We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SK Tours Of Maine, LLC

SK Tours Of Maine, LLC
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Winter tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

A lot more people went on this tour in the summer vs. the winter - so I wanted to provide a viewpoint from taking the tour during a cold rain with snow on the ground.

Bottom line is that the tour is great at any time of year. There were 3 of us (me, my wife, 16-year old daughter). Stu made everyone feel at home. He asked questions to understand our level of "Kingness" in terms of reading, seeing movies, etc. He has great stories; yet beyond that - he always listens to his customer's stories. In fact, my daughter was generally quiet throughout, and hasn't read any Stephen King book, yet Stu took the time to provide Bangor stories outside of Stephen King. He also recommended a starting book for her. He made sure she felt part of it all.

Stu doesn't force the tour to be 3 hours; he's flexible on timing - stopping where people want - and allowing for as much time as possible. He'll even recommend photos and take them.

For us, we had the joy of wandering through some snowy areas - so if you go in winter - bring boots ("Bean boots" are big in Maine apparently).

Stu is genuine, engaging, and I'm sure could tailor the tour to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfcameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    13
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bangor SK toue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a great tour. I have done a few tours in the past but the best is that it is you and the tour guide (Stu) you don’t have to sit there with other people feeling uncomfortable. Stu is a great guide. You see Kings House, inspiring items, history of Bangor and places that where filmed in the movies. Stu knows everything about King. This was great tour and worth the money!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maryjo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hell of a Good Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went on this tour 2 years ago and I still think about what I great time I had. Stu, the guy who runs the tour is excellent. His personal accounts and stories of Stephen King are what really make the trip worth while. He shows you every little nook and cranny of King's Maine (Derry) from the property where Steve wrote "Carrie" to the cemetary where scenes from "Pet Sematary" were filmed. This tour is a must for every Stephen King fan - I drove from NJ in the middle of the winter just to take the tour. Put this on your "bucket list" - trust me, you will never regret it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CJSkiFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stu knows what he's talking about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very informative tour, so many things you never even thought of, but Stu has all! Nice, comfy, private van, answers all your questions, stops and lets you get out, will even take your photo! Cares about each person and gets to know them, really sweet man with great persoality and wealth of knowledge. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Parrott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stu is a very nice guy and I'll NEVER forget this tour. He knows averything about SK and is a perfect person to talk about the books.

He shows the actual places that inspired SK's books and real film locations.

My husband, who doesn't enjoy SK much also enjoyed the tour, since it shows the main places of Bangor and can be seen a regular city tour too.

Thanks, Stu!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SK Tours Of Maine, LLC also viewed

 

Been to SK Tours Of Maine, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing