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

An older hotel with clean rooms, the wi-fi is weak, so you will have to go
to the lobby if you want access the Internet. The elevator smells rancid,
otherwise
it's a nice hotel, parking lot in the rear. There are mucsicians that play
some weekends in the bar area of the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 922John922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I love this place! I stayed there twice recently and really enjoyed the Inn, it's atmosphere and location downtown. If you like old, historic buildings and great music almost every night you will enjoy your stay here! The rooms were cozy and very clean. I loved to go downstairs to the quaint little bar in the evenings to listen to some great musicians. The bar specializes in beer and has 100 varieties. There is a continental breakfast and many good restaurants nearby. The malls are only a 5 minute drive away. Much better than staying in another chain hotel out on the highway. Also lots of interesting art work hanging throughout the bar and lobby. Excellent!! I will go back again and again....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent one night in this place and it was a unique experience.This place can be recommended to anyone who does not mind sleeping in linen that someone else has already used, having bagels for breakfast that are three days old, walking on carpeting that has not seen a cleaning in many years etc. etc. In one word this place is a dump

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorldTraveler0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you stop here, make sure you have good directions; GPS did not get me there, and there was no way to live-park near the front door to unload. When I called for help, the voice mail said it was full—no answer for 30 mins. Staff was entirely indifferent to this when I arrived, and equally unconcerned in the morning at the unprepossessing breakfast. I first walked in to the "luxury" hotel to find a really loud rapper. One of the two sink faucets worked. The heat was hard to control and went from freezing to 90 degrees without warning. I needed a photocopy of my receipt, and emailed to get one, but no reply. The price ($127) was definitely way too high for the service and product. I could imagine the funk factor might appeal for those vacationing who have more time to manage funny faucets and heat and directions, but absolutely not for anyone trying to be efficient and just get a good rest. I'm pretty easy to please; this is the lowest rating I have ever given on anything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbarawhite355744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I drove to Bangor in the evening and stayed overnight before flying out in the morning. For such a stopover, this is a good choice. It's right downtown, so a lot of restaurants and bars are available in walking distance, including next door and directly across the street.

The actual hotel is clearly old and as other reviewers have said, has "character." Service is slow and and everything looks a bit run-down. A friendly pug dog wanders around the lobby, greeting people and moving on. But even on a weekend night in the summer, it was pretty quiet and felt safe. Plus my bed was soft, the shower worked fine, and morning checkout was quick and easy, so it's exactly fine for a short overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.9 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
647 reviews
3 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 20 Broad St, Bangor, ME 04401-6302 (Formerly The Phenix Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $82 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come grow with us! Under new management! Enjoy a unique lodging experience in the heart of downtown Bangor. Walk to area restaurants, pubs, museums, and shopping. Large attractive rooms with cable TV, clock radios, irons, hairdryers, and free deluxe continental breakfast. View the historic city from our fourth floor conference room. Just 15 minutes to airport and major shopping malls. Less than an one hour drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Improving daily to serve our guests and the local community even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Bangor
Charles Hotel Bangor
The Charles Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing