We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a great deal this time of year.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I spent the night there recently for slightly over $100. Granted it was a weekday,with an outdoor windchill of below 0 F. So it's likely they didn't have a lot of business that week.

The room was far better than those I have gotten previously at the Bangor Hampton or Hilton, and I paid less! The room had such a lovely decor, natural, real-wood furniture -- beautifully appointed.

The staff person gave me a very quiet room, as I requested. She put me down the hall from others, on the 6th floor. I slept like a baby.

Recommend highly. Though if it were busier, who knows? May be more expensive and less quiet. But for me, that night, it was great.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthHeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review! We take great pride in making sure our guests are happy and satisfied. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your room and had a wonderful stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a very nice stay in December. Only concern was inconsistent pricing of the rooms. Room rates varied from 109 to 252 per night depending if it was a travel website or hotel website and seemed to vary daily. I felt for Bangor Maine and at a casino the hotel prices were too high. We had 16 in our group and 10 of them stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StacyandRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! Our rates do fluctuate based on occupancy, much like airlines vary their rates based on available seating. We do try to keep rate parody between our website and the travel agent websites we are contracted with. For future, when booking a group of over 10 rooms, please contact our sales manager for a group block.

Thank you!
Johnna Pellon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great hotel to stay!!! The location is perfect for us as we love that the casino is close. The snack bar in the Casino had good food. It's not full sit down restaurant, but still very convenient when you get in later at night and don't feel to go back out. The service was great. Rooms are big and beautiful. Very clean!!! We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NADIADON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the review and your continued business! We will be opening a new sit down restaurant this spring! It will be your classic American Grill. Construction is due to start soon and we are in hopes to start serving customers in April or May.
Thank You!
Johnna Pellon
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Like a lot of visitors, the layout of the casino and hotel elevators confused us on our first visit a few years ago. And they confused us yet again on our second visit in November 2013.

The parking garage is huge and well lit but you really want to try and park as close to the elevator exit as possible because it's a long walk thru the parking garage and to the other side of the building if you don't plan it right.

My Mom booked us 2 rooms a few months in advance of our yearly shopping trip to Bangor (right after Canadian Thanksgiving, and well before the American Black Friday).

Our only complaint about the rooms is that you could not open the windows to let in fresh air, and we were too close to the elevator exit and could hear people getting on and off the elevator all night.

Otherwise (like on a previous stay away from the elevators) the rooms are well furnished and modern with big LCD TVs, and the King and Queen beds are always very comfortable.

For value VS. price this is my favorite place to stay in Bangor.

The only drawback to the location is you're 5-8 minutes driving on the i95/395 from the best shopping areas.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is close to the elevator, and if it is: get a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. When making a reservation you can always request to be away from the elevator (or near the elevator if you choose). We do our best every morning to block these requests so that our guests are happy. As for shopping there are some small locally owned shops and restaurants closer to us than the mall area. Again, thank you for responding and next time please request to be far from the elevator and we will make it happen!

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here because of a business meeting nearby, so didn't gamble, although I went through the casino to eat at the restaurant inside. The rooms are very nicely decorated and updated. There is covered parking and a restaurant on the premises. I enjoyed the one night I was there. I would highly recommend, particularly if your destination is the casino!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBRECED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We actually have two restaurants on site - The Epic Buffet open for lunch and dinner and the Snack Bar open for all three meal times. Also, in 2014 we will be opening another sit down restaurant! There is something for everyone here! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
Johnna Pellon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had tickets to see IL Divo in concert at The Cross Insurance Coliseum in Bangor, ME.
This hotel was across the street. Perfect place to stay for the concert. The room was not expensive. Room was beautiful and large. It had a king size bed has requested and plenty of bath amenities. The room was super clean and cozy. The desk help were friendly and receptive and helpful. The fitness room was small and there were not enough machines for the 5 people who arrived at the same time to do morning exercise at 8:30 am. We improvised and managed.
The parking was self parking and great and easy. We really enjoyed this wonderful hotel.
Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler54Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Front Office Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are the perfect hotel to choose when attending a concert either at the Cross Insurance Center or Darlings Waterfront Pavilion. Parking is always free to our hotel guests and we are just a short walk to either location. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I've been traveling to Bangor for years, but since this hotel has opened, I don't want to stay anywhere else. All other hotels pale in comparison. The rooms here are large and clean with up to date amenities. Location wise, it is a bit far away from shopping (not that anything could be far away in a small town like Bangor), and a river view room is not as fabulous as it sounds, but the decor, service, and comfort beats anything else in town. We stay so often that a couple of the front desk staff recognize us on sight. We just love it here.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for river view. You might get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorHotel, Manager at Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Good Morning Katrina!

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to hear that we are living up to our expectations. As you know, we pride ourselves in our well kept building as well as outstanding customer service! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Johnna Pellon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western White House Inn
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Bangor
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bangor-Odlin Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel

Address: 500 Main St, Bangor, ME 04401-6845
Location: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangor
Price Range: $134 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel offering seven stories of luxury and entertainment, perfect for business and leisure travel. 148 oversized rooms with king or two queen beds and 4 luxurious two room suites. All rooms include a complimentary full breakfast buffet and free parking in our parking garage. Amenities include 42” LCD flat screens, in-room movies, room service, fitness facility, and business center, buffet restaurant, lounge with live entertainment, and Maine’s only gaming facility featuring 1000 slot machines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Slots Bangor
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing