We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sound of waves and a song circle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bailey Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Inn and Cottages
South Pole
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The sound of waves and a song circle”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you don't like the idea of the sound of waves all night, or if you don't like the idea that there might be a folk-singing community stopping in for the night to sing songs in the lodge library, you are welcome to stay at a golf resort somewhere. Actually, please don't stay here. But if you have anything beautiful in you, stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cape cod
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Over the last 10 years, I visit this inn at least once a year in mid-June or in early October in order to avoid the summer Maine mob scene. The rooms at each of their two old buildings right on the cove/inlet are small but well maintained. It's worth the extra money to get a room facing the water so that you can listen to it during the night and, if you are fortunate to be there for a full moon, watch it illuminate the scene when you briefly awaken at 2 or 3 AM for whatever it is that you do at that time. Don't go there for the room however, the main attraction is sitting on the porch in the late afternoon watching the waves break on the rocks just below. Sitting there, listening and watching, with a beer or bottle of wine that you brought is more relaxing than any tranquilizer I know of.

Room Tip: For solo travelers or couples, get a water-facing room at one of the two buildings on the cove. Fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iosilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at Driftwood Inn early in the season so it was relatively empty, and the restaurant wasn't even open for the season yet. The setting of the inn is absolutely stunning--overlooking a rocky bluff with the waves crashing. Two of the main buildings have terraces by the water and adirondack chairs outside, makes for a lovely place to just sit and watch the ocean and read. The building we stayed in had a common living room with a fireplace, which we used to make smores.

The only real downside to The Driftwood is that in the main buildings at least (versus the cabins), the bathrooms are shared. As we were the only ones in our building, it wasn't an issue, but I can imagine on a full weekend with all 6 bedrooms in the house full, it would be somewhat frustrating to only have 1 1/2 bathrooms available. The houses are charmingly old, so walls are thin, so be prepared.

All that said, we LOVED our stay here and would gladly come back, it's just worth recognizing that it's not for everyone and you should set your expectations properly to avoid being disappointed. You won't regret the setting or the charming accommodations or the lovely owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was 1991 when we last visited. We Did not see any changes, which was great. They still have the same cow bell to ring for dinner and breakfast. Great home base for day tripping to other areas. We stayed in the Inn with quite spacious rooms. Service was always friendly but somewhat slow depending on how busy the dining room is

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I first visited the Driftwood Inn in the early 90's. I fell in LOVE then and have been coming back ever since. This Inn is very rustic, but the most relaxing, quaint and amazing place on earth. The Inn has rooms with shared bathrooms, but the 6 cottages are fully equipped. If you like amazing views, nature and sitting and reading then this place is for you. The Inn opens May to October and has a restaurant which opens late June/early July and closes in September but there are several other options for food on the island as well. This place is our home away from home....our #1 choice for a vacation!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Inn have shared bathrooms, the cottages are fully equipped and all have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaHamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Spent a week with our three year old. Enjoyed the simple and cozy cottage. Amazing views. Nice walks. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loungestx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

After spending a very rainy weekend in Brunswick, my husband and I decided to drive out to Bailey Island before our long drive home since the sun decided to make an appearance on the day we were supposed to leave. We basically fell in love the minute we left Brunswick and took Route 24 all the way down to Bailey Island. This was the Maine I had imagined! Rugged coastlines, lobster traps, fishing boats, and old cottages by the ocean. We decided very quickly to find a room somewhere and stay one more night.

We came across Driftwood Inn by accident and were not disappointed. The minute we saw the location we KNEW we had to stay there. The guy at the desk informed us that the main cottage was completely empty and we could have an ocean-facing room. We walked to the cottage, went upstairs to the room, saw the breathtaking view and without hesitation said "Yes, we'll take it!".

The plaque on the cottage door said Driftwood Inn, 1905 so we knew the place was going to be charming and rustic. I was really happy that it was fairly clean and didn't have that icky feeling that can come with some beach houses. Our room had a private toilet and sink which was convenient but the shower was in the hallway and would have to be shared with other guests. Luckily for us - there were no other guests! The bathrooms were what you'd expect to find in an old house -- nothing modern, maybe a little mold, but otherwise functioning.

The living room downstairs had an old piano and fireplace which made everything really cozy at night. I was a little surprised that the cottage we stayed in didn't have a kitchen. Since the restaurant was closed for the season we had to drive into town for a bite to eat -- but this was the only downside!

Outside there was a huge covered porch (as well as a closed-in porch) with rocking chairs and wicker furniture. I'm sure in the summer it would be the perfect place to have a meal and watch the sunset.

My husband and I are definitely considering returning next season with a couple of friends to take full advantage of everything this place has to offer...can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyninjitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailey Island
13.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
17.4 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
207 reviews
20.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
423 reviews
5.7 mi away
Chebeague Island Inn
Chebeague Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Chebeague Island
114 reviews
15.8 mi away
Inn by the Sea
Inn by the Sea
#1 of 1 in Cape Elizabeth
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn and Cottages

Property: Driftwood Inn and Cottages
Address: Bailey Island, ME 04003
Location: United States > Maine > Bailey Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bailey Island
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old style cottages and rooms located on Bailey Island, Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Cottages Hotel Bailey Island
Driftwood Inn And Cottages Bailey Island, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing