We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with an amazing view.”

Antico at Orocco Pier
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food with an amazing view.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Some of the earlier reviews criticised the service, but I found the staff pleasant and attentive.

I had the chicken fajitas and was very impressed it was served properly ready for me to assemble - I'd expected more like a wrap than proper fajitas!

The food was delicious.

It isn't particularly great value, but prices what I'd expect in a venue like this.

The room is a nice mix of sofas with low tables, normal tables and chairs, booths and bar seating. For a Monday lunchtime it was surprisingly busy.

The views of the bridge are amazing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleMisClumsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    234
    148
    110
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Need to sort out the service...”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with reasonable prices and the food is really good, unfortunately the service lets it all down.

We've been a few times and everyone has left us disappointed due to poor service, 20 minutes for coffees (they were busy...perhaps a training day with starbucks?)

This time my father in law asked for no potatoes (the breakfast comes with spicey potatoes) when it arrived it also had no potato scone, they thought that was what he meant, when he said no they just shrugged and walked away.

We also had a wait for 2 of the meals, this was because they forgot to put in my mother in laws order for eggs on toast, they were not busy and surely someone should have realised a table of 4 with 3 meals was odd?

Again, no real apology and didn't really explain why the other breakfast was late.

Now Dalgety Bay has somewhere new for eating, we'll try that and whilst they might not top the views the service may make the difference.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Random Visit”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Again another random stop to view the bridges and a quick lunch before flying home. Excellent food and staff plus an excellent view!!

Helpful?
Thank V8TrikeToursNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant spoiled by management planning”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Dined tonight at this venue and whilst the menu and food quality were first class the overall experience was totally let down by something that was quite avoidable.
We unknowingly had chosen to dine on the same evening as a wedding reception which was held in the adjacent function room. Whilst this should not normally present any problem we soon found out that the guests arriving for the evening reception were guided to the function room through the restaurant whilst we were eating dinner. This event took upwards of 10 mins as I would estimate there were between 50-60 people queuing along the passageway next to our table.
I now know how animals at the zoo feel!
We did ask to speak to the manager as I always feel it is only polite to make my feeling quite clear before writing an adverse report on trip advisor. He did apologise and give us free deserts for the inconvenience. He did however comment that there was an alternative entrance to the function room but this was not normally used!
Lessons learned,are, before making a booking for dinner first check if a wedding is taking place and if there is make sure that your allocated table is on one of the booths adjacent to the bar!
On the plus side the food was first class and our waitress Kirsty was excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronniechampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great staff in both the bar and the restaurant. Big hats off to the chef as we had an excellent meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 501miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico at Orocco Pier also viewed

South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
South Queensferry, Edinburgh
 

Been to Antico at Orocco Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing