We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nottaway is the standard by which other plantation bed and breakfasts are judged. We stayed in one of the newer cottages that faces the pond and the main house. We enjoyed our evenings on the porch, usually watching a wedding party gathering. The restaurant food is surprising good, and the visual effects of the white linens in a white room overlooking the grounds is very special. The bar is small and intimate. It fits right in.
This was our second time to tour the house and it was still fascinating. The guide/docent was very good.

Room Tip: some of the cottages face tennis courts, which seems odd. We specifically reserved a cottage by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

What an amazing property!

We had a room in the cottages. Each little cottage is divided into 2 wonderful rooms and offers 2 rocking chairs per room on a shared balcony. We did hear the neighbours a bit but they were a very loud family with 3 small children that seemed to always be screaming. The next day we had quieter neighbours, and could not hear them anymore through the wall.
The room was just great! Comfortable bedding, large amount of space and complimentary coffee and water. The bathroom offered 2 sinks and a large bathtub. The room was super classy, and it was overall wonderful. Tv offered a good selection of channels.
The whole property offers free wifi, and we were able to use it no problem with our smart phones.

There is a pool which is open late, and is nice and clean. There is also a Jacuzzi Tub for guest use that is wonderful. Many jets and options available. Towel service is provided with nice large bath towels. My only little ick here, is that when we closed the top off the Jacuzzi tub, we saw a good 5 large cockroaches run off. Perhaps a pest repellant should be sprayed? Or, are those critters uncontrollable? No idea. – Did not see any of these critters around our room though.
Snack bar offered well priced small snacks for the afternoon. We only had the breakfast buffet at the restaurant, it was simple but good (biscuits, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt and fruit). We found the other meals were a bit pricy and drove out to the town of Plaquemine nearby for dinner (Recommended : Orleans on the Ave. restaurant).
The property also offers some great sunset views, is right on the Mississippi and has tennis courts.

Staff is friendly and helpful.
I suggest taking the property tour, the Nottoway is a highly historic property and its story and story of the Randolph family is very interesting and well delivered by the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently I had the occasion to tour this Louisiana home and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. This is the largest remaining ante bellum home in the south and is very much worth the time and money to tour (and perhaps stay in one of the rooms). The tour guide was very knowledgeable, courteous and friendly and made the tour very enjoyable. This house with it's ties to Virginia as the builder John Hampton Randolph was from Nottoway, Virginia and from one of the First Families of Virginia brings back the history of early American families and there spreading south and west in the years after the Revolution. The restoration was well done and the ownership maintains the house very nicely for our generation to enjoy! I highly recommend this house as one of the plantation home destinations in the South and Louisiana!

Room Tip: View from upper gallery is very nice of the river and surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The property is amazing and unique, it is the most beautiful and fascinating place. Absolutely stunning grounds with its huge Oaks stretching across, all the grandeur and charm of Southern LA! We stayed in the Cornelia Randolph room in the mansion . This room was very beautiful, spacious and comfortable. Felt as if we had stepped back in time. I highly recommend staying in the main house as you have full run of the house on your own. You just have to stay here for the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We used a coupon package and for the price we paid it was worth our journey. The grounds are very well-kept (with the exception of some wedding "remains") as well as most of the facitity. The main house (only remaining antebellum structure) needed some sprucing up. The tour was well done, but there are only a couple original furniture pieces present. The whole design of the complex is intended more for conference or special gathering uses.

The food at the restaurant was excellent, and the service was very congenial.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were in the area to tour the plantation homes. This home is beautiful. The little short film was nice to learn about the owners. Enjoyed the museum also. The rooms were restored very nicely and the molding was gorgeous. Our tour guide did a wonderful job. The only thing I didn't like was in the master bedroom there was a phone by the bed. I know you can stay in the room but it just stood out like a sore thumb. Also there were guest coming and going and it just took away from the tour. Overall okay

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 8 days traveling through Louisiana and only spent 1 night at Nottoway. I wish we could have spent more time but the road calls. We both felt like we were transported back in time while we walked the beautiful grounds. We stayed in the Virginia Randolph room. This room was very spacious and beautiful. I highly recomend staying in the main house as you have full run of the house after hours. It was neat walking around the house and exploring all the different rooms at our leasure. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant!!! Dont miss the crab cakes, best we had on our trip. Dont let the little complaints you might read in some of the reviews deter you from experiencing this beautiful place and you too could travel back in time.

Room Tip: The veiw of the Mississippi from our room was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcraeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
99 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
11 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#17 of 77 in Baton Rouge
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#11 of 77 in Baton Rouge
568 reviews
15.6 mi away
Home2Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
12.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gonzales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-3112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range: $144 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing