We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the loveliest places we ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest places we ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a fantastic experince in the Innkeeper's Lodge. We stayed two nights and the views were amazing, as others have noted.

We were a bit wary though, after reading some less favourable reviews, and as we arrived we were slightly apprehensive, which was a mistake. The check-in was smooth and courteous, the welcome was warm. The room was stunning, beautifully laid out with amazing views. Our evening meal was excellent, served efficiently by a very cheerful waitress. Breakfast? Well the food was very good, and the breakfast host, Leigh, is a treasure.

We were in the room closest to the railway, and I am a very light sleeper, but the trains were no problem. The presence of the bridge adds to, rather than detracting from, the whole experience - and, no, we aren't trainspotters.

Can't fault the place at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Multicoloursocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Hawes Inn, South Queensferry on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    97
    45
    29
    11
See reviews for
72
142
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited on the recent Ferry Fair weekend. Admittedly the place was busy but I think we got the smallest and dirtiest room in a very old and run down establishment.
Arriving at 8.30pm we had to fight our way through the busy bar to the "check-in" at the end of the bar - and pay on arrival. With hindsight I suspect this is so that you can't dispute the charge on departure!!!
We were allocated room 9 which was very small - not at all like the photos on the website. The carpet looked like it hadn't been hoovered and the maid obviously doesn't have a duster (or doesn't know how to use it). The shade on the bedside lamp was an absolute disgrace - dusty, stained and (almost) held together with sellotape!
The view from the window WAS beautiful but spoiled by dead flies on the window ledge.
The hotels states that all rooms have en-suite bathrooms - not this room it only had a walk-in shower.
Breakfast was another disappointment - we paid for a full cooked breakfast which included poor quality streaky bacon - not what you would expect in Scotland for the price charged!
There was only one person serving at breakfast and she complained both mornings about being stressed because they were so busy - made us feel that we had come down for breakfast at an inconvenient time for her!
This was an expensive weekend away at £255.80 for 2 nights and certainly not value for money.
In my opinion stunning views over the Forth DON'T compensate for poor quality accommodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The woman in charge of the breakfast was a delightful woman who provided a great spread of food and was friendly and professional. The location and overall charm and beauty of the place was wonderful.
When I checked into our room I soon looked out the blankets as it was quite a cold day. As I opened the blanket I was disturbed to see the single thin poor quality blanket was covered with grey hairs (not mine) and much to my disgust had a large amount of dried bodily fluid on it. I went downstairs and brought it to the attention of the woman in charge who told me she had no extra blankets. I politely expressed my displeasure and she eventually did bring us more blankets.
The only table lamp in the room was like something pulled out of a bin and mended with tape.
The mirror and picture frames in the room were brushed metal of some sort and totally unsuited to what should have been "vintage" decorating.
When I settled in to use the free wifi I was informed that in order to access the advertised free wifi I would have to provide a UK phone number. As travellers from out of country I could not do that, as I would assume is an issue for many people who are staying at an inn. So....no wifi.
In general this was somewhere with great potential but showing obvious signs of a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We were sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit, and we really appreciate the feedback you have given us.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lovely setting. Staff most helpful and polite. Leigh who supervised breakfast was a gem. Rooms big and comfortable. Thought the trains over the bridge would wake us up early but they were no problem Restauant for the evening meal was good value

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siamese10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback after visiting Innkeeper's Lodge.
Kind regards
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed one night for a family reunion. Beautiful setting under the Forth Bridge (don’t forget the trains are quite noisy), but that is all it has going for it. It is appallingly run.
We could not get into our room after checking in because the lock was faulty. They had to force it open. The room was uninspiring and old fashioned and the bathroom very basic. No bath. For some reason the lights in the room came on by themselves at 08:30 in the morning. We had a family dinner and it was awful. There were no starters available, no salads available, and when the main courses arrived they were randomly timed and some were the wrong order. Food quality was unispiring. The staff worked very hard but were unprepared even though they knew we were coming. At breakfast one of us asked for boiled eggs and were told “we don’t do boiled eggs because we have no egg cups”.

It was so bad it turned into a bit of a laugh but truthfully at £120 a night B&B this wasn’t really funny.

It is a shame because this place could be so good, given its amazing location. I wonder why they allow it to be managed in such a poor way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desktopfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orkney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here. Spectacular views, food delicious, waitresses lovely and friendly . You have to pay on arrival which was strange and we stayed in room 14 which was clean but could really do with being updated very old fashioned . The noise however from the trains above were dreadful , they stopped one night at 12.18 am and then started again at 4.56 am. A shame as everything else was super but would not stay again because of noise. Also i think it was a bit overpriced for a self service breakfast, cooked breakfast should definately be included in price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very poor - clearly understaffed - kitchen was not coping with the volume of food heading out.
Servers were expected to do too much in the restaurant - they were run off their feet! BUT the serving staff were doing what they could and were doing their best - they were very good.

As for the food - really not great. Two medium steaks clearly well done - obvious before even cutting into it! Two well done steaks - well I am sure you can guess - dry as a bone!

The only reason we did not send them back was the very long wait to get them in the first place and the 30 minutes it took a neighboring table to get a replacement salad when they sent it back!

So overall -
Service - were trying very hard in a clearly difficult situation - our server was very good.
Food - very poor, long wait, mixed up order in kitchen, poor standard of presentation - no kitchen should be sending out an obviously overcooked steak

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dek-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.8 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Edinburgh Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry
Address: 7 Newhalls Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels in and around Edinburgh can match this lodge for its views or place in literary history. Many of its 14 cosy rooms look out over the iconic Forth Road Bridge and the Firth of the Forth estuary, and it's said that legendary author Robert Louis Stevenson wrote part of his famous novel Kidnapped here - there's even a mention of The Hawes Inn in the book. Just 10 miles from the city centre, the South Queensferry lodge is an ideal base for visiting Scotland's historic capital, where you can explore Edinburgh Castle, the shops of the Royal Mile or the city's many museums and restaurants.Also perfect for golfers, it's within striking distance of Carnoustie and St Andrew's and close to the birthplace of golf at the East Neuk of Fife. The Tudor Gothic Dalmeny House and Georgian Hopetoun House are also well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Edinburgh, South Queensferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawes Inn Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge South Queensferry Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing