We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro, perfect for a 50th Fraternity reunion....”

Cook's Island View Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cook's Island View Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bailey Island
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Reunion was held mostly at a friend's home & nearby restaurants. One of the few motels on the island, Cook's was reasonable & supplied us with what we needed. Clean, accessible, parking, good location to tour the island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BARNCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Cook's Island View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 56 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

What a wonderful welcome we experienced from the reservation phone call to the arrival and check-in. If you want to feel valued, come to Cook's. The host is pleasant and seems to have all the time in the world to chat. He has a grand sense of humor too. We would certainly return to Cook's.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ample and spotless. Imagine sitting in an Adirondack chair to watch the sunset.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patsy_SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stopped here on our second night of our Maine trip. Our room was very clean, large, and comfortable. Basic motel setting. You can walk down the road about 1/2 mile for a spot to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Have been going to B.I. for many years, usually rent a house on the water,but due to 401k and other situations only could spend 2 days here. We tried to get into the other places: BAILEY ISLAND MOTEL, THE LOG CABIN. AND THE DRIFTWOOD INN , They were either too expensive or no rooms. I have often walked by this place and wondered about it. The pool always caught my attention, soooo we called and got a room.
Cheryl, the person who ansered phone, was very cheerful and said she has a room for us.
Upon arrival, I was pleased to see some changes were made for the better. The grounds were immaculate and the landscaping was very nice with lots of colorfull flowers.
The room was very large, with a rocking chair and another wooden chair that was very comfortable. A small dining table with 2 folding chairs were infront of the microwave and small fridge.
A nice tv with cable provided some entertainment for our 2 grandchildren.
Outside on a small patio were 2 pine chairs for sitting and watching the island life go by.
You can see some water views but not enough to make it seem like you were on the water. The sunsets were beautiful for this location.
The only item missing was a air conditioner. There was a stand up fan and the cross ventilation did provide a nice breeze.
All and all it was nice.
If u go make sure you go down to GAINT STEPS a nice walk aloong the ocean. There is also a nice beach (CEDAR BEACH) but you will have to walk some distance and parking is scarse. Macarel cove is one of the most scenic spots on the island. At the end of the island is LANDS END , a gift shop that sells great fudge and many other things. We love to sit there and watch the lobster boats also a swimming area and rock climbing.
There is a bldg called library hall which has art sales and bake sales and a flea mkt occasionally.
Giant steps restarant was freat and priced well, cooks lobster house is always good, but getting a little pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank allatrop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed here three days to attend a wedding. Rooms were large and newly redone with cable TV, frig and microwave. They also had free wireless internet which I didn't see advertised on there web site. Coffee is provided in the morning and the staff is friendly and helpful. The most reasonable motel on the island. Would have given an excellent rating if not for the lack of air conditioning. They do have floor fans and good cross ventilation.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Madison074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

When we made reservations, I didn't have much hope that this would be too wonderful a place.....strip motel - I was expecting old, and somewhat dingy rooms - What we found was totally different. The rooms have obviously been re-done within the last year or so. The floors are all new - fresh paint, new windows, new bathrooms, new window treatments & COMFORTABLE beds!! Who knew?? The room was spotlessly clean and the staff/owners were friendly & helpful. I would stay there anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrsR430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Place is clean and the room was updated. Simply furnished, could use a few pictures on the wall. Room was not air conditioned. It was hot when we were there. There was a portable fan in the room. There are places to eat that you can walk to. Bailey Island is pretty, and we enjoyed seeing the sites. We drove to some nice seafood restaurants on other islands.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donbast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
10.8 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#11 of 20 in Portland
106 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
17.0 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
6.8 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
451 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quahog Bay Inn in Harpswell, Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cook's Island View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cook's Island View Motel

Address: 2041 Harpswell Islands Rd, Bailey Island, ME 04003-2578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bailey Island
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint island motel located on Bailey Island, Maine with plenty of fresh seafood restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Island View Hotel
Cook's Island View Motel Bailey Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing