We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was Beautiful!”
Review of Hampton Inn Bangor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bangor
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Room was Beautiful!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Room was perfect, and location was great...a bit disappointed that when I booked them room (over the phone) I specifically stated NOT first floor (and yet this is where our room was) and that they failed to mention ahead of time that the hotel was FULL of kids the night that we were staying. (There was a pee wee hockey tournament in town). Needless to say, having a quiet swim, or workout was NOT even remotely possible. Overall, the stay was nice, and I would definitely book there again.

Room Tip: I suggest booking as far from the pool area as possible...lots of kids, means lots of screaching, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We're very pleased to hear you had a satisfactory stay with us. I'm sorry you had to deal with a lot of noisy kids. During February and March there are many youth basketball and hockey teams traveling to Bangor. If they're in town next time you stay with us, we'll certainly do our best to get you a room away from the group. If there's ever anything else we can do for you, please don't hesitate to let me know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    179
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
413
294
37
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was awesome, the staff was extremely friendly and even called our room just after we checked in to make sure we had everything we needed and was our room acceptable. Very comfortable bed and roomy bathroom. The pool had a bit of a problem with a strong smell of chrlorine but the manager on duty assured me that it was not the norm and would be fixed in the next day or so. My daughter and I booked this to do a shopping trip and after a long day of shopping ti was wonderful. Definitely highly recommend this for the single or family traveller too.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from any small children and we got the third floor. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're very happy to hear that you and your daugher chose to stay with us for your shopping weekend! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our new hotel. We look forward to seeing you and your family during your next trip to Bangor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel (October 2012 and February 2013). Both times my business trip got extended and the staff was very accommodating. I cannot say enough about the staff: the front desk was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast staff did a great job and always kept the food area well stocked and clean, and the cleaning and maintenance crew were right on top of keeping the facility in top shape. I got to see firsthand how great the staff handled situations as part of the time they had several youth hockey teams staying at the hotel. The staff kept everything under control and was very responsive to all guests needs. The rooms are also very nice and comfortable. The size and cleanliness were outstanding and if I have to go back to Bangor, Maine, I will definitely stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR2-Kermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at our new Hampton, and thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. It's fantastic for our staff to get such positive reinforcement from our valued guests. I look forward to sharing your review with our staff. They work very hard every day to serve each and every one of our guests, and take great pride in the job they do. Please let us know if there's anything more we can do for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I originally wrote this review and it kept coming up and was posted under the old Hampton Inn site, which is now the Comfort Inn. We stayed here when it first opened.
We stayed at the new Bangor Hampton Inn twice last week. The hotel is brand new, just opened at the end of July. It is now located directly across from the Hilton Garden Inn. Not as close to the mall as their old location but not an issue for us as we had our car. Check in was smooth, staff are all fairly new and learning the ropes, but overall they were all very nice and accommodating. The room itself was lovely. What could be nicer than a brand new hotel room? We love Hampton Inn because it is so consistent with their cleanliness. You always know what to expect. Our room had a great king bed, nice clean and new furnishings and a fridge and microwave.
The hotel's amenities are similar to all Hampton Inns. The pool is salt water, apparently. Didn't try it out but it looked clean and inviting. There is also a great workout room and a good sized hot tub. This hotel has a laundry room too. The breakfast was a little chaotic. There were a lot of families staying there. If children are too small to safely help themselves from a buffet style system, parents PLEASE go through the line with them. It was really annoying to dodge around little kids who were trying to help themselves to hot food from a steam table. I feel the Inn should have this rule posted, it's not safe or sanitary to let young kids get into a buffet style food line on their own. Then a smart guest decided to turn the toaster up to the highest setting. Their toast caught on fire and flames shot out of the toaster! Of course smoke filled the dining area. Thanks to the guest who did that. NOT! The breakfast staff seemed a little overwhelmed at times during the rush when everyone showed up at once. However, they did their best were really friendly and helpful to replace and replenish items that got used up. Housekeeping seemed fine, I noticed a lot of new staff being trained, but our room was fine and didn't seem to have anything missing. They should put more than two towels in the bathrooms, though. It was no trouble to request two more bath towels, they were promptly provided to us. All in all, a nice new Hampton Inn to stay at, we really liked it because it was nice and new and clean. The people make the difference and once everyone is trained and used to the operation I'm sure this will be a great Hampton Inn just like most of the others in the chain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel on Trip Advisor! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. If you can think of anything we can do better, we'd love to hear from you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with children and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the workout facility was well equipped, the breakfast had good variety, and the pool/spa area was clean and well lit. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us. We're so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Like eveyone has said, it was great. We stayed there two nights and have no complaints what's so ever. The staff were very friendly and helpful, also making sure we were satisfied. The pool was great for the kids and being salt water pool and spa was an added bouns as Chlorine pools bother my skin. The complimentary breakfast was great. The kept everything stocked and there was a nice variety to choose from. Was nice that they have a Managers happy hour depending on the day of the week you stay. One of the nights we stayed there were beer and wings with the manger and it was all complimentary. New facilitiy, great staff, and the rooms were spacious for the family. The beds were comfortable. We had an awesome experinces and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof4littlemonsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We're very pleased to hear you had a great experience during your recent stay! Thanks for the feedback as well. I'm glad to hear you had a chance to try our manager's receptions, which we do every Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday 6-7pm. We hope to see you again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Hampton Inn Bangor on a day in March 2013 and we have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The hotel staff were very nice, everything in this hotel is CLEAN, CLEAN, and CLEAN.

Beds are very, very comfortable, with duvet covers being washed per guests. Very fast and stable Wi-Fi in the room, as well as lobby and the breakfast area, and we especially loved the fact electric outlets were virtually EVERYWHERE in the room so that you won't end up with charging your pc, phone or tablet next to a hair drier in the bathroom. There were 3 electric outlets near the writing table, and 3 or 4 on the bed table along with 2 USB outlets.

Breakfast has pretty good selections of food, including eggs, ham, cereal, white and whole-wheat bread, bagels, English muffins, pancakes, oatmeal, and make-yourself waffles, as well as full or reduced fat yoghurt with fresh fruits such as banana and apples. On the day we stayed, breakfast was from 6 to 10, and the area was not crowded at all.

We LOVE the fact that the hotel has a pretty good gym. All cardio equipments were health-club quality PRECOR machines (2 bikes, 2 cross-trainers and 3 treadmills) with individual TV screens. There were 2 weight benches, 1 cable machine, and the dumbbells were up to 40lbs. There were also towels, cold water and headphones to be used at the gym.

As we stayed there on a Wednesday night, we had a chance to get invited to a Manager's Cheese and Wine night from 5-7 pm. We each had 2 glasses of wine (of your choice from 5 or 6 different bottles of pretty decent wine), and cheese and crackers. I do not know if they are doing this year around or not, but as of March 2013, I believe Managers' nights were to be held on Mondays - Wednesdays; Mondays are for Beer and Wings, and Tuesdays are Soup and Chiles.

If we have chance to go back to Bangor, we will certainly choose to stay in this hotel. In fact, as this was such a good experience, we will probably try to stay at a Hampton Inn anywhere we can. Thank you very much!

Room Tip: Room 333 (in which we stayed) was extra large with a 3-seater sofa in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebridgeofdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Bangor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest, I'm very pleased to hear you had a great experience while visiting our new hotel. It sounds like you had a chance to try all of our ammeneties. We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hear from a lot of guests who always check Trip Advisor reviews before making their reservation. Please let us know if there's ever anything more we can do for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
590 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
4.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bangor

Property: Hampton Inn Bangor
Address: 261 Haskell Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-4240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#2 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bangor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing