We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imaginative menu. Superbly cooked meal.”
Review of Thistles Restaurant - CLOSED

Thistles Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For more than twelve years Thistles has been Bangor's premier international restaurant. Located on Downtown Exchange Street in the Queen City, our restaurant has always possesed a special ambience but the newly completed rejuvenation in gorgeous modern decor makes us an even more special place to enjoy fine dining. Owned and operated by The Rave family, Thistles provides one of the best dining experiences in town. At Thistles you will be introduced to a superb menu of cuisine that is truly global. Chef Alejandro's culinary talents include the ability to prepare gourmet ethnic dishes from around the world. Great recipes from Argentina, Colombia and other Latin American countries, Germany, Italy, Portugal and Spain are all part of his repertoire of culinary delights. What are you waiting for? An international dining treat awaits all at THISTLES!
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Imaginative menu. Superbly cooked meal.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

On the last night of our 10 day vacation to the Canadian Maritime provinces, we arrived in Bangor and wanted a memorable final meal of the trip. Thistle's more than filled the bill. The menu had something for everyone -- from excellently prepared duck to fabulous salmon. The sleek, modern interior was tempered by subtle lighting, the wait staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and the wine list contained excellent choices in a range of prices. I highly recommend Thistle's for people who enjoyed good food and wine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaG8024DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner at Thistles in Bangor Maine”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had dinner at Thistles very recently and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our server Heidi was superb and expertly looked after us all evening. My husband and I absolutely had a most relaxing and delicious meal. I had gazpacho for a starter, then we split the empanadas. I had one of the house specialties, Cashew Chicken with apricot sauce. And we split the Spanish Flan for dessert. The food is international with an Argentinian bent - it was hard to decide from all the wonderful choices. I actually could have just had just a couple of appetizers they all looked so good. The meal was accompanied by a gentleman (who I believe is a family member?) playing a huge repertoire on the guitar- unobtrusive and atmospheric at the same tine. We travel a lot and have eaten at some fabulous restaurants all over the world; we would definitely go back to Thistles in Bangor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steppingout34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Adults looking for an evening out”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to Thistles with another couple while vacationing in nearby Ellsworth after purchasing a Groupon. We were looking for a nice night out in town minus their toddler and Thistles was a great choice. Pleasant atmosphere, friendly & attentive service from Holly, plus a sophisticated menu of fusion delights. The French onion soup was very good, as was the seafood pesto pasta (the smaller portion was perfectly sized for a light meal after soup & appetizer). The queso appetizer with guava sauce was a bit disappointing given its preparation was similar to mozzarella cheese triangles but tasty just the same. Bar is well stocked and menu features a good selection of Argentinian wines. My party also enjoyed the New England clam chowder but it wasn't terribly unique vs. What we could normally get in RI. My husband's dish featured shrimp, chorizo and green plantains and was a real winner in terms of flavor. We would definitely visit again if looking for a nice adult night out in the area. Car pooling is recommended as the parking seems fairly limited.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Bangor”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

You are guaranteed to have a great meal! The owners are excellent and always friendly. Wine selection is great and staff is knowledgable about pairing the wine with meal. Always a first choice in Bangor!

Helpful?
Thank Brookelyn9485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite meal in the US”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have consistently received excellent food and service at Thistles. Whenever we want a sit-down meal, Thistles is our first choice. I wouldn't consider this a family restaurant, although the prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food. Their take-out quality rivals eating in the restaurant, and it reheats well. They also take added precautions with shellfish allergies, which can be difficult to find and relevant in this state. They offer the best food in Bangor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flowerbunnylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistles Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing