We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO Airport shuttle--but nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Bangor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Bangor
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“NO Airport shuttle--but nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Nice property for business or family gatherings. Areas to sit and socialize which is nice.
Stocked mini-grocery near front desk. Indoor pool. No airport hotel and about 10 minutes from airport. Hotel is off the beaten path, but near areas that are being built up. There are restaurants and pharmacy via quick car ride. Safe off-street parking. 45 miles to Bar Harbor, Maine and not too far to get to Acadia National Park. Be sure to stop for Lobster at "Trenton Bridge" Lobster pound!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HiHo143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We love hearing feedback from our valued guests. We hope to have you visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Bangor Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    114
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
110
117
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Spent a night here on a recent shopping trip to the Bangor/Portland area. We had no reservations & just stopped in because it was near the mall. The woman working the desk was so friendly and gave us an excellent rate. The hotel is fairly new - clean and comfortable. Great beds & linens. A breakfast option would be a nice addition, although there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We love hearing from our Canadian neighbors! Thank you for checking us out on your recent shopping trip to Bangor. I’m happy to hear your positive comments about our cleanliness and our accommodating associates. We take pride in providing excellent service and our associates truly enjoy taking care of our guests. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

At your service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel was a complete surprise! It is new, modern and upscale! Priced right. The rooms are well outfitted...loved the bathrooms! The lobby is open and welcoming with a new Bistro which has wonderful breakfasts, lunches, light suppers and drinks too! Computer center...well equipped. It also has a pool. It is in on a quiet street about 1/4 mile from the Bangor Mall...great location for all you do. I would not hesitate to give this hotel a five star rating.

Room Tip: Fourth floor--any room! All very quiet. Suites have balconies overlooking nicely kept Garden's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sshs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for the "5 star" review! We're so glad that you loved the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott and very much appreciate that you took the time to let us and everyone on TripAdvisor know. You certainly hit all the highlights in your review. Thank you! We hope to see you here again soon!

Sincerely,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am a great fan of Marriott hotels and this one does not disappoint! Excellent location for Bangor Mall. We stopped for one night on our way to the White Mtns in New Hampshire, and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is stylish and very comfortable. The rooms were well laid out and the beds were very comfy. The Starbucks coffee was a treat- Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldwideTravelerNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BangorCourtyard, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the fantastic review! I can’t wait to share your feedback with all our associates. We hope to be your host the next time you’re passing through Bangor.

At your service,
Kim Whitmore
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night when travelling from NYC back to Halifax, Nova Scotia.
A nice, modern hotel, big rooms, clean and a super quick check in.

We've stayed at a couple of the Marriott Residence Inn's, now, and they include free breakfast, so it was a shame the Courtyard doesn't. Otherwise, it was a good experience, and I would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson_Griffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Our staff really enjoyed having you stay at our hotel. I noticed your comments about the Residence Inn, and I agree that the brand is wonderful. There are differences in the breakfast programs. Residence offers a breakfast buffet, Courtyard features fresh healthy options like Strawberry Cups. And you cant get a Starbucks coffee at the Residence! If you are interested in having breakfast included in your rate we do offer a "Stay for Breakfast" package. Give us a call the next time you're traveling to Bangor, it would be our pleasure to share our breakfast options with you.

Kind Regards,
Doreen Salls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennysville, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

For Christmas I received a gift card to the Courtyard. My boyfriend and I decided to stay there last Friday since we were celebrating our recent engagement. Upon arrival, the first thing I noticed was an abandoned building covered in graffiti sitting right on top of the hotel's property which made the overall feel cheap. Then entering the lobby I was immediately pleased, the colors of red and black gave the entrance a modern look. There was even a Starbucks and sandwich counter. My boyfriend and I entered the elevator and rode to the third floor. The elevator smelled bad and the rug was very worn. We found our room to be very pleasant and very spacious.

During the night, we could here people upstairs from us banging around and we even heard a train go by. I did not sleep well at all, I was either freezing or sweating and the noises were very loud. You could hear everything.

I would not recommend spending 190.00 dollars for this motel. It was not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Congratulations on your recent engagement, may your future together be filled with happiness! I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't sleep well on your visit. Did you contact a guest service associate to assist you? It would have been our pleasure to move you to a quieter room. Our associates are at your service 24 hours a day; we would never want you to be uncomfortable. Please contact me directly about your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bangor Courtyard by Marriott.

Doreen Salls
207-299-9071
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely large rooms, easy check-in, check-out. I almost wished I was there on business as it is clearly well designed for the working traveller. I would breakfast elsewhere as it is quite expensive and just good, not great. Starbucks coffee is a plus! I would defenitely recommend this hotel and it's staff :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doreen S, General Manager at Courtyard Bangor, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bangor Courtyard. I'm happy you enjoyed our hospitality and accomodations, we loved having you at our hotel. Please come back to visit us soon, we'll have a Starbucks waiting for you!

Sincerely,
Doreen Salls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Country Inn at the Mall
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bangor

Property: Courtyard Bangor
Address: 236 Sylvan Rd, Bangor, ME 04401-4221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
#6 Business Hotel in Bangor
#7 Family Hotel in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bangor 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true Maine hospitality at the new Courtyard by Marriott. As one of the premier hotels in Bangor, Maine, the new Courtyard by Marriott design offers the latest technology, amenities and décor that exceed the expectations of today's business and leisure traveler. Yes, you can get there from here! With quick access from our Bangor, Maine hotel’s location near I95, travelers are just minutes from the Bangor International Airport and area corporations, including the University of Maine Orono (Go Black Bears!), Eastern Maine Healthcare, Husson College, Cianbro and General Electric. Maine's famous lakes, mountains and coastline are just a short, scenic drive away from our hotel. Additionally, as one of the most accommodating hotels near Bangor, ME, our friendly, knowledgeable staff can direct you to top attractions and local favorites like Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, The Maine Highland region and Baxter State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Bangor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Bangor Hotel Bangor
Courtyard Bangor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing