We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection personified”

The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Aloysia Street
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfection personified”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just had two separate nights at the Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway. Each evening we ordered different dishes and each evening they were perfect in taste and texture. Not only were the entrees delicious, but the same could be said of the cocktails, wines, soup and salad. Our only disappointment was in how small the desserts were and that they were not awesome, just good. We look forward to returning to this restaurant again with friends. The grounds are beautfiul and the personnel are ingratiating. Although Nottoway is in the middle of nowhere, it is worth a trip back as it is a destination in and of itself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank herstory0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    48
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, LA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eating at the Mansion”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Three couples enjoyed dinner at the Mansion, sitting in the glassed-in circular area facing the yard with its many oak trees. Reservations were made to get the table. The appetizers of Oysters Bienville and Shrimp and Brie Soup were excellent although the oysters were very small. The Randolph Filet was an excellent cut of meat but not seasoned that well. The Parmesan and Herb Crusted Chicken was very good as was the Zydeco Salad. Some sides lacked flavor like the mashed potatoes but others like the spinach dishes were very good. The Ribs were average. Coffee was outstanding, particularly if you like stout Louisiana coffee.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalexius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the grilled fish with fresh medley of vegetables and garlic mashed potatoes. The tables were by the windows overlooking the grounds, it was a beautiful setting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delicious”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The seating was in an area that was surrounded by glass so you could enjoy the scenery of the Live Oaks and Gardens. We had a delicious lunch and had excellent service. The prices were very reasonable and they gave us a 10% discount because we had taken the tour. Everyone was very friendly. Everything was lovely...even the restrooms. Perfect place for a date. Plan to go back again for dinner soon.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Briggsie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Overpriced and over-hyped”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The restaurant is set as an upscale experience; not suitable for small children. Prices are a bit higher than average--the restaurant touts itself as being gourmet: it's not. Entre titles are designed to entice--presentation is mediocre; flavors are either very bland or too 'modern-experimental'. for the price you could better at one of the 'mom and pop' offerings along Highway LA-1. For sure, the food would be a lot more filling and taste better!

We ordered the 'Cajun 3-in-1'--was supposed to exemplify Cajun cooking--jambalaya served with etouffee--not sure what the 3rd was. Basically, it was a tepid brown stew with a mound of rice in the center. My partner ordered the fried redfish; fish was slimey and over cooked--vegetable accompanyment were stewed squash--no seasoning and stewed to mush.

The green salad (you pay $3 extra--most of the menu is a la carte) was a small plate of garden 'greens'--not torn or even chopped--just dumped on the little plate with 3 cherry tomatoe halves and a couple cucumber slices. Not worth the cost. Salad dressing was good, though I couldn't identify WHAT it was.

(btw, in MY estimation, sticking a branch of rosemary into a pile of rice--was it supposed to look like a tree on a rock mound?!--is not considered 'garnish' nor particularly decorative.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caveatactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway also viewed

 

Been to The Mansion Restaurant at Nottoway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing