We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Cook's Lobster & Ale House
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ordered 2 rather large lobster dinners. Based on some previous reviews, I was expecting the market price of the dinners to be quite expensive. However, we were pleasantly surprised that the price was very reasonable. I know for a fact that lobsters the size we ordered would have been more in most restaurants in Portland (where we were staying). The food was delicious and I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others when traveling through this area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    111
    95
    60
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No wonder it's world famous - lobster and blueberry pie to die for!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My sisters and I were taking the noon Casco Bay cruise at Bailey Island, near Harpswell, south of Brunswick, Maine. As we boarded the boat, the people getting off were heading down the dock to Cook's Lobster House for lunch..We had a lovely hour and a 1/2 cruise - only $13,
but I couldn't wait to get to Cook's to enjoy those wonderful Maine lobster rolls with huge pieces of lobster meat - just to die for!! And Cook's famous coleslaw, also not to be missed and finally, the best for last, the biggest piece of blueberry pie - at least 2" packed high with those delicious Maine blueberries, in a flaky pie crust.. I wanted to take a picture of it - but it was so yummy with some vanilla ice cream on the side, that it was gone before we knew it..Wish we had ordered another one. Cook's is not a fancy place, like many seaside restaurants, it has very nice gift shop, very helpful staff. I bought a few souvenirs for my grand children, a Maine stone coaster for my coaster collection, and dishtowel map of Casco Bay to remind of this delicious meal and a beautiful Maine afternoon. They have been in business since the 1950's...I like that..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dauphine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spotlight on Haddock”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife had the fried haddock and chips, i had the broiled haddock. The service was a little slow, but everything went very well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kokopellisax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lobster”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Cook's Lobster House was recommended by the hotel staff. It was a bit of a drive but well worth it! The lobster was like none we have ever had. No need for butter the flavor was so wonderful. We topped it off with the homemade wild blueberry pie a la mode - oh my gosh it was heaven!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank summertraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

But their neighbour is better and cheaper. But we had great lobster. Only the waitress spelt a lot of my showder and that was normal. She left it that way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Lobster & Ale House also viewed

 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
Bailey Island, ME
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cook's Lobster & Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing