We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable”
Review of Super 8 Bangor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Bangor
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel is not fancy, it could use with a massive update but it was serviceable, it was clean, we had a free breakfast and it was close to shopping etc. Bathroom fixtures are shades of aqua/turquoise. The toilet and shower/tub are in the bathroom and the sink is out in the room.
Nice big TV, a table with chairs. The breakfast is adequate, you won't starve but you will not be full. Seems a favourite with Canadians coming to shop or people pulling off the highway and not far from the airport. There a few cheaper hotels in the area and some much more expensive, newer properties in Bangor. It is all taste and budget. We stay here and have more money for shopping and eating out.

Room Tip: Being on bottom floor makes it easy to unload car and shopping. You may be able to park near your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 980 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our room (101) was like a blast from the past as there were aqua-colored fixtures. The room was quiet and it met our needs of being downstairs. The rate was reasonable and the desk clerk was able to help me log onto the Internet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocky0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Had booked for a overnight stop in bangor on our trip to new hampsheir. Have stayed a different hotels in the area this one was better then the others .Was ok not the best but ok for a overnight! Would recomend for a overnight stay! Rooms a bit outdated but looked clean

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cdn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Having stayed at this motel many times, we again, on our recent stop over , choose this motel as it is a reasonable price and have always found our room, in spite of being a bit outdated, to be very clean.. We have noticed an area of the hall smelling of smoke but our room was has always been smoke free as requested.
The complimentary breakfast is a light breakfast but is what we prefer. There are restaurants very nearby for full breakfasts.
The desk personnel are usually very pleasant and helpful.
For the cleanliness and price, we usually choose Super 8

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is adequate. The night staff was all right; the room was decent enough. However, breakfast is limited. I understand a continental breakfast, but this was white bread, donuts and waffles; not even a bagel. Or English muffin. Just seemed much more limited than most Super 8's, However the part that I didn't care for about the hotel was the staff that answers the phone in the mornings. My husband left some music books in our room, and when we called to see if they'd been turned in the morning staff was rude as can be. I assume that the cleaners threw them away, not wanting to be bothered but that doesn't excuse the attitude of the staff. If you just need a place to sleep, this is all right, but re-check your room!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is a good price/value. It's a good place to stay in the area.
Clean and safe: not spotless, but not unhealthy. This is an older property and things are a bit worn. However, they are perfectly adequate. The remote doors have locks on them to be accessed by your room keys, but this is rarely necessary because the doors don't close and lock.
Beds: little padding on the mattress, and some sagging in the middle of the queen beds we had. Nonetheless, adequate.
Room: blow dryer; no microwave or fridge; sink separate from toilet
Breakfast: the basic cereal/donut breakfast, with frozen waffles to be toasted, yogurt if you are up early to get it before it runs out, a big bowl of fruit cocktail. No fresh fruit or egg options.
Staff: At the front desk -- abrupt, but competent and helpful when asked. Cleaning staff -- personable, cheerful, and helpful, making every attempt to meet your needs.
Wifi: free, but very slow at night -- I tried for 40 minutes to look up my husband's flight arrival and finally gave up and called. Throughout the day, we saw the connection quality vary between 1 and 3 (of 5) bars.

This is the 5th time in 3 years that we have stayed here. The front desk staff was different this time and they said that new management has been in place for about a month.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This place was horrible. When booking this room we asked for a non smoking room and when we arrived were told none were available. As one other reviewer mentioned this whole place smells of smoke including hallways. So I think even the so called non smoking rooms are really not the case. Carpet was dirty and so was bathroom. The one good thing was that the sheets were clean but hard to get good nights sleep due to smoke smell. Will not stay at "Smoker 8" again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Bangor
Ramada Bangor
#14 of 26 in Bangor
1,353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
5.2 mi away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
654 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 26 in Bangor
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bangor

Address: 462 Odlin Road, Bangor, ME 04401-6708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $75 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Bangor 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Bangor! Located off I-95 at exit 182B, minutes from Bangor International Airport. Whether Bangor is your destination or you are just passing through, our Super 8 Bangor hotel can help you relax and recharge and get on your way. Conveniently located off I-95, near I-395 and Bangor International Airport. We are near shopping, restaurants, gaming, and two colleges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangor Super 8 Hotel Bangor
Super Eight Bangor
Bangor Super Eight
Super 8 Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing