We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We are veteran Nottoway visiters. Well, we were until now. I'm afraid that the old girl has received the last of our travel money. The pool was dirty and the room was stained. The walls were crumbling, and ther hasn't been paint on the place in years. The champaigne finally came after many calls, and me going to the bell hop kid (who was busy playing video games) to complain.

This was once a real jewel. The absentee Austrailian owner doesn't care about the house, so why should I? Why should I spend $275 on a flea bag room? The place has reached ''fixer-upper'' status. The food was okay, but over priced. The grounds looked good, but the house itself was water stained, plaster was cracked and falling, and our stay was memorable only in a bad way.

The only thing the house has going for it now is its history. It reminds me of a sad old woman still trying to look young.

Too bad...it's just too bad for this once lovely home.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank the_steeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    241
    100
    40
    22
See reviews for
309
536
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Stayed in the "overseer's cottage" for $160 a night in July 2006. It was dim, grimy and run down, carpet (badly stained) hadn't been vacuumed in weeks (quite a few dead insects), with dirty smears on the pillow shams, one lumpy old pillow per person, two threadbare small towels for 2 people, and cockroaches in the bathroom running across the counter. Furthermore, it reeked (hopefully the smell is due to mold, but it smelled like urine to us). Plus, we asked for a quiet room -- but the floors above creaked loudly until 2 a.m. and then again at 6 a.m. the next day.

No one seems to run this place. You check in with a teenaged boy and no one else seems to be around; when you leave you just toss your key on the desk. There is no one to go to if you have a question or problem -- you are just on your own. The "welcome drink" you are promised never materializes; the food at the restaurant is overpriced for food that is nothing special, and the wine by a glass tastes like it came from a box. Breakfast is also nothing special.

The experience at the main house may be different, but ours was horrible.

  • Liked — Historic plantation tour.
  • Disliked — Dirty, dingy, no service.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOVAtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed at the Nottoway main house overnight for a friends wedding. The rooms in the main house were the only ones left and we all wanted to stay where the wedding party was. First (as they did say) we could not check in until 5 and had to be out by 9 since these rooms were on the tour. The excitment of staying in an old plantation helped to cloud our judgment in this case. But that really wasnt the big problem. The water in this old house smelled of the worst sulfor you can imagine. It was horrable. I could smell it on myself even after we were home and had showers. It was that bad. Of course we over compinsated with the cologn which made it even worse. Also there are no amenities in these rooms at all.Yes, I know it's old and I should have expected certain things ,however, I have stayed in many older hotels in Europe and they at least have room service. You must go down to the first floor and find a fountain for water.....room service is non-existant. For $300.00 I would expect some water to be brought at least. Do yourself a favor and stay in the new part........leave the rooms in the main house for the tour.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Nottoway Plantation and found it to be a first class bed and breakfast experience. The staff were friendly and inviting. We stayed in Odessa's room in the main house, where we sipped complimentary sherry on the private verandah at sunset. Nottoway's staff gives their guests access to the entire home during the evening hours, so we were able to fulfill our ballroom dancers' fantasy. Being careful not to disturb anything other than the spacious wood floor, we danced several waltzes in Nottoway's gorgeous white ballroom! We did feel transported back to the romantic side of antebellum days.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 3, 2005

I have traveled to 49 states and stayed in many B&B's this has to one of the best ever! Beautiful rooms, super friendly staff, great food. Everything I could discuss about this home is positive. Don't stay in New Orleans drive out to Nottoaway for a truly southern expereience.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Nottoway one night on a recent trip to New Orleans, and thoroughly enjoyed it! Check-in was at a desk next to the gift shop outside the mansion, with the bellboy quickly noting our preferred times for the morning sweet potato muffin wake-up call and breakfast, then showing us to our rooms. We stayed in Odessa's room on the 2nd floor, a very large and beautiful furnished room with a half-tester double bed and other antiques that (almost) looked too beautiful to use. The ceilings on this level were quite high--15-and-1/2 feet, if I remember correctly--and were complimented with huge floor-to-ceiling windows with a bottom sash that is lifted to allow access to the private verandah. The bathroom is newly renovated, and included a jacuzzi tub with shower wand (otherwise no shower). There was a TV in the room with limited reception (I think we got four channels). There was also a fireplace in the room that did not look like it was used. Our room was in the main house but was not on the tour (some of the other rooms in the main house are included in the tours, so guests are required to check out early). There were also rooms in other wings, and in the foreman's cottage, but we didn't think they were quite as grand as the ones in the main house.

The sweet potato muffin, orange juice and coffee "wake-up call" was enjoyed sitting out on the verandah, and the plantation breakfast eaten later in the 1st floor dining room was delicious. We did not eat at the restaurant, although later we wished we would have, as other restaurants in the area are quite a distance away. The evening sherry was a nice touch.

The charm and history of this home are the real reasons to stay here. Being able to wander around the rooms and grounds at will was wonderful. We did take the tour (included in the price of the B&B) the next morning and found answers to many of the questions we'd come up with since wandering around the night before. The house itself has been restored beautifully, but it did look worn in a few area--mainly the exterior, with cobwebs and debris noted on the roof and siding, but nothing that detracted significantly. We also enjoyed walking along the Mississippi River levee in front of the house, where horses graze all day long.

The Nottoway really is a wonderful B&B, and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank easw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2005

If you are considering a river road trip, you have to make plans to stay at least one night at Nottoway. Pay a little extra and stay inside the mansion. It is beautiful and you can look around by yourself if you are staying there. The staff sees to your every need They make you feel very welcomed. The food was excellent. Nottoway is a don't miss! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joco0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
481 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#8 of 77 in Baton Rouge
525 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
18.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing