We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Blue Tarp”

Penobscot Theatre Company
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Penobscot Theatre Company, owners of the historic Bangor Opera House, is America’s Northeastern-most professional, year round, not-for-profit organization, producing a wide variety of plays and musicals each season. PTC is committed to presenting high-quality, professional works of theatre that inspire the imagination and cultivate a lifelong passion for the art form.
Winterport, Maine
1 review
“One Blue Tarp”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a fum look at Main and Mainers. It is done with loving humor and delightful to watch. In fact this theatre consistently produces great entertainment. I have been a subscriber for 20+ Years.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 910Mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    18
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One Blue Tarp”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have been waiting for this for months! Blue Tarps are one of my pet peeves ... but, oh, my, the play was rich with stereotypes and laughs!!! A small cast did a great job depicting many elements of Maine life - from the rugged individual (standing proudly in his long underwear) to the distrust of outsiders. It was indeed a rich evening. The play was fun and made for an enjoyable evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“One Blue Tarp”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed opening night of "One Blue Tarp". The winter we have endured, one has to have some humor to get through. Humor was indeed provided. I would not recommend it for children, it is more for adults. I am sure with each show they will only get better and funnier. We loved the audience participation,also. We bought season tickets for our 40th anniversary and are so looking forward to each show this whole season as a continued celebration of our life together. Thank you Penobscot Theatre Company.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 40moretogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Blue Tarp nails it - Bravo”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The title says it all. This world premiere show by Travis Baker was a riot, beginning to end. Great characters, AMAZING set, and sharp, funny, clever, thoughtful writing through and through.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank robincwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
174 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent local theater”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

'The Penobscot Theatre' never fails to entertain and engage its audience! Whether comedy or drama the soul strings are strummed. Watching our local, beloved actors morph through different characters, sometimes performing several roles in one play, is a look at their genius.
I first saw Dominic Varney on a UMO stage as Judas in 'Jesus Christ Superstar' and was profoundly moved by his presence, powerful singing voice and the humanity he brought to the role... He far outshone 'Jesus'! I was surprised when I next had the pleasure to observe him in a comedic role. This man with the rubber face is so versatile in expression that I believe he could have the audience rolling in the aisles without the use of dialog!
My teenage daughter is a Ben Layman fan and I must admit I feel some disappointment when Ben's not on the stage.
The whole regular cast are professionals to the core and are regularly joined by bigger names from away, often from New York City. Their performances never fail to please though I have leaned toward the comedies for my theater amusement

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank freddapick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penobscot Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Penobscot Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing