We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

There was nothing wrong with our room just a little bit tired. This was an old inn with lots of character but has now been transformed into a chain type of restaurant which is a pity as it has lost all of its charm. The restaurant area is showing signs of wear. Breakfast lacks choice of meat/cheese which I would expect for a continental breakfast. Pleasant staff particularly the breakfast waitress.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool!! Sorry can't remove my review of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chace5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 308 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We chose this hotel as our base during an overnight trip to see friends in South Queensferry, having been attracted by the low price of the winter package advertised on the website. We weren't sure what to expect due to the mixed reviews but our overall experience was very positive - check-in was smooth, our room was spotless and we had a fantastic view of the bridges. We didn't dine here at night, however the cooked breakfast was fine (though only one server and the girl was clearly rushed off her feet). Throughout our stay, though, we found the staff both friendly and accommodating. Overall, very happy for the money we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrawfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had stayed here many years ago when the food was phenomenal - sadly the food was below par. In particular the breakfast did not offer cheese/cold meats. View lovely and staff friendly. Looks a bit tired in places. Price about right.
John

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEMURPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were on the way to Aberdeen for the weekend and broke our journey to see the Inn which is alleged to be the inspiration for the Inn in Kidnapped we had a large room with a separate sitting room and good bathroom although the Forth Rail Bridge is above the in the trains did not spoil our stay they don't run in the night the complimentary Continental breakfast was good all in all a worthwhile break PS the Hawes Inn food is OK but average

Room Tip: Room 14 overlooks the rear car park but the view is not unpleasant and the room is large and ticked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

To be honest after reading reviews, my family and i had great rservations about staying here. This was shattered by a fabulous stay with a room to be complemented by the money we paid, and the food yet again to be really really good and the service we had from both keith in the evening and lee at breakfast was 2nd to none... There was nothing to complain about, their hospitality was fantastic

Room Tip: rooms 1 and 2 were great. maybe the bathrooms will need tlc before long but that is the only reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Hawes Inn a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First impressions from outside.....nice, in a good location just along the road from the old village, directly under the railway bridge.
Check in was fine, I was allocated room 2
Room 2, back out of the bar front door and turn left, a separate door further down the building is used for accessing rooms 1 and 2.
Once inside the room it was not a bad size with a great view out of the window, one table lamp had a broken shade,a few minor paint scuffs on the walls and ceiling, I would say you could tell it was a "lived in" hotel room.
The bed was comfortable though and the flat screen TV was not a bad size.
Not impressed with the bathroom, I do not like to see white grouting which is brown in places and black lower down, a bit bleach would sort it, the shower was hot enough though, also the sink could do with resealing to the tiles behind it, lots of gaps which are a breeding ground for germs,
The restaurant bar....first night went to the bar got served straight away and sat at a table, within a coupe of minutes the waiter came over and asked if I wanted to order which I did(only a main course and another drink though) he took my order and my food appeared about 10 minutes later which was a pie in a small dish which had been severly overcooked which left the crust virtually impossible to get through with a knife when the waiter came back to enquire if everything was OK I complained and the food was taken back to the kitchen and a new plate of food arrived after another few minutes this was cooked better but the pie filling was not to my liking after all this so most of it was left.
The second night took at least five minutes to get served at the bar as there was only 1 staff member behind the bar, I got a drink and sat at the same table as the previous evening but I must have had my "invisibility cloak" on as the waiter who was working this evening just kept walking past my table, after about 20 minutes I caught his attention and asked if I could order some food, his reply "yeah you order at the bar"????
Off I trouped to the bar to order my food.....food arrived, poor meal again.
In summary, would I stay here again, No

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anon186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel (?)(which appears to have retained it's legacy as The Hawes Inn) is situated almost squarely beneath the Forth Rail Bridge. So, as you'd expect, the sound of passing trains can be heard from bedrooms. Thankfully, the trains aren't too frequent neither do they run into "the wee sma' hours). Unless you like trailing luggage around, you'll find the journey between the car park and Reception a bit convoluted and we hoped that we didn't have go all the way back to access a room at the rear after check-in. As it happened we (2) had room 12, a large family room with which we were very happy. Reception/Bar staff were helpful and friendly on what was admittedly very quiet Monday evening. The continental breakfast included was adequate, although you can upgrade at a cost if you wish.

Room Tip: Whilst a train journey to eg Edinburgh from the nearest railway station (Dalmeny) is an attractive p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crichtocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at The Hawes Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,057 reviews
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
518 reviews
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
939 reviews
Acer Lodge Guest House
#54 of 394 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Corstorphine
Innkeepers Lodge Edinburgh Corstorphine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range: $85 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing