We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and noisy rooms. Bed very uncomfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold and noisy rooms. Bed very uncomfortable.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Room was cold, they need to seal up around the HVAC unit. So much cold air coming in that you could not keep your feet warm. Their mattress system did not work very well and were woke up shortly after 5AM by the staff passing out the checkout sheets and talking on the 2 way radio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outlaw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bangor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to hear of your discomfort during your last stay with us. Your notification of the cold originating from the heater unit is appreciated and our maintenance department will be requested to check on that room.

High winds can cause that style of unit to allow some unwanted air entry, but it is rarely a problem. In the event of such a case, please contact the front desk and when other rooms are available, we will try to locate you in a position which would be less vulnerable. Otherwise, we will do whatever we can to correct the problem.

The same is true for any situation. You are important to us and we want you to be comfortable and relaxed during your visits.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    213
    51
    14
    14
See reviews for
318
258
42
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

For a business person, this is really an easy find and top rated hotel. The food was excellent and the meeting room even had a view of the outside. Bartenders know their wines and most accomodating.
The only argument is with the way you have to complete your own chit for drinks at the bar. Weird.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAuntMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bangor, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for what offended you at the bar and my ignorance in comprehending it. If my interpretation is correct, you are not used to signing your receipt or perhaps you wanted the charges added to your room without a receipt at that time. Whatever it is, let’s chat about it next visit and try to help you.

Thank you for the great compliments. It gives us pleasure to make your visit as enjoyable as possible.

Sincerely,


Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff at the Hilton Garden Inn was very warm and welcoming. The location was perfect for me, because I travel all around Maine for work.

The room was large, nice and clean. All in all it was a good deal and would stay here again! ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bangor, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to know that our atmosphere is warm and welcoming. It is always our purpose and intent to make this place as comfortable and clean as possible but it is nicer when it can be a little like home too.

Happy travels and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've stayed in a few Hiltons and this one is just average. Boring location - close to lots of chain restaurants and shops in an industrial sprawl, not close to the centre of Bangor. Room was OK, but there was no safe in the room, and our coffee service was lacking cream. Clean and comfortable enough, but it didn't have a special feel really, just average. Breakfast buffet was boring and greasy. Choice of boxed cereal, some Hannaford grocery store pastries (really, we saw the *same* pastries at a Hanniford close by). Deep fried french toast (looked really greasy and disgusting). So I'd avoid the buffet. Dunno, just wasn't impressed and I'll give it an average. Can't say I had a bad time, just a boring time. It's perfect for someone on a business trip, not really for someone looking for a getaway treat.

Room Tip: They will all be boring and average - take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizkane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bangor, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed that you did not find our hotel more special as we like to have all our guests leave completely satisfied. Many of them like the fact that we are located only one to two miles from so many restaurant and shopping choices, including the Bangor Mall, and only five minutes / 2 miles from downtown. We can even deliver you in our shuttle.

For breakfast variety, I recommend a selection of the juices, yogurts, oatmeal, many freshly prepared fruits, or eggs & omelets cooked to your special order. If it is not the way you like it, our cook will re-do your order to your liking.

If you have been in other Garden Inns, compare their white walls and tile floors in the lobby areas to the rich woodwork and hardwood floors here. No, this is not a Waldorf Astoria [also a Hilton Brand], but neither is it meant to be. Each brand is designed and built to bring a certain level of goods and services to the guests who choose it. I hope you will see by comparison that we offer a beautiful place and great experience, and return to stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Impressively clean, with excellent staff throughout the entire hotel. I thought the hotel must be brand new because it is in such good condition everywhere. The bar/restaurant has a really warm and welcoming atmosphere and we were really pleased not to have to leave the hotel to find a decent place to eat; the food is reasonably priced and very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Maine
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We are on our last evening of our trip here to Bangor and this hotel continues to impress both my husband and I. You walk through the front door and your eyes are treated to their beautiful decor. The staff at the front desk are always ~ always helpful and courteous. The cleanliness of this hotel is second to none. The free Wi-fi is very nice, and the salt water pool and jacuzzi are awesome. Oh and did I mention the housekeeping staff, they pay close attention also with extra towels, and extra make up remover pads! We try to make this hotel our first pick when in Bangor. Thank you Hlton Garden Inn for being Just Wonderful!

~L. Mitchell

Room Tip: ~Awesome Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amakehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bangor, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We strive to make each stay the way you have so descriptively written and it is great to know that your time here is enjoyed. Such remarks make our efforts pleasant and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is run so smoothly, with great attention to the guest experience and comfort. Every single person that I encountered during my 9 night stay was so courteous and friendly. A few highlights:
1. On the weekend, when there were few guests, I found staff cleaning the walls of the corridor to my room. When they have down time, they clean, clean, clean. It was really comforting to see everyone take pride in the hotel and want to keep it in tip top shape. Kudo's to you all for your dedication! I travel often for work, and seeing this is, unfortunately, rare.
2. Neutrogena bath products. Oh - and don't worry - they didn't forget the toilet paper - it's located actually quite handily under the sink. That threw me at first.
3. Food at the restaurant is very good!! I ate there for dinner as well as had room service. Quick and delicious.
4. Free shuttle to and from the hotel from anywhere in Bangor from 7AM to 10PM!! Just give them 20 - 30 minutes notice. That was a gem of a benefit for me as I was expecting to use a taxi the whole time.
5. The bed is air adjustable. Linens and pillows were great. If you'd like a memory foam contour pillow - just ask - they have some!

I know there is more that I'm forgetting but hopefully my highlights help. The staff are phenomenal. So friendly and helpful and they all seem to truly enjoy their jobs. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the highway for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looney_98003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Bangor
Courtyard Bangor
#8 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bangor

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Address: 250 Haskell Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-4241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#3 Family Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bangor 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Garden Inn Bangor, a great choice for hotels in Bangor, Maine. Our hotel offers a unique setting on a peaceful road, with easy access to fantastic shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities. Located within five miles of the University of Maine, Downtown Bangor, and the Bangor Mall, our hotel provides the perfect base to experience Maine. Discover comfortable accommodations and a convenient location at our bright and airy Bangor hotel. When choosing a hotel in Bangor, Maine, consider our comfortable beds, cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary WiFi. Eat well at the Great American Grill(R) or grab a snack from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Choose from refrigerated and microwaveable items to prepare in your in-room microwave, or simply relax with evening room service in a warm and inviting guest room. Unwind with a refreshing swim in the indoor pool or work out in the fitness center. Host a meeting or special event, and enjoy complimentary use of our business center. At our Hilton Garden Inn Bangor hotel, the options are limitless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor Hotel Bangor
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing