We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical house with large greens”
Review of Hopetoun House

Hopetoun House
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.09*
and up
Outlander Palaces and Jacobites Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic building is known as "Scotland's finest stately home."
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical house with large greens”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Followed a nice driveway through the seaside, you well find the aristocratic house surrounded by lots of greens. I didn't have time to go around the house and gardens, since we were only there for the afternoon tea. But I will defiantly come back soon for a in-depth visit.

The tearoom is large, tidy and clean, although it was little too simple compere with the nice outlook of the building.

The order for afternoon tea close at 15:30, which didn't show when I booked my table from the official website. But there are few other options includes soup and sandwiches could be order from the main menu. Service staff was friendly.

Overall, a nice experience, and we well be back soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChunH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopetoun H, Public Relations Manager at Hopetoun House, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your visit. I'm so glad you enjoyed our Stables Team Room, we pride ourselves on our exceptional standards and attention to detail.

I hope you get a chance to join us next season to enjoy the house and grounds.

Kind Regards,

The Hopetoun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    100
    22
    9
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Interesting house to visit both from a historic and architecture viewpoint. The weather was excellent so we climbed to the rooftop and had great views over the Forth Bridges. Very informative guides and information in the rooms. Lovely walks around the estate and a great tea-room. This is not a National Trust of Scotland property but as an Art Fund member expected to get a discount but was told no. So I'd make sure you have your Art Fund book with you to challenge this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nanplusdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopetoun H, Public Relations Manager at Hopetoun House, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your day here at Hopetoun House. We have excellent guides who are full of interesting information about the house and family.

Hope you will join us again next season.

Kind Regards,

The Hopetoun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historical and interesting”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The house is very historical and is well worth a visit. The staff were extremely helping with my mum's mobility problems and we had a lovely day out there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopetoun H, Public Relations Manager at Hopetoun House, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write into us about your visit to Hopetoun. I am delighted to hear you and your Mum had a good time at Hopetoun House. We would love to see you here again soon.

Kind Regards,

The Hopetoun Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Overall an interesting visit, not the easiest venue to find as the road takes you through various residential areas and along the waterfront before you arrive at the imposing entrance gates. There is a need for more directional signage. We arrived by car and I think you would really need to go by car as there is no apparent public transport stops nearby.

The assistant who sold the tickets was polite and informative. Their retail offering in the ticket shed was poor and there didn't seem to be another gift shop onsite.

On entering the house the front hall assistant made us aware of the next guided tour and gave us a brief introduction to the house. She apologised for the lack of staff throughout the house and explained they were incredibly short staffed. She was the only member of staff who we had any interaction with and we didn't see any other staff on our wander through the house.

An interesting tour, the interpretation in the rooms was clear and concise. The rooftop viewing area was amazing and well worth the climb. We didn't have time to visit the tea room but it's setting looked pretty.

We did also visit the estate's farm shop which was nearby and had a good selection of products although it was rather pricey.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopetoun H, Public Relations Manager at Hopetoun House, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your day at Hopetoun and I apologies you didn't have the chance to experience Hopetoun with all the guides here, they really are very knowledgeable and great asset to the house. Unfortunately we currently don't have another gift shop other than whats at the kiosk but I will take this feedback on board and consider looking at something for next season.

Hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards,

Shauney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clay Pigeon shooting work event”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had an excellent day at the newly renovated clay pigeon shooting venue at Hopetoun House a couple of months ago. We were well looked after by the instructors on the day and can recommend the BBQ which everyone enjoyed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopetoun House also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hopetoun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing