We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SimDay at Hopetoun House”
Review of Hopetoun House

Hopetoun House
Book In Advance
More Info
$576.71*
and up
Private 'Outlander' Film Locations Day Trip from Edinburgh
More Info
$55.64*
and up
Outlander Palaces and Jacobites Tour from Edinburgh
More Info
$474.93*
and up
Private Outlander Day Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This historic building is known as "Scotland's finest stately home."
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Myself and seven shooting buddies plus young Harvey traveled south to Hopetoun House to shoot a simulated game day put together by Scottish shooting champion Stewart Cumming.We had an excellent day.. really well run with super targets for all to enjoy.
The food we had was very good with good service from the catering staff.
Thanks again Stewart to you and your staff for an enjoyable day .. We'll be back !!!!
jw & the boys ...

3  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 261 of 398 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a really enjoyable and interesting place to visit. It is all hands on, not just looking at items in glass cases and the staff are all very pleasant, knowledgable and helpfull. There is also a very nice restaurant on site. As the family live in the house you are seeing rooms that they actually use. How the other half live!!!!!!!!!!.
Hint:- Although there is a charge. there are a couple of free days a year(check their website)

Thank Fin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had nagged my husband to go here, and we had free entry on the Edinburgh pass so we thought why not. Although the road to the house is not exactly the best ( council estate with road works going on) as soon as you go through the gates, WOW!. As you approach the house, a small brow of a hill lets you experience the illusion of the house popping up at you, and yes its very impressive. Everybody there is so friendly, from the people in the ticket office to the room guides. I loved that the room guides were so passionate about the house, that makes a real difference to the visitor experience. The lady in the sitting room and dining room ( think her name was Lyn, but her grandson works on the Maid of Forth) was so very lovely, pointing out all the hidden bits around the room. As we were on a time limit we didnt get to do the grounds and parks, but we both said this was an excuse to go back next year. Beautiful family home where " if a door is open then please go through it", hardly any ropes or boundaries.

1  Thank hindes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I can't recommend this place highly enough, we have had our 5th afternoon tea. This was bought as a gift for us "champagne afternoon tea" really enjoyed it yet again. Give it a go if your visiting the area!

Thank RobD_AngieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went there on Sunday 28/7/13. What a rip-off!
The children's fair consisted of a 'hook a duck' (same rubbish 'prizes' whichever duck was chosen) and a broken down roundabout. If any of the advertised attractions were there (other than the horse trials and country sports), we didn't find them. If they had been cancelled because of the weather, there was no indication or reduction in entrance & car park fee.
My grandchild (age 9) said the best thing was the tractor shuttle from the car park to the house. We won't be back next year.

1  Thank Eric_EH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HopetounHouse, Public Relations Manager at Hopetoun House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the inaugural Gillespie Macandrew Hopetoun Town and Country Fair. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the event. We welcome and value all of your feedback and we will certainly take these on board when we are reviewing the event and planning for next year.

We made every effort to ensure that all of the planned events and activities did indeed go ahead as planned despite the weather; please accept our sincere apologies if we did not provide you with the right information on the day to help you find all of the activities on site.

I do hope that you will keep an eye on our website for updates on next year’s fair as we would love to welcome you back here to experience a truly enjoyable event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopetoun House also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hopetoun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing