We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travel back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Creswell, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“travel back in time”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent 8 days traveling through Louisiana and only spent 1 night at Nottoway. I wish we could have spent more time but the road calls. We both felt like we were transported back in time while we walked the beautiful grounds. We stayed in the Virginia Randolph room. This room was very spacious and beautiful. I highly recomend staying in the main house as you have full run of the house after hours. It was neat walking around the house and exploring all the different rooms at our leasure. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant!!! Dont miss the crab cakes, best we had on our trip. Dont let the little complaints you might read in some of the reviews deter you from experiencing this beautiful place and you too could travel back in time.

Room Tip: The veiw of the Mississippi from our room was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcraeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    233
    98
    39
    22
See reviews for
290
520
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manzanillo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here with a large group of friends after a 50th birthday celebration in New Orleans. They gave us a large private dinning room for our dinner, which was exceptional. We did the tour the following day. Our guide, Christie, was so passionate that you almost thought you were back there in the 1800's. This is a great place to getaway to and pamper yourself.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KIWIZLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I thought I'd splurge and spend a night at the Nottoway Plantation Resort. Others had given it high marks, so I had great hopes. Carefully researched our room and chose Pine Cottage, Room 202 pond side in the cottages. Arrival went well. Bob, the gentleman at the desk was helpful and chatty. Our room was large, and part of a small row of cottages. There were 2 rooms in each cottage. Great toiletries, large bathroom, although a bit awkward, as there was one way into the bathroom, but 2 doors, one on each side, that had to be closed for privacy. The walls were paper thin. I could hear our neighbor's every move, and someone in their room had a vicious cough. Another reviewer mentioned the trains, but we actually enjoyed that noise. I'd picked Pine Cottage so I could sit in a rocking chair on the porch and have my morning coffee while watching the pond. Unfortunately, they were mowing and it was quite loud. I wasn't even able to hear myself think. I did eventually sit on the porch and observed a white crane catch a fish. That was the high point of my stay. All in all, I wouldn't spend the money to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pond side cottages were very pretty, but also had noise issues. We could hear everything in the adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idlewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us in one of our Pond Cottages. We are pleased you enjoyed the spacious room and the beautiful Egret that graced Nottoway on the date of your stay. Due to the fact that we like to keep eveything pristine on our grounds we do have a grounds crew that comes to the property mostly on Thursdays. We schedule them so that they are focusing on the property throughout the daytime hours giving those that are overnight guests a chance to enjoy the afternoons and mornings.
We hope that you will again be our guest at some point in the future and I would like to personally extend a special rate for you for the trouble and for your patronage as a repeat guest.
Thank You,
Jennifer Donald
225-545-2730 x 120
jenniferd@nottoway.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights in a bedroom in main house in late April. This is a lovely period property that has been sympathetically updated. Bedroom was comfortable and restaurant was very good for dinner on first two nights, but disapponting on third (soup of day was repeat of previous night and fish dish prepared in a bag was bearly cooked-was it chef's night off?). Bar staff make best mint juleps I have had in a long time, Misses outstanding rating due to management not having eye for detail in presentation. For example socket in bathroom was not properly attached to wall when we went into room and despite reporting this it had not been fixed by time we checked out two days later; bath towels were worn-at this standard of property they should be soft and fluffy; there are no racks on which to put cases in room which meant we had 6 cases and bags scattered around the room with risk of scratching the unprotected original wood floor,one of the pillow cases on bed on arrival had not been properly laundered and had dried blood mark-we took it off the pillow next morning-it was removed but not replaced and bed made up which we did not discover until we turned bed down to go to bed. All of these were little niggles but should not happen in this standard of property. Otherwise we enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana, USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live an hours drive from Nottoway but had never been there. We went this week for an overnight trip to celebrate our anniversary. We enjoyed the tour of the mansion. Our hostess was friendly and her love for the place really came through. The pool was small but very nice and well maintained. The restaurant on site was fabulous. The food was great and the service was very good. We sat in the glasses in patio area overlooking the grounds. There was a sandwich/ snack shop on the grounds but it is only open Th- Sun, which was disappointing. Bring your own snacks if you come M-W.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cottages rather than the main house because we are taller people and wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were touring plantations and stayed here for one evening. The setting is beautiful and it has to be the nicest accommodation in the area. We had a corner room with balcony, which was large and heavily decorated. I imagine it is a stop on tours when not occupied. There were at least 6 velvet pillows on the bed along with a heavy velvet coverlet....not that fresh smelling.
We were particularly disappointed with the balcony, which was entered by raising a floor length window. Peeling paint was everywhere and the balcony and chairs were not clean enough to be inviting to use. In addition, a glass full of cigarette butts had clearly been here for weeks.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and enjoyed the service and food. Breakfast was a buffet, which was fine.

Several things made sleep challenging:

-there was a constant, loud mechanical whirring sound, which was hard to tune out
-our heater didn't work, so the room was uncomfortably chilly. In fairness, we didn't ask for help as we didn't discover the problem until very late and we were too tired to deal with it.
-there was a wedding (I'm sure a very common thing) so we heard the ceremony and worse, the guests howlingafter the reception. I'm sure this is an incredible wedding venue, but it can be disruptive for independent guests.
-the hotel is very near a train station and we were awakened by the loud horn 6 times during the night.
-for people with mobility issues, the tub/shower in our room would present a challenge. One has to step into a deep, elevated claw foot tub without any security bar. That combined with a wet marble floor made me nervous, even with no physical limitations

In general, we were disappointed by this stay given the rave reviews on this site. It is still a good option - and probably the option-in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châteauguay, Quebec, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

While driving from Texas to Florida, we decided to stop in Louisiana, for a bit of history. Being french Canadian, Louisiana is close to our hearts, because of their history of deportation from Acadia. This history rich region, led us to stay at the Nottoway plantation and visit the grounds as well as share an excellent culinary experience with local specialties.
We strongly recommend a minimum one night stay, to appreciate the grounds, the tour and the food. Louisiana and especially Nottoway's hospitality is an experience of its own.
Bravo à toute l'équipe....

Room Tip: Reserve in advance and although the cottages are brand new, ask to stay in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
480 reviews
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#8 of 77 in Baton Rouge
518 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
15.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing