We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic views and apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the double bedroom of 'Crawsteps'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the double bedroom of 'Crawsteps'
The building as seen from the harbour Our 17th Century B listed building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View from the double bedroom of 'Crawsteps'
The building as seen from the harbour
Our 17th Century B listed building
The town in festive mood
Ceilidh on the cobbles beneath Crawsteps!
The High Street with our distinctive building
Just a short walk from Crawsteps and the world famous Forth Rail Bridge is framed by summer foliage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The well-equipped kitchen
Sash and case windows throughout with every window offering a great view
Dining for eight in the bright dining area
Living Room with high, elegant ceilings
The sofa bed sleeps 2 in comfort next to the log fire
All fuel provided for the multi-fuel stove
Living Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom with wall to wall wardrobes
The Twin Bedroom
A king-sized bed in the double bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
You don't need to leave your faithful friend at home, all breeds welcome! This is our dog, Archie
The floor plan to give you an idea of the spaciousness of the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
South Queensferry, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mark D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic views and apartment”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Fantastic views from apartment of the forth bridges.large,hot bath,faultless WiFi,massive kitchen and comfortable beds.x box and dads kept the kids happy.Carole,the owner is lovely and shows that she really cares from the moment you book.only difficulty was trying to park next to the apartment but usually there was safe parking only 5 minutes away.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcoming apartment.
Liked least: trying to find a parking space.think the deposit is due 1 week after returning andit has only been 8 days so expecting it tmw.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great February break. Thank you for writing up your itinerary in the Visitors' book, it will be an inspiring read for future guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAB
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Christmas 2014”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had a lovely stay here for Christmas 2014. Flat is clean, very well equipped, superb location. Owners do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Date of stay: December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2014
Thank you for your generous review. We're glad you appreciated the Christmas tree and the festive feel of the flat. Queensferry is a wonderful place to be at this time of tear.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHF2
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutley Ideal - would def recommend and stay again.”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Perfectly situated for accessing Edinburgh, Glasgow and Fife, immaculately clean, catered for everything we needed and excellent, incredibly helpful, owners.

Thank you both for everything, it really couldn't have been better.

With best wishes from Alison and tribe.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you to stay for the week. Thank you for doing so much to tidy up at the end of your stay, it really wasn't necessary, but nevertheless was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed getting to know you and the interesting lives you all lead. That's part of this job that I really love. Hope to meet again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankaz20...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Magnificent”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Crawsteps the first week of September 2014 and, by chance, were in Queensferry for the Forth Bridge Festival. It was lovely and we didn't want to leave at all. The flat is lovingly decorated and furnished and Carole gave us the warmest welcome we've ever had at a holiday let. The views out of every window are stunning. The three rooms at the front of the building all look out over the Forth Bridges, at the back (kitchen/diner) there's a hillside terrace, a church, some stunning gardens and so much more to see. The kitchen/diner was almost instantly our favorite place to be in the flat.
All the rooms are large with high ceilings and lots of storage space, the beds and Sofas are comfortable. The neighbours are friendly and unintrusive.
The Crawsteps Holiday Flat is a 5 Star experience.
Trip advice:
For grocery shopping stick to the Scot-Mid, it's in walking distance and everything is good quality (the other place was quite below the standard of its chain at the time of our stay).
For dining out listen to Carole's advice.
Set at least one day of your trip aside to enjoy Queensferry and the flat.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Tesco
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2014
Thank you for this most useful and informative review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the flat and Queensferry so much and hope to meet again one day in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masumi-on...
Mishima, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greatly appreciate”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed at this lovely flat with my sons as if we were at home. The views and the wind from the windows made us calm and refresh. We had soaked ourselves into fragrant form at the nicest bath room. The kitchen was perfect for me that I could cook anything we want. The DVDs and the fireplace made night time happy. Carole helped our stay like a friend with kindness warmly. I thank you heartily.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
I am so pleased you felt so at home in the flat and hope to be able to welcome you the next time you come to Edinburgh with the boys. Thank you for your kind comments, much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Csaba_121...
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Nice flat and surrounding, very helpful owner.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Comfortable beds, very well equipped kitchen, lots of toys/games for the family. Excellent location.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mattresses, dinig room
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay, we were very pleased to welcome you and are glad you had such a positive time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckman360
Winchester, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, relaxing, beautiful”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Crawsteps in beautiful South Queensferry exceeded our expectations. My partner and I and our mothers spent five nights there. The photos do not do the property justice - it's just too hard to capture high ceilings and the many windows that give the flat an airy feel. The views of the Forth bridge are simply spectacular. It was also great fun for us to play along the shore as the tides went in an out. The flat is right on high street, but traffic noise was never a problem for us, even with windows ajar to let in breeze off the Forth.
The flat is very well equipped with everything you'll need for a week of self catering. We especially liked the large dining table, great furnishings and comfy beds.
There is excellent co-op grocery store less than few hundred yards away - a 5 minute walk. If you have a car, there is also Tesco superstore just on edge of town, but we never needed to go there because co-op met all our needs. We completely relied on public transport for the visit. Stagecoach is main bus company right now connecting Queensferry to Edinburgh (routes 40 and 40A), but I saw announcement that Lothian will also soon bring back its service. We enjoyed the bus ride into town and picked it over train since the stop is right next to co-op store. Dalmeny train station is bit more of a walk - probably about half mile, so we stuck with bus service. Dayrider bus ticket is just 5 pounds on Stagecoach and only 18 pounds for 7 days. Great way to reach Edinburgh.
The owners went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. They were also very prompt in answering all my questions via email before I booked. I visit the UK form the U.S. at least once or twice a year and frequently choose self catering over hotels. This is one of best experiences I've had - can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and great location in quiet town with easy access to edinburgh.
Liked least: One bath, four women, but we knew that beforehand so no right to complain:)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review, I think you have managed to encapsulate perfectly the ambience of our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing