We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Kobe Ninja House Japanese Grill
Ranked #26 of 184 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At Kobe Ninja House Japanese Grill, you'll find over 100 delectable dishes, fantastic service, and a welcoming, energetic atmosphere! Our guests come from all over to enjoy our fresh sushi, Hibachi-style lobster, and popular Asian dishes. But no matter how busy you may find our restaurant, you'll always find that the experience is well worth the wait! Our juicy chicken teriyaki and steaks are sure to please, but be sure to sample our Japanese noodle dishes, fresh scallops, and golden coconut shrimp on a future visit. And when it comes to special occasions, trust Kobe Ninja House Japanese Grill to bring the fire to all your events! We look forward to bringing you a dining experience unlike any other that Bangor has to offer!
Bangor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Thought I'd be eating a decent steak tonite...what a disappointment! Steak tenderness was only fair, but it had quite a bit of fat in it and no knife to cut around it. Chicken was great-juicy, and tender. Vegetables had that "pre-processed washed in dirty water" taste that can be prevalent today. The entertainment was good and service excellent. I didn't care for sitting with people that I don't know which is how they do it there. Price for 5 adults and 1 child.......a cool $125! That seems like a lot for what you get for it-I won't be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RegRgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great new place!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had no idea how fun the Hibachi experience could be! Great food and fun environment! Thanks, and we will be back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Value at Lunchtime!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had lunch here on Saturday afternoon. We were expecting lunch portions for the price. We had filet mignon, steak, and chicken. Each came with soup, salad, shrimp, rice, vegetables, and the main course. They cook it on the grill in front of you. The cooks are very entertaining. Our kids loved it. The food quality was excellent for the price. The bill came to under $40.00. Everyone should do this at least once! The prices are more expensive at night. I can't imagine that the portions are larger. Overall, this is a fun and unique place to eat while in Bangor.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rshaw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic for Celebrations”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have been twice, hibachi tables both times.. once with just small family of 4 and once with large group with kids for birthday celebration. Chef was able to adjust to both crowds and keep everyone engaged and happy, food is excellent, we get the steak, and shrimp. Think this experience is much more fun with a large group ...of at least 10-12 so you take up one end of the table and know the people sitting next to you.

Only Boo is they do not take evening reservations so you must wait if you want a table ..but I think its worth it, especially for those that may not travel frequently - this is a pretty unique experience for Bangor Maine.

The fried rice on the Hibachi tables is excellent.Veggies depend on how long they cook and what you get, i think the second chef left our veggies on a little too long, as i like mine a little crisp :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zoozwee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WHAT A GOOD TIME!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Twelve of us (4kids) got together for mine and a friends Birthday. What a wonderful time we all had. The food was amazing and the performance was perfect! We had no trouble with customer service. The only thing that was a down side was that there is no reservations which can cause a wait...but it is WELL WORTH THE WAIT!!! We will be going back for other special events! Wonderful!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrlebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Ninja House Japanese Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kobe Ninja House Japanese Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing