We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and history at the Nottoway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Charm and history at the Nottoway”
Reviewed March 23, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Nottoway one night on a recent trip to New Orleans, and thoroughly enjoyed it! Check-in was at a desk next to the gift shop outside the mansion, with the bellboy quickly noting our preferred times for the morning sweet potato muffin wake-up call and breakfast, then showing us to our rooms. We stayed in Odessa's room on the 2nd floor, a very large and beautiful furnished room with a half-tester double bed and other antiques that (almost) looked too beautiful to use. The ceilings on this level were quite high--15-and-1/2 feet, if I remember correctly--and were complimented with huge floor-to-ceiling windows with a bottom sash that is lifted to allow access to the private verandah. The bathroom is newly renovated, and included a jacuzzi tub with shower wand (otherwise no shower). There was a TV in the room with limited reception (I think we got four channels). There was also a fireplace in the room that did not look like it was used. Our room was in the main house but was not on the tour (some of the other rooms in the main house are included in the tours, so guests are required to check out early). There were also rooms in other wings, and in the foreman's cottage, but we didn't think they were quite as grand as the ones in the main house.

The sweet potato muffin, orange juice and coffee "wake-up call" was enjoyed sitting out on the verandah, and the plantation breakfast eaten later in the 1st floor dining room was delicious. We did not eat at the restaurant, although later we wished we would have, as other restaurants in the area are quite a distance away. The evening sherry was a nice touch.

The charm and history of this home are the real reasons to stay here. Being able to wander around the rooms and grounds at will was wonderful. We did take the tour (included in the price of the B&B) the next morning and found answers to many of the questions we'd come up with since wandering around the night before. The house itself has been restored beautifully, but it did look worn in a few area--mainly the exterior, with cobwebs and debris noted on the roof and siding, but nothing that detracted significantly. We also enjoyed walking along the Mississippi River levee in front of the house, where horses graze all day long.

The Nottoway really is a wonderful B&B, and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank easw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    233
    98
    39
    22
See reviews for
290
521
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2005

If you are considering a river road trip, you have to make plans to stay at least one night at Nottoway. Pay a little extra and stay inside the mansion. It is beautiful and you can look around by yourself if you are staying there. The staff sees to your every need They make you feel very welcomed. The food was excellent. Nottoway is a don't miss! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joco0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 5, 2004

We stayed in the Bridal Suite at the Nottoway for our honeymoon. It is the MOST beautiful and fascinating place. Service is wonderful, and just the atmosphere and history is enough to recommend this for a vacation destination. We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 19, 2003

This place was magnificent! If you love plantation homes this is one not to be missed! The welcome glass of sherry tasted like melted butter. Delicious. We stayed in Room 2 which was inside the mansion, and we had the whole house to ourselves. It amazed me that they actually let guests roam the house freely. In the Master Suite, there is a door that looks like a closet, but if you open it, there's another door that leads out onto the top floor of the veranda,with a beautiful view overlooking the live oaks. The grounds are amazing to roam around at night, especially after a few glasses of wine!;) And the pool lit up at night was nothing short of mesmerizing. I woke up before dawn, walked across the levee and sat at the edge of the river and watch the sunrise. It was so pretty it almost brought tears to my eyes.
Gentlemen, if you are looking for the perfect place to propose to that special someone, you can't go wrong at Nottoway. I will go back, and stay longer next time. P.S.- We went in October and the weather was perfect!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2003

What a memorable anniversary weekend! After we checked in, we went to our room (#3 btw). Almost immediately upon entering, there was a knock at the door. "I must have forgotten something at the check-in desk", I said. Opening the door, there was a fellow holding a tray with an ice bucket and a carafe of apple juice. "How nice" I thought. The "apple juice" turned out to be sherry. Nice surprise. The tour of the house was great (it's included in the price of your room). Afterward, you have the run of the house! I was amazed at this because there are all sorts of antiques and valuables in the house. The next day I asked a tour guide if thay had ever experienced any theft with all the valuable just out in the open like that. She said thay only had 1 theft in 20 years. The room we stayed in was old (naturally) but nice. The AC was a must, since we stayed in September. There was a small television but we didn't watch it much. The next morning we were up and getting ready to go down to breakfast. You have to choose a time for breakfast when you check in. Another knock at the door. Not sherry this time but rather a pitcher of orange juice and pot of coffee with two sweet potato muffins. Yum! An hour or so later, we were eating again in the old bowling alley in the basement of the main house. A full breakfast, your choice of things like waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon etc. After breakfast, we went back through the house, walked the grounds, and envied the lifestyle of the folks back in the antebellum days. We are going back again for our next anniversart but will stay in the main house this time. Can't wait !! This is a wonderful place to stay, especially if you enjoy antebellum homes.

Helpful?
2 Thank Alicat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 23, 2003

Our cousin was getting married at the Plantation, and we had a four-night stay. Much like the previous poster mentioned; pay the extra amount to stay in the mansion portion of the house. Since my relatives are from Louisiana, I knew pretty much what to expect.It was a once in a lifetime experience! In my latter years of travel, I will return to Nottoway, as it was just such an experience one is lucky to take. It is truly what life in the South used to be many years ago.One note. If you are expecting cable TV, internet, data ports, and even a newspaper, you are in for a surprise, because they just don't exist.Don't expect diet plates visiting Nottoway. Breakfast is filling, even if you have stomach space after the 'wake-up call' of sweet potato muffins and beverages. You can get a lighter fare lunch from the chicken salad served with the wonderful house herb dressing. For dinner, I recommend the fried shrimp, and of course, mint juleps! I also recommend the alligator excursion just down the road a bit. If one wants to truly experience the Old South, than this is the place for you! If you are looking for something with all of the gadgets, look elsewhere. I truly loved this experience!

  • Stayed May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2003

The sheer size of this plantation house is amazing; it's well worth touring even if you're not spending the night. We stayed in one of the rooms in the rear "wing," but if we visit again, would want to stay inside the main body of the house. The wing rooms are generally cheaper, have a wonderful veranda and are good if you're more interested in privacy. But for the full plantation experience, you probably should consider paying a little extra for one of the more spectacular rooms actually inside the main house. The on-site restaurant was good but not great. The room where the B&B guests get breakfast lacked atmosphere. As with most dining experiences in Louisiana, not a lot of heart-healthy options.

Helpful?
5 Thank Dtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
480 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 77 in Baton Rouge
518 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
15.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing