We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the ordinary for this Texan”

Morse's Cribstone Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
TEXAS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little out of the ordinary for this Texan”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had the best ever seafood nacho's. Wow, I wish I were there now, it's 5:30pm Central time in Texas. This overflowing plate could not be handled with your fingers. More than enough for two, it was loaded with all kinds of seafood: shrimp, scallops, clams, (my favorite)Haddock, and more. Bring your appetite, and use a spoon & fork.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    112
    19
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
N.H.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Near miss!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wanted to try this place as we'd heard good things about it, but the wait was too long...next time we'll go earlier!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous lobster”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived late to our cottage on Bailey Island and Cribstone was about the only place open, which was our good fortune. The staff was very accommodating, holding a table until we could get checked in and return to the restaurant. We all had lobster and a mixture of broiled scallops and fried oysters. The lobsters were absolutely delicious - sweet, tender, slightly salty from the brine they are cooked in. The oysters also lightly breaded and very juicy and tender. Scallops were the freshest, very tender and sweet. This place really knows how to do seafood. The waitress was delightful and the place was teaming with conversation and live music. Such a great experience we came back the next night and were not disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marybjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect meal- great bar and service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great food, wonderful service- they even had a musician playing in the dining room with a great selection of music. The lobsters and scallops were awesome and the sweet potato fries the best we have ever had!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KC4252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Coming from the West Coast, I had been looking all week for that one "Fantastic Meal" that would remain in my memory for years and seal my vacation as "Aaaahhh"..... This was so worth it.
On our last night in Maine, we found it. This rustic little restaurant with ocean views and sweet attentive waitress was a great expierence from the minute we walked in the door. We ordered the clams appetizer, as good, if not better then our Oregon clams and the Lobster special. Fresh and delicious! I talked to the owner and he said he said had pulled them in that afternoon. He was genuine and interesting and made the whole expierence truly nostalgic. Like going back to a time when people cared more about satifaction, then making the $'s. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurer222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morse's Cribstone Grill also viewed

 
Bailey Island, ME
 
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Morse's Cribstone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing