We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for kids 7 and younger...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Discovery Museum

Maine Discovery Museum
Ranked #10 of 27 things to do in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Three floors, eight major exhibits, daily educational programs, and Too Much Fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good for kids 7 and younger...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very clever and interactive exhibits. Our 10 year old enjoyed it but was probably a little childish for her. Definitely a good time for kids.

Helpful?
4 Thank NAPSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    11
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best Children's Museums!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have a reciprocal membership to a local children's museum in Staten Island, and so we visit a LOT of different children's museums when we travel. My boys are 4 and 5 years old, and we've been to children's museums in New Jersey, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, upstate New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Maine. Out of all the museums we've visited, the Maine Discovery Musuem is one of our absolute favorites. It has a lot of interactive exhibits for the kids, and also (surprisingly!) even teaches us adults a thing or two about the rivers, flora and fauna of Maine.

It's definitely a nice place to stop in Bangor for a few hours with the kids before we make our continued journey to the Canadian border. Highly recommend!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent it was fun, clean and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I went with a group of 4 adults and 5 children ranging in age from 1 to 4 years. All of the children had fun. Activities were spaced in such a way that I could keep an eye on my older child exploring several activities while his younger sister was fascinated with another one. They offer a room to eat your lunch in (a snack break is a must because you'll want to spend so much time there) and everything appeared clean and in decent repair.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank SqueakersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My son's favorite museum in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Every year we visit Maine and we use our ACM reciprocal card to make a side trip to this great museum. This trip we paid an extra $5 for their Dino Dig. My son got to pretend he was a paleontologist and dig up petrified wood, fossilized shark teeth, and coprolite ( fossilized Dino poo - a big hit) and he got to keep his finds and amazed his aunts and uncles with his newfound Dino vocabulary. There is tons of hands on activities and it keeps my four year old happy, but I saw 10 and 12 year olds having fun too. Stop on by if you are in the neighborhood.

Helpful?
2 Thank CTTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Your children will love it here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a must see while visiting Bangor.
Located downtown, very easy to find - nearby parking on the street.

This children's museum kept my children (7 & 4) busy for hours. Lots of interactive activities where they learned about transportation, how the body works, & things in nature (to name a few). There was also a dino dig, as well as a presentation about snakes.
I would reccomend this museum to all families.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Micha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Discovery Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maine Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing