We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Late Night”

John Geaghan Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #9 of 183 Restaurants in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Late Night”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food, value, beer and the service are all first rate. They serve late which makes it a great end to an evening performance at the Penobscot Theater.
A mostly American, "Bar Fare" menu offers enough variety for everyone. The wings are generally accepted to be among the best, if not THE best in the area. They also serve a great hamburger cooked to whatever temperature you prefer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    95
    40
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“late night dinner after IL Divo concert”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Food was delicious and priced economically. They served us late as it was 10pm on a Friday night. We were attended to by a caring young man who took the time to explain Irish Fare. We were comfortable and felt welcome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler54Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great Irish Red Ale”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I love a good Irish Red Ale, and the glass I had here was one of the best I have tasted, smooth and full of flavour!
The food was equally delicious. I had their Cajun steak sandwich. This is a steak served on a piece of toast with fries & coke slaw. I don't quite know why you need to put the steak on toast, but it was good. Although it is called 'Cajun', don't be scared off; it is not too spicy, just a hint of extra flavour. It is a thin steak, so my 'medium rare' was closer to 'medium', so you might want to consider notching your order down a bit. My wife had a tuna melt which she reports was excellent, and my mother in law had a club sandwich, which was fresh and delicious, served on a bun rather than bread.

But . . Try the red ale, I like it so much, that a growler left the pub with me to be enjoyed watching the NASCAR race on Sunday.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Happening Place!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Food was good, waitstaff was friendly and the price was right! Very busy, lots of locals and the menu had a lot to choose from.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great local beer, great service, good food depending on what you get!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place has been a "landmark" in Bangor for many years. You can always count on entertaining service - thank you Lance - you rock!!.....the local beer they brew is very good, the fish chowder rich and yummy, the boneless wings excellent - but I wouldn't recommend ordering their boiled dinner.......ouch. This is always a go to place to meet friends as the atmosphere is lively and fun!! It's beside Hollywood Slots Casino and across from the new auditorium......and one minute from I-95!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Geaghan Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to John Geaghan Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing