We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrygarth Inn

Wrygarth Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Winner of the Chairmans Award for Small Business 2013A founder member of the East Riding Local Food Network, we specialise in serving locally reared / grown food. Unlike major food chains we know that our beef is beef and were it was reared. our carvery runs *every lunch time and all day Sunday, our prime steak menu runs *every lunch and evening We serve local cask beer from micro breweries such as Wold Top & Gt Newsham, and have an extensive wine list, most of which we serve by the glass. We are family friendly having both a crazy golf course which is open eight months of the year and a childrens play area which is designed for our younger guests. We are proud supporters of Prince Charles's "The Pub is the Hub" scheme and were featured on Look North, We have a village store which is open during pub hours. We have a Five star scores on the doors rating for food Hygiene, we are finalists in the Best pub in Hull and East Riding for the second year running, and have been finalists in the East Yorkshire Chairmans award in 2012 & 2011 and winner in 2013 *Opening times 12 - 2pm, 5 - 9pm Wed, Thur, Fri, open all day Sat & Sun.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Pleasant surroundings and helpful service. Enjoyed the carvery, greatly improvred from their early days when the vegetable were limited to peas and sweetcorn.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ogamfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accistanley, Owner at Wrygarth Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, times have changed from the early days, we now do the carvery at lunch time and all day Sunday rather than all day every day, this helps us keep the carvery fresher, we now also only use beef on our carvery from Voases Butchers in Preston, who sources it mainly from Aldborough and surrounding areas. I feel our staff are better trained as we have now trained our chefs the way we want the to cook. Thank you again and hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    62
    13
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bridlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a refreshing change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visiting area on a sunday what a lovely welcome, what can i say from start to finish, good service and lovely food, please visit you wont be dissapointed will be back soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilawalls57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accistanley, Owner at Wrygarth Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review the Wrygarth Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Probably the best food i've ever tasted...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Last minute trip out and we will be back! I had the goat cheese salad for a starter which was amazing with my partner having the local duck breast (which also had no complaints!!) We both had the slowly braised lamb which was to die for, a high contender for the best thing ever tasted, would higly recommend. All staff were welcoming, there was a lively atmosphere as the restaurant had quite a few in (a good sight) would highly recommend to anyone looking for a good night out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy635677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accistanley, Owner at Wrygarth Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
I am please that you enjoyed your meal and I look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service, gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a little gem, it doesn't look much from the outside so a little dubious when we got there, but we were given a recommendation. Inside was lovely, very friendly staff and lovely decor. Clean and cosy. We went for dinner around 5pm on a Sunday and it was very quiet at this time but soon filled up. We all had the carvery. YumYum. A choice of beef, gammon and turkey plus a massive freshly made Yorkshire pud and oodles of veg. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We stuffed up faces and couldn't fit in one of the homemade desserts. BUT - they do a takeaway option so we had our desert back at the caravan! Gorgeous! Nom nom nom. We'll be back next year that's for sure! :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accistanley, Owner at Wrygarth Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we are pleased you tried us, you may be pleased to learn that we are in the process of refurbishing the front, we stared painting on Monday.
Great minds think alike
best wishes
Wrygarth inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“meal out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great meal service good and food good price reflex standard the 4 of us enjoyed the meal we choose 3 rump steaks which were foojed jyst right and veg and home made chips exelent vegaterian meal was hot and very tasty

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
accistanley, Owner at Wrygarth Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Wrygarth, we are pleased you enjoyed it, our menu will be changing soon so I hope you will return soon
best wishes
Wrygarth inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrygarth Inn also viewed

Withernwick, Hornsea
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Wrygarth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing