We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need and more! 100% recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Queensferry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Lodge Guest House
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed at Priory Lodge for one night to attend a family wedding. Trip Advisor's reports were glowing so I was confident I'd found comfortable accomodation and, by the sounds of things, could expect an excellent breakfast.
Priory Lodge easily matched our expectations. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Everything you could possibly need was provided, from a corkscrew to an ironing board. We chose our breakfast for the next morning from the most comprehensive menu I have seen and were given keys so we could come and go as we pleased. Our room faced the road but there was very little traffic during the night and we slept like logs! We didn't hear any noise from other guests either. In fact, it was so quiet I thought we were the only ones staying.
Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was to die for. It was the first time I had tasted porridge with whisky liqueur which could be 'habit-forming' but maybe not on a weekday or I'd be in trouble with my boss! I also had never tried bacon with pancakes and maple syrup before either and I loved that too! My partner had the traditional Scottish fry up and cleaned the plate. Neither of us had room for toast.
The owners couldn't have been more helpful. Even after we were home and my beloved thought he'd left his favourite slippers, Calmyn went to double check and emailed me back to say they weren't in the room. I should have known to look round the house myself as there they were, tucked in behind his chair!
Priory Lodge is first class......don't hesitate aboout booking as you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Priory Lodge Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2009

This hotel is a lovely stay if you want some where quiet and near the capital.
It has a lovely breakfast menu and posh rooms. The owners were very kind
and helpful. It is in a very handy location just under the Forth road and rail
bridge. A great stay in a brilliant location, just a 10 minute drive from Edinburgh
castle!!!

Stayed: September 2006
Thank Rozza-118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We both enjoyed the warmth of this B & B .....we highly recommend Priory lodge .....pretty decor, friendly owner, clean, good breakfast, parking off street (a plus for us) ...best night in Edinburgh ...close to City but far enough away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Calmyn's hospitality contributed to our incredible holiday in Scotland. She was well organized in her dealings with visitors and the B & B accommodations were very pleasant. We already miss her delicious smoked salmon and homemade pancakes for breakfast. We found the Queensferry location convenient for daily trips to Edinburgh yet away from the busy urban centre.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SharonandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Priory Lodge on 11-12 August 2009, on a visit to Edinburgh for the Tattoo. We considered the cost of accommodation in E'burgh ( it was also Festival time ) to be prohibitive and, thankfully, an Internet search identified the Priory Lodge in South Queensferry, a short bus/train journey from E'burgh centre. Everything was perfect, with some nice touches ( eg. CD player ) not normally found in B&Bs or hotels where we have stayed. The bedroom was very comfortable and the variety and quality of breakfast was terrific. Gordon and Camlyn were very helpful with information about going/coming from E'burgh and the bus stop was just outside the door. The town of South Q'ferry itself was very nice, of historical interest and had lots of choice for meals/refreshments.

All in all, this was great value for money and would be our first choice on any return visit to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgewdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We went over for the Tattoo and if we had booked accomodation early in the year we would not have found this gem of a guesthouse. Sth Queensferry is a lovely place and can be very relaxing after the bustle of the city. Priory Lodge is superb. The room was great with a 4-poster bed and things like cd player, umbrella and sewing kit all provided. The tv was at eye-level too!! Breakfast was delicious with a variety of things to chose from. Transport to the city was easy with the bus stop outside the gate. Calmyn and Gordon are lovely, friendly people and we would recommend Priory lodge to anyone heading to the Edinburgh area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storeman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

The Priory Lodge is a gem amongst bed and breakfast places; the hosts are professional, friendly and very helpful with local information and advice about the region.
We have stayed there many times and will continue to do so.. the rooms are lovely with all thinkable amenities.. hairdryer, iron and ironing board, umbrella, fridge, clothesbrush, CD player, emergency kit, toiletries,you name it.. they have thought of it! For people who haven't brought their computers with them, there is a computer available. Likewise, if guests wish to use the kitchen, they may do so.

The location in the village of South Queensferry does not have seaviews but this should in no way deter people from staying there; the historic village is literally 1 minute away and Edinburgh airport is a 10minute drive. The centre of Edinburgh can be reached by train or by car within 20 minutes, St Andrews is only 35 minutes away.. how more central can you get?

The breakfast selection is extensive and it all tastes marvellous, particularly the full Scottish Breakfast with black pudding.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Priory Lodge and its hosts, Calmyn and Gordon Lamb.
http://www.queensferry.com/

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kastrup2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,960 reviews
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
665 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
24 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Lodge Guest House

Address: 8 The Loan, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing