We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dim but adequate”
Review of The Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charles Inn
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dim but adequate”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's poorly lit and poorly furnished, but clean and functional enough. Everything about the place is slightly odd, but not terrible. Friendly enough staff. At one point my bed broke, but they came and fixed it within an hour. Breakfast was pathetic. So, mediocre but fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    33
    20
    35
See reviews for
25
80
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Not as it appears online. This is not a quaint, boutique hotel. This is an old, tired inn. The management are genuine but the town seems to be in a funk (depressed). This inn is in desperate need of a remodel, so goes downtown. Dining & pub options in the area are surprisingly good. I'd like to visit Bangor again in better economic times but I'd seek out better lodging options even though this one has the best location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangor hotels

Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Thought we were staying at a boutique style hotel - a little charm, a comfortable room, and a unique experience. This was not the case. The hotel felt old and run down. The bed was very uncomfortable and the tv was from the early 90's. The building seemed secure and staff were friendly, but be warned, this is in NO way an upscale hotel. Not even on par with a typical econo style hotel. Just too old and tired to be comfortable to MOST guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MattandBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Dont spend your time and money going there. We couldn't wait to leave this hotel after only a one day stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We booked this hotel on the basis of its website. Don't believe it - it is deceptive.

We agree with many of the other reviews - it is dirty and dingy. Upon arriving in Bangor, we could not drive on the street in front of the hotel (art festival in progress), so we were directed to the back and asked to park near the dumpster (horrors). Then we came in through the back of the hotel (horrors again).

The first impression was the carpets in the halls - stained and dirty. The front desk reception was piled high with papers and books - it seemed a miracle that the manager found our reservation. We asked for a "quiet room" and the response was "well, this is a downtown hotel." Little did we realize the impact of that statement.

Perhaps there are two saving graces for our room - it was large and the towels were quite thick. Other than those, there were no other saving graces. I dropped somethig on the carpeted floor, and when I knelt down to find it, I found remanents of cookies from previously occupants - obviously the room needed vacuuming.

The next morning, we left a note for housekeeping to vacuum the floor thoroughly and to leave extra hand towels. Well, the floor was vacuumed, but hand towels were illusive. Breakfast was nothing to brag about - we brought some of our own items.

But the worst thing of all was the noise. We tried to open our window for ventilation, but the street noise was so loud that we had to close (we were on the second floor near the back), but closing the windows did nothing to dampen he noise. But Saturday night took the cake.

There was a street festival happening during the three nights we stayed. Saturday night's concert (the stage was right outside the front door) ended around 10:00 - so that's OK. But, the bar next door started music (LOUD) at 10:00 and continued until 1:15 a.m. Even with the windows in our room closed, we heard the noise and felt the thumping. We almost called the police.

When we checked out on Sunday and I mentioned the difficulty sleeping we had on Saturday night, I told the manager that I almost called the police. Her response was " I wish you had. They have a permit for the music. I have tried calling the police and they do nothing. We were a hotel before the bar opened." Obviously, she had no sympathy for her guests - her customers.

Please do us a favor - do not stay in this hotel They need to receive a message that the price they charge is outrageous for the condition of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a room at the Charles Inn - the service and conditions are deplorabe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloridaRetiree2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I called to make a reservation and the "receptionist"? just laid the phone on the desk while she talked on the phone, answered someone's question, booked someone in.... Why do I know this? Because I listened to all the activity until I finally hung up the phone (and no, she never came back and said anything after she said hello). So I called back, got the answering machine. And I called back again, got the answering machine. Called back again, got the answering machine - I think you know the drill - for about 15 minutes. Still no answer. I was going to book a reservation. But, not now - if this is an indication of their customer service skills, I don't want to experience actual paying money to be ignored.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowerpotmen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This was an awful experience on our summer vacation. We stopped at this hotel for the night on our way to Kennebunkport from Quebec and had a terrible experience. The neighborhood is scary and the room was not nice at all. The bed was very old, the towels were thin and the sink area did not look very clean. We left very early in the morning and will never return to Bangor. I would suggest that people find a different stop on the highway for an overnight.

The woman at the front desk was friendly and welcoming, so that was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lswwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
3.0 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
0.9 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
1.7 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Property: The Charles Inn
Address: 20 Broad St, Bangor, ME 04401-6302 (Formerly The Phenix Inn)
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come grow with us! Under new management! Enjoy a unique lodging experience in the heart of downtown Bangor. Walk to area restaurants, pubs, museums, and shopping. Large attractive rooms with cable TV, clock radios, irons, hairdryers, and free deluxe continental breakfast. View the historic city from our fourth floor conference room. Just 15 minutes to airport and major shopping malls. Less than an one hour drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Improving daily to serve our guests and the local community even better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Bangor
Charles Hotel Bangor
The Charles Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing