We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good value, friendly and great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenous Beastie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ravenous Beastie
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good value, friendly and great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Very friendly welcome, helpful. My room was fine, comfy bed and i slept well. The breakfast was fantastic - home made pancakes with maple syrup. Very good value and I would definately return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eloise001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
15
23
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Truly magnificent! Excellent Staff, accomodation, food and location. Easy transport links, and excellent local shops in the area, with wonderful views of the Forth Bridges and boat trip too Incholm Island.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagpiper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie065, Trainee Manager at Ravenous Beastie, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Pamandneil.

Thank you very much for your feedback as it is greatly appreciated. I will pass your comments on to our staff so we can further strive to be the best we can. We greatly value your business and look forward to seeing you again.


Joseph Harte
Trainee Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Great reception even tho we arrived late. Room was more than we expected and the breakfast in the morning was exceptional. Two traditional breakfasts, toast, pancakes and bacon with maple syrup. Needless to say we left clean plates. We'll be back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

Dropped in here for a bite to eat at lunchtime on a Saturday. It is an attractive little place but unfortunately they've spent too much on signage and branding and less on training their staff how to run a cafe.

There were 2 people visible working in the kitchen and 4 teenage waiting staff. This place has enough room to serve maybe 15 people at a squeeze. We ordered two all day breakfasts, the people at the table next to us ordered two straightforward toasties and coffees. Our tea and coffee arrived, I immediately sent the coffee back as it was barely recognisable as coffee, tasted of hot water. 20 minutes passed, then one of the waitresses approached the people next to us to ask them again what it was they had ordered - they were understandably not best pleased. They repeated their order, two toasties, two coffees. She said "you'll not want milk", they said of course they wanted milk, she asked if they wanted lattes or cappucinos, they said no, plain coffee. This duly arrived and about 10 minutes later their toasties finally arrived. We were watching this to pass the time while our order was cooked.

When our £6.95 a plate breakfasts arrived we had 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon (hers burned to a crisp, mine still squealing), 1 egg, 2 standard supermarket button mushrooms, half a tomato. We had to ask for toast instead of having it brought to us while we waited for the breakfast. When ordering we'd asked for mixed white and brown, we received only white. At least it was hot. Butter was rock solid out the fridge.

All the while I watched with increasing discomfort as a couple sitting at an outside table waited for the previous customers dirty plates to be removed. Waiting staff went out with plates of food, asked if anyone had ordered it, came back in again looking for whoever had done so. Again let me stress this is a small cafe with 2 outsite tables and 4 or 5 inside. Between 4 waiting staff.

While queueing to pay, a lady in front made a complaint about her order and had her drinks refunded, they seem to be quite accustomed to doing this. They didn't ask how our food had been so spared themselves an earful. We paid and got the hell out of dodge.

There is nobody obviously in charge and I'm afraid when you leave the front of house to essentially children, it doesn't look good. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbaptie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Had a great nights stay at the Ravenous Beastie ( I LOVE the name by the way!). Rooms were clean and well appointed. The town of South Queensferry is quaint and very nice to walk. Not a whole lot going on at night, but some good restaurants. Stayed here as we had an early flight out of Edinburgh the next day and it was less money to stay out of the city. So glad we did!! The Scottish breakfast was amazing...the best we had had. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Queensferry
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Queensferry Hotel
The Queensferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Queensferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
4.0 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenous Beastie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenous Beastie

Property: Ravenous Beastie
Address: 15 West Terrace, South Queensferry, Edinburgh EH30 9LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > South Queensferry
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Queensferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenous Beastie 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms at Ravenous Beastie. The entrance to Rooms at Ravenous Beastie, is through our 6 table tearoom / cafe, which is open daily, from 8am through till 5pm , in the winter. We have 4 bedroom with en-suite shower facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ravenous Beastie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing