We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of Re-decoration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of Re-decoration”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent two nights here as part of a touring holiday. The welcome was warm and friendly and the location was very handy for South Queensferry, the bars, restaurants and the Bridges, a 20 mins walk or a £3Taxi ride away. There was also easy access to the restaurant next door, a local Macdonalds and a garage. Having said that, the hotel itself, especially the interior, was tired looking and much in need of sound proofing and re-decoration. The rooms, though providing the usual Premier Inn facilities, looked tired and jaded and the shower was also on it's last legs. There was also a lot of traffic noise outside. Not one of the better Premier Inns that we have encountered.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoohooWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    156
    40
    15
    8
See reviews for
165
163
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our last night on Scottish weekend for family of 5 adults. Booked and paid for three rooms in advance. Well impressed with price deal.
All very happy and convenient for airport and city centre the night before.
You know what you get with Premier Inn and this was no exception.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear BruceMango

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

The team and I would like to thank you for your kind words and I agree that our Advance Saver Rates are excellent value.

Yours Sincerely

Jacqui Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed at the Premier Inn at South Queensferry last week and had the worst experience ever!!! Unfortunately for the hotel they had workmen staying who clearly couldn't handle their drink. They were fighting, arguing, shouting banging on doors from around 11.30pm right through to 01.45am total nightmare. There was no contact details in the room for reception or the managers details which are provided as standard within the 'Goodnight Guarentee' packs in the rooms, no NOT this hotel and there was no way I was stepping out into the corridor to go down stairs with what was going on in the corridor!!! Next morning from 5.30am - 6.45am one of the guys decided he would be knocking on the doors of his workmates ever 15mins to make sure they were going to be ready on time. Not best pleased I got up and got ready well before the time I needed to packed my stuff and went to reception, explained what had gone on and said it was totally unacceptable. The receptionist would get the manager to call me. Which he did, I expressed my disappointment and he was going to send me an email with details on getting a stay for free as the refund was no good going back to the company it was myself who was inconvenienced!!! He has my contact number and email address yet received NOTHING!!! Goodnight guarentee or your money back definately NOT the case. Tried calling hotel left messages and nothing can't get an email address for the manager it's a joke never again!!! I will be taking this higher. Never in all the years of staying with Premier Inn have I had an issue there again I have NEVER had to complain before just goes to show they don't always provide what it says on the tin :-(

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kduncan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear KDuncan

Thank you for your review of your stay here at Premier Inn Edinburgh South Queensferry.

I am extremely disappointed to read that you did not have the experience our usual standard on this occasion.

I unfortunately, do not have any details to contact you directly and I would ask if you can contact us on 0871 527 8364 or email me at pitl.edinburghsouthqueensferry@premierinn.com.

Yours Sincerely

Jacqueline Scally
Premier Inn Team Leader
Premier Inn edinburgh South Queensferry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

An excellent stay with good service and well fed! All very clean and smiles on everybody's faces. Stagecoach bus timetable for 40/40A is incorrect for Sundays! Good springboard for airport and Highlands.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 446ATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
The team here are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at Premier Inn South Queensferry. We will contact stagecoach, pass on your feedback and get the most up to date time table from them

We hope to see you all back to visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've stayed a many Premier Inn's and I found this one to be quite tired looking up on entry but all in all one of the goods ones available.

Although situated on the Fourth Road Bridge, it's in a nice and quiet location. The staff are friendly and helpful and rooms very clean.

We ate Dinner in the Restaurant and also had Breakfast the following morning. I have 2 complaints with Breakfast, the "new" sausages are vile, go back to the old ones and there was no Haggis available. I was told it's because it's an English company that owns them, shame on that English company, you're trading in Scotland and should offer Scottish produce (no wonder this country is looking for independence!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNatster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and thank you for the positive feedback on our team and cleanliness!
For the breakfast, it is true that breakfast is the same across all Premier Inn's, which is to deliver consistancy, meaning customers get the same experience wherever they stay.
However, I will pass on your feedback with regards to breakfast & our new sausage.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Room was immaculate, Very clean But the heating system in the room took too long to heat up the size of room. Staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a Mc donalds right outside the hotel and a tesco 5 minutes away.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Sott L,

We are glad to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the location!
However, we are sorry your room didnt heat up quick enough for you, next time you stay please ask for an extra heater if you encounter the same issue and we will be happy to help.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in november room was spotless.beds comfy.Really nice breakfast plenty to choose from.Premier inn does the job for £60 quid for two for a night in a hotel in edinburgh with free parking

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui S, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at Premier Inn South Queensferry and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

The South Queensferry team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Address: Queens Crossing Builyeon Road, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9YJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the picturesque town of South Queensferry, just minutes from the iconic Forth Road Bridge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing