We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm night in Scotland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Stayed here to go to a concert in Edinburgh. South Queensferry itself is a beautiful lttle place and would have no hesitation in recommending the town. The weather was warm (in Scotland!) and the heating in the hotel was on so windows open to get some air and there was the constant traffic and train noise throughout the night - so very little sleep. The breakfast is not worth bothering with and there is no real reception so you have to queue at the bar to book in.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MirrenGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2008

We went to the Hawes Inn in March and it was great. The rooms were lovely and very traditional looking.

The pub itself was very good and had a nice atmosphere. In terms of location you cant get much better, the train station is a 5 minute walk away and there are regular, cheap trains to Edinburgh.

The views across the river are great and there are many nice walks you can go on around the area.

The only downside is you are very close to the Forth Rail Bridge and you can sometimes hear the trains going past. However we can honestly say this did not bother us at all while we were there.

Overall this B&B was great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to go to Edinburgh but not be in the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrAndMrsMonkey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2008

The service and the food was fantastic, as we went as a family the only thing that let us down was no baby changing facilities, we did mention at the time to the manager and they said that they had no intention of getting this done, which is quite dissapointing really.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank daviddvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Magnificent setting! Stayed here before and it was just as warm and comfortable as the last time. Lots of real historic character. Rooms small but well equipped and cosy. Staff friendly and helpful. Good food and beer. Not a long drive to Edinburgh but there is also a train connection (steep climb to station) We will be back, soon I hope!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jimboMontreuilSurMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My husband & i have just returned from a 3 night break at The Hawes Inn & oh how we wish we were back there! The location of the inn is magnificent set right at the foot of the world famous Forth rail bridge. A pleasant 5-10min walk from the village high street.There is an ample car park to the rear( a bonus in Queensferry!) although it did get very very busy at sunday lunchtime.
As soon as you arrive in Queensferry it,s like stepping back in time & when you enter the Hawes Inn it just compounds the feeling.Over 200yr old,low ceilings,thick stone walls,nooks & crannies everywhere. Low lighting & cosy open fires. If you want a dreamy, relaxed place to stay,look no further.
We were welcomed by a very friendly girl who was more than happy to store our bags (at 9.30am) & check us in readiness for a still early check in @ 2pm. She happily gave us directions to the train station & off we went.
10mins later we were on a very plush train to Edinburgh & 20mins later we were in Princes St in the heart of the Royal Mile.

On our return to the inn the same member of staff greeted us like old friends & handed us the key to our room. No.10-The Firth Of Forth. She said it was their nicest room & even rumoured to be haunted! The room was amazing! Huge with 3 bay windows Two which overlooked the bridges and the pier and Firth Of Forth itself. The third looked out to the bridge & beer garden at the rear. There was a small tv. tea &coffe making facilities. Internet. Large comfy armchair. Large fireplace. Just Gorgeous. Bathroom smallish but adequate with shower only, no bath.
The room was spotlesssly clean & the maids came every day. The only blight was a mouldy shower ceiling but we still loved it!

The food here is superb with an extensive lunch & evening menu for excellent prices. You find a table,order at the bar & they give you a painted wooden spoon with your table no. on. Sit,relax & the rest is done for you. We ate here 4 times in 3 days!!
Staff are all lovely. Congratulations to them all.

We booked through the innkeepers lodge website. £130,stay Friday,Saturday& Sunday free. Inc continental breakfast. Amazing.

No bumps in the night but did have lights flickering off & on at odd times! ( perhaps the overhead trains) Be aware it,s noisy from the rumbling of the trains but we found it part of the charm of Queensferry.

Queensferry (sth not nth) is about 7miles out of Edinburgh & is a really quaint village with plenty of historical buildings in & around it. The Forth road bridge is as amazing as the rail bridge.

The Ferry Tap pub on high street good for a pint & the footy.
Shops fairly non existent-go to edinburgh for that.
Go to Queensferry & The Hawes Inn to soak up the atmosphere,eat &drink well & completely get away from it all.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank specgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

My husband, two teenage daughters and myself stayed at this location for three nights and we loved it!! Hawes Inn has been an active pub/hotel for over 400 years and is mentioned in R.L. Stevenson's book "Kidnapped." The ambience is incredible and the food in the pub/restaurant was very good.

South Queensferry is located just to the northwest of Edinburgh, right between the two bridges over the Forth River. A charming town in itself, the Hawes Inn is just a short walk from the town
to the east. The Inn is located just across the road from the river and a short uphill walk to the railroad station provides you with easy access to Edinburgh.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and well decorated. Tea service was provided in the room and a continental breakfast was set out each morning in the main floor pub. The pub/restaurant was very popular with more than just hotel guests every day/night we were there, and with good reason - the food and atmosphere were great!

The only caution I would note: the hotel is located right below railroad tracks with a train that runs frequently between 6 am and midnight. We slept with our windows open though and were never disturbed by the rumble of the train. Also recommended: read the Kidnapped book (in our room it was provided in one of the desk drawers). Check this one out - we loved it!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank olycomrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BeatriceR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawesInnVI, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
676 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh -...
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
25 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range: $82 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing