We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawes Inn Restaurant

Hawes Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Hawes Inn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Lasswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

we recently took my parents to this lovely inn right on the shore at S. Queensferry, and were pleased with the food.

I has a whole plaice which was delicious. One of our party had the battered fish and chips with mushy peas and when it came we were all gobsmacked at the size of it! He reported it was lovely.
My mother had the belly pork with crackling and black pudding, which I thought didn't look very great....all about the same colour. She reported it wasn't the best.
However my husband had ordered one of James Martins specially made pies, the beef and Merlot, which was delicious. I must say we were all oohing when we saw the pastry!

I would certainly return again as it was very good value, made even more so with my 25% off coupon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank duckfacepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    265
    164
    110
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pitstop on the way home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped in with the family on the way home from Perthshire. We had the unusual option in Scotland of being able to eat outside at 20.00hrs as it was a lovely evening. The service was prompt, professional and friendly. The food was of a good standard and everyone enjoyed their meal. The visit was topped off by a stunning sunset over the Forth Road Bridge and the trains rumbling across the iconic Rail Bridge overhead. The well appointed bar had a good selection of real ales, ciders and wines. All in all a most enjoyable visit to end a splendid day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavyB7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, awful food!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We decided to visit the Hawes Inn for a quick evening meal. It has quite a nice local pub feel to it and the staff are friendly enough. As a vegetarian I had only only 1 option to choose from and when it arrived i was very disappointed! A frozen microwave meal from the supermarket would have been miles better!

Will definitely not return for food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great spot under the forth railway bridge,serving excellent food and drink.
Firth of forth boat trips directly across the road,ideal after a cruise by the bridges.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Royalanhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant yesterday with a friend, and we were really disappointed. We had reserved a table and when we arrived we were shown to a table as far away from the main restaurant as possible (Our fault for not asking to be moved) We waited about 45 minutes for our starters,and as long for our main. This was not the fault of a very nice waitress called Ashleigh. This was the faut of the management as there were only 2 members of staff serving what had become quite a busy restaurant. I must add that next time we are in the vicinity we will eat elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRenfrewshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawes Inn Restaurant also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Hawes Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing