We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
43
51
45
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
51
45
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hollywood slots cross center irish pub great pub food parking lot welcome home gas fireplace restaurant attached the hotel is pet friendly keurig coffee maker large flat screen tv paul bunyan statue walls are thin a nice addition front desk staff bagels bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 164 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was a very ordinary place and priced higher than similar accomodations in the area. The room itself was clean but the tub in the bathroom was old and stained. The room was dark and rather unwelcoming. We will not book here again.

Room tip: Rooms on the lower floor at the back look out at an abutment.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margomac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Good Afternoon,

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Our rates do vary throughout the year however; you will find that our rates are average with other hotels nearby. The only noticeable change in rates happens during concert season. Increased rates on concert nights can be explained by many factors. One is convenience, we are walking distance from the Waterfront Concerts, Cross Insurance Center and Hollywood Casino. You are saving time and money by staying with us, we provide parking passes to our guests eliminating the hassle of searching for a spot and paying $10-$20. Another factor is availability, we are a fairly small hotel, and our facility has 51 rooms total. Due to our location, on site pub, guest parking passes, complimentary breakfast and helpful staff we fill up quickly.

Addressing your other comments we want to thank-you, we are working hard to update our facility. We appreciate guests like you letting us know what factors we should focus on improving. It is our goal to make sure every guest leaves satisfied and smiling. I do hope you give us a second chance and allow us to provide and updated fireplace room upgrade. Some rooms are not as far along as others in the renovation process. It sounds to me that you were in one of our less updated rooms. Again we are sorry for any issues during your stay and we hope you give us another try next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Fireside Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My hats of to the management in this facility! I can see a dramatic improvement! A couple of years ago, I was drawn to this facility by its affordability and location. Overall, my experience that time was "okay". The staff were friendly and courteous, however the facility itself was in need of some major TLC. Upon my arrival last weekend, I was pleased to see the changes that have been made. This time, my room was much more pleasing to the eye & very clean. The bed was very comfortable and a noted upgrade from my las visit. I slept like a babe. I could also tell that the bathroom area had been renovated. The warming lamp is a nice addition, as was the fireplace. My room was plenty big enough for me and the other two guests who stayed with me. It was nice to visit Geaghan's Pub, which is attached to the Fireside. Having the table & two high backed chairs also made a nice place to sit and snack on the leftovers we brought back. The mini-fridge was nice & cold and the microwave & coffee maker were convenient. My two-day stay in room 235 was restful, quiet and definitely well worth its minimal price. I wished I could have stayed an extra night to try my hand at the slots next door at Hollywood Casino, but Monday was calling me home. Maybe next trip; and there WILL be a next trip!

Room tip: I really enjoyed Room 235. It was on the second floor end, so very quiet & private.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriC280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here as most everything else was booked.Located just a few minutes off interstate 95 the location is 15 minutes from the Bangor Mall.Front desk was very friendly and welcomes guests with free homemade whoopi pies( delicious little chocolate cake confections) however that was the best part of the stay.While the rooms were spacious and beds confortable the level of cleanliness was poor.Dust on top of many services,fingerprint smudges or something all over the armoir,bathroom mirror still had some type of brown splash on it,carpets desperately need a good shampooing to remove caked in dirt along the wall edges.It just kind of seemed like it was only cleaned superfically and not properly in a long time.The " included breakfast" is truly a joke.While there is a restaurant on the premised the included breakfast is just a tiny closet like area where there are a few muffins and some bread in bags on a shelf that you can make toast with.The fruit sits in a basket on top of the fridge that says staff only on it.The coffee machine is in the middle of the hallway facing this closet like are and there is no where to actually consume your so called breakfast but your room-over all just a kind of yuck factor about it so I never actually ate any of it.Would not stay here again unless there really was nothing else in my price range.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladymax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Ladymax2,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. I would like to thank-you for you helpful comments. In in-light of your review we have made many changes to the breakfast room. We have removed the storage refrigerator allowing guests easier access. Our breakfast room is small in comparison to the amount of the rooms in the facility therefore; we provide trays in the rooms. Guests are able to prepare their breakfast items in the breakfast room and enjoy them at the table and chairs provided within their room.

We have been expanding our breakfast amenities as well. Currently we provide multiple cereals, different types of muffins, bagels, and donuts as well as a large variety of bread products. There are many flavors of oatmeal available as well as apples and oranges. Beverages available to guests include hot coco, tea, coffee, apple juice, orange juice, milk and water. Vending machines are located beside the breakfast room for guests interested in other snack or beverage items.

We do not take your cleanliness comments lightly. We have decreased the amount of time between our routine deep cleanings, this includes carpet shampooing. We have painted many bathrooms lately as well and we plan to make more changes in the near future. We are working hard to update the facility to ensure guest satisfactory. It is our goal as a staff to have EVERY guest leave with a smile. I do hope that you give us a second chance and see the changes you help put into effect. Again thank-you for staying with us we appreciate your business.

Thank-you,
Fireside Inn & Suites Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

From the outside, one doesn't expect much, but the staff is gracious and my room, 205, was dead quiet and had been recently rehabbed. I had the gas fireplace. The place is immaculate, and the attached pub, Geaghan's, pron. Gaygans, was booming after work on a Thursday. But it is not a late place, so if you go later in the evening, it is fine for a quiet end of day drink or meal. I had a burger that was excellent. It is a quick walk to Hollywood, one of those gigantic casinos if you want to lose money. The room had a Keurig coffee machine, so the room coffee was actually good. The Green Mountain coffee thingie said light blend, but it was fine. One thing, the window fully opens, rare these days. Towels are great, bed is that high tech foam stuff, not my favorite, but apparently everyone else's. So, in all, a perfectly fine place to stay once ou get past the outside appearance.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank johnH1892DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Front Office Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Kilboj,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are working to improve our outward appearance, and take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. As a staff, our goal to go above and beyond in making our guests feel at home. We appreciate your review, and hope that you come to see us again next time you are in the area!

Thank-You,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I arrived as the temperatures were reaching 20 below and lower temperatures predicted. The single room was adequate. The beds were temperapedic and wonderful to sleep on! Restaurant bar next to the inn had great seafood and a wide selection of beers.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Next time try one of our Fireplace rooms, there is nothing better than cuddling up to a cozy fire after a cold day!

Thank-you,

Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews