We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont do it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed October 17, 2012

looked good online but its very old and not well kept!! there were ice buckets in the hall to catch roof leaks.. the hall was dirty! The room was clean but on the verge of not clean. What i mean is the bed was clean the housekeeper cleans but just surface..if you close the bathroom door theres a half inch of dust...all the corners are dust and webs. the rooms are old and need updates..trim is mildewed and cracked. the bedspread was clean but OOOOLD! the walls are plasre that is cracked and chipped then painted over...the ceiling was drop tile with stains from water damage. bathroom was clean but the tub was all chipped and the wallpaper was peeling and moldy!!! there was airport noise and highway noise. not to mention walls like paper and every toilet flush was loud. Im really not hard to please i swear!!! this place skeeved me out. i would have left but it was clean and i was so tired. My husband said the same thing...its on the verge of not ok but it will do this once..but never again!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on teh south side of the building....didnt know it was right near the airport...my fault f...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tunare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

I am truly sorry your stay with us was so disappointing. We strive to please every guest and to provide every guest with an enjoyable experience. We clearly failed you and fell far short of your expectations.
We are constantly upgrading our rooms and your description of your room's location makes me think you were in one of our fireplace rooms (the latest rooms to be refurbished). I mention that only to underscore our efforts to improve our facility.
The leaking roof has been addressed, but we understand that seeing such a thing can be worrisome and make you question our efforts.
Again, please accept my apology for the substandard experience you had here. Thank you for your comments, they will make us try harder and trying harder will make us better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I was completely surprised at the condition of this Inn based on the recommendations of the front desk person I spoke with when reserving this room. I was told the room was spacious. Definitely not. I was told the hotel was remodeled. Big surprise there. The rugs in the hallway were stained and haven't looked cleaned in a while. The doors have no spring on them and they slam in the hallways. I could hear all noise in the hallways because the walls were so thin. The bathroom is extremely small. The pictures online are false. They show a spacious room with a beautiful fireplace and a quaint sitting area. This was not what we were given. I was very unsatisfied and will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pogmathone04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

We are very sorry that your stay with us was disappointing. Our rooms are a bit larger than average, but if you felt cramped we apologize. Noise is something we try to control. Loud guests are put on notice pretty quickly when we get complaints. Our door are required to have closers. These closers can be a bit agressive at times and cause a door to slam, we maintain them but they can slip out of adjustment--we are sorry one of these maladjusted closers cause a disturbance. Our on-line pictures are not retouched. If you give us another chance, and we hope you will, please call direct and ask for one of the recently refurbished fireplace rooms.
Again, we are very sorry to have disappointed you--our goal is to exceed your expectations.
Thank you very much for your comments, they help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Rooms are adequate and a little dated. However, the bed was great and I had the best sleep of my annual trip from Florida to Nova Scotia. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. Try the Pub. Great food and good prices. Will stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nole38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are working hard to update the facility and hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour through Maine and Nova Scotia. Rooms were nice and the staff was great. The beds were soooo comfortable, it was the best night sleep we had the whole trip. Would not hesitate to stay again. Our breakfast at their restaurant was fantastic. Home made cinnamon rolls, yum!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank tmterie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are so very glad when we are a trip highlight. We are very grateful for your kind words and really do hope you come and see us again. Geaghan's Restaurant would like to thank you as well. Our goal is to be part of our guests happy memories of Maine. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at the FIreside Inn last week and had a wonderful nights sleep. The temperpedic beds are great. The room was very clean. The location of the hotel is perfect. The restaurant located in the hotel has awesome food and Hollywood Slots is right across the street. Next time in Bangor I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

WOW! We couldn't have said it better ourselves. We are very happy you had a good time and we'll be here, for you, the next time you're in Bangor. Thank you very much for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at Fireside Inn & Suites in Bangor for a concert at the waterfront pavillion. The hotel is right next to Hollywood Slots and a short walk to the waterfront pavillion.
The hotel room was very clean and had temperpedic beds. There was a large flat screen tv and a gas fireplace with the timer on the wall to turn off and on.
The staff was very nice during check in and check out. We arrived about 30 mins earlier than normal check in and our room was ready.
Will stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umk829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock B, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Valued guest,

We really appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank-you for staying with us and we hope you come to see us again next time you visit the area!

Thank-you,
Your friends at the Fireside Inn Bangor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Even though we had a non-smoking room, it smelled terrible of cigarette smoke. I went out and bought some air freshener spray and used it all night, to no avail. The room and the hotel itself was very old and needs refurbishing on the inside badly. You don't expect the bad quality from the outside, as it looks pretty good.

The breakfast was useless. A bunch of plastic wrapped pastries, donuts, and breads. There was a juice machine, but the orange juice was empty. I didn't even try the apple juice. We ended up going out to breakfast elsewhere.

The only redeeming quality was the mini whoopie pie you get when you check in.

Stay elsewhere if you can. The whoopie pie just doesn't offset the lousy accomodations.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineman7, Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

I am very sorry that your stay was substandard.
We strive to keep our nonsmoking rooms smelling as fresh as possible because experience has taught us that sometimes people smoke in our nonsmoking rooms and some of our customers are super-sensitive to tobacco odors.
We are constantly upgrading and I would suggest that whenever making a reservation, here or anywhere, that you ask for the most recently refurbished room--our most recently refurbished rooms feature fireplaces and 42 inch plasma TVs.
I am sorry you didn't like our continental breakfast, most of our guests find the portability and speed it offers to be a plus, those that don't usually go to our full service restaurant, Geaghan's, which is outstanding. Our orange juice dispenser does go empty but only taskes a few seconds to refill, we're very sorry the person just before you got the last bit, we monitor it as best we can.
If you ever do see your way to giving us another chance, and I hope you do, we'll be right here with your whoopie pies.
Thank you very much for your comments, they help us do our job better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
4.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
1.7 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#15 of 26 in Bangor
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor

Address: 570 Main St, at I-395 & Main Street, Bangor, ME 04401-6821
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $91 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Bangor
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing