We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and respectful”

Port Hudson National Cemetery
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Zachary
Attraction details
On the Road!
Level Contributor
218 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Peaceful and respectful”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A well done memorial; to our fallen hero's of the past. A bit off the highway but bone chilling cool to be in their prescence.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowhider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Allen, LA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the Port Hudosn Nat. Cemetery”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

a beautiful place of remembrance for those that have "given their all" for our country - dating back to the Civil War - a short distance north of Baton Rouge, LA

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great information”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is loaded with war memorabilia! You must go and check this place out. If you have kids in scouts - take them as a group. You will have a blast, literally.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Mini Vacation on Baton Rouge La”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are here in Zachary La, visiting from Houston. Want to start our mini vacation by paying our respects to the falling Heroes here in Port Hudson Veterans Cemetery… This nation is full of heroes that have fallen by protecting this country; we honor them for paying the ultimate sacrifice. Thank you so much for your service you will be forever in our prayers and never forgotten

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice piece of history in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We stopped by the Port Hudson National Cemetery as we had known that it had some of the original confederate earthworks of the fortification of Port Hudson. This was established in 1866. The remains of many of the Union soldiers that fell in the battle were buried there. It is an active Military Cemetery with about 300 burials per year. We picked up a brochure there that gave a detailed account of the battle. We were unable to turn the motorhome with tow around in the parking lot but got permission to go into the service area to turn around. We then went to the Port Hudson State Historic Site a few miles North The address being 236 Hwy 61 Jackson, LA.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyDoesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Hudson National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Port Hudson National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing