We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle's can be counted on”
Review of Thistles Restaurant - CLOSED

Thistles Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: For more than twelve years Thistles has been Bangor's premier international restaurant. Located on Downtown Exchange Street in the Queen City, our restaurant has always possesed a special ambience but the newly completed rejuvenation in gorgeous modern decor makes us an even more special place to enjoy fine dining. Owned and operated by The Rave family, Thistles provides one of the best dining experiences in town. At Thistles you will be introduced to a superb menu of cuisine that is truly global. Chef Alejandro's culinary talents include the ability to prepare gourmet ethnic dishes from around the world. Great recipes from Argentina, Colombia and other Latin American countries, Germany, Italy, Portugal and Spain are all part of his repertoire of culinary delights. What are you waiting for? An international dining treat awaits all at THISTLES!
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thistle's can be counted on”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Bangor, Maine is rapidly expanding its dining options, but Thistle's remains a constant as one of the more upscale restaurants in the city. Specializing in Latin American dishes and food and wines of Argentina, the menu has enough variety to satisfy everyone in your party, service is attentive and knowledgeable, and the food is typically well prepared. Maria Rave and her family are solicitous in assuring that guests are happy. For special occasions, they can offer offer a small and intimate event room, working carefully with patrons to plan menus that are special to individual tastes rather than a "one size fits all" menu.

You can also expect a variety of live music, small jazz combos, and depending on the time, even tango dancing and other special events that accentuate the global and international flavor.

Always an enjoyable experience. Be sure to make reservations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen Cavell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Treat”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband surprised me one night with reservations to "Thistles" which is my favorite restaurant Bangor. As usual, the experience was great! I am always happy with the food and the service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice for a special occasion”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Reservations are suggested. We did not have them that night however it was not a problem. Location can be hard to find if you are new to the town. Down the street from the judicial center. Don't expect a romantic view. Staff were friendly, good service, good food. Clean restaurant. There was a musician playing softly that night. Nice for part of a special night out .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUANE9296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Food is not good.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I ordered the French onion soup. It was lacking in every way.
I also had the Cuban scallops creole. The asparagus lacked color and was overcooked. The scallops were cooked okay, but the red pepper was overcooked and mushy.
Service was ok. They did the best they could with our large party.
The bathrooms are dirty and need updating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlestar52072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cut off after 4 beers with no incident”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

They ruined a double birthday celebration with a table of six when a gentleman wanted a fifth beer for dessert. Food was stuck together and overpriced as well. Don't plan a celebration here. Disgusting end to a nice celebration.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistlesRestaurant, Owner at Thistles Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
According to the laws of the state of Maine "it is unlawful to sell or
allow consumption of liquor to a visible intoxicated person, or allow
an intoxicated person to remain on premise." We follow the laws here
at Thistles and as the owner I am very proud of my staff for making
the difficult decision of not serving you. If we did not care about
your well being and the safety of our community we could have kept on serving you and the end
result might have been tragically different. Happy birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistles Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing