We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Dakota Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dakota Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Dakota Hotel for two nights in the Executive Suite. The foyer and bar area was very welcoming and luxurious, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our dinner and breakfast was first class. The hotel was classy and smart, the decor was modern and sophisticated. Complete luxury from the moment we arrived! We will most definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,576 - 1,582 of 2,016 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

After travelling from Manchester for a friends wedding...M6 closed after accident and diverting across country we eventually arrived at The Dacota South Queensferry.We were 10mins late after last orders for dinner,the reception staff were great and allowed us to order food and a much welcome drink to be served in our room. Not a lot to ask you may think but!!! Great service... With a smile,excellent food and a much welcome chilled bottle of wine.The room was fabulous and very clean and modern.
I give this hotel 100% for friendliness,service and great food.
Cannot comment on the Spa because we never had time to try.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary after booking a dinner bed & breakfast package online. The location was not an issue as we had planned to arrive late afternoon and enjoy the hotel. the service and staff were excellent. The hotel decor is gorgeous, and our meal was excellent. It's a real shame none of the rooms have baths, which we found surprising. Also no bath robes,a small detail but thought it was unusual for a hotel of this standard. The reason we were left disappointed though was the package, as it turned out that dinner equaled £20 per person. Not only did it turn out to be no better value to book the package, but it's also very limited options if you want to stay within that limit for 2 courses never mind 3. We ended up spending more than double plus drinks. What we thought was a great deal turned out to be very expensive, and their website should make it clearer. Feel the hotel is maybe too business focused and doesn't offer good value for leisure/romantic breaks.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Friendy staff, great food, dinner and breakfast, rooms smart and good value. Conference facilities ideal too. Will certainly be back and would recommend to friends and colleagues. Location suited for business travellers, with airport and motorway links.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mc64travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Really good hotel with fantastic quality. Fair value for money in restaurant and bars. Great atmosphere however a little out from the main city centre. Local bars in south queens ferry very friendly...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madandy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Positives: Clean, modern hotel. Bar, and food really nice. Nice sized room with all mod cons.

Negatives: Hardly any at all this is just me being very very picky. No bath, gym is tiny and rooms are very hot (you can use air con which is a little noisy)

Would stay again for sure, only reason i put 4 star and not 5 was just because it didnt tick every single box. But this is a great hotel and shouldnt hesitate to book

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GormleySean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I booked this hotel for 10 guests for a client trip to Scotland for the Edinburgh Tattoo and from beginning to end the service was first class.

Not only were they helpful and pleasant but the lady I asked to look into a cab for me actually went out of her way to get a price for a minibus for the evening as she knew transport would be difficult later on. This made things so much easier on the day!

According to my boss and all our guests the hotel was spotless, charming and every person there they dealt with was incredibly professional - they literally found the place to be faultless.

I shall be booking it every time we need accommodation in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkbumpkin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#93 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#36 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Edinburgh

Address: Ferrymuir Retail Park, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range: $102 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Edinburgh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dakota Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Forth Bridge Edinburgh
Dakota Forth Bridge Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing