We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the littlest things make the biggest difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the littlest things make the biggest difference”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at Nottoway. Stayed in the Carriage House and was pleased with the appropriation of the room and large bathroom. Was very comfortable.

The restaurant is outstanding. Had the spinach strawberry salad which was beautifully presented, well dressed, and delicious along with a tasty crab cake. Kudos to the chef.

Because I live in hotels literally I never find many things to take exception with while staying in one. It must be clean and the toilets need to work. That's pretty much my criteria. Toilets worked fine, but there was a small problem with the room's cleanliness. I was unable to locate the TV remote and did not want to bother the front desk with such a minor problem. I looked under one of the beds and located 2 batteries, the remote, several bobby pins, an empty can of hairspray, and lots of dust bunnies. This really shouldn't happen.

Outside of our room there was a used q tip that was stuck to the adjacent room's door mat. It was there during our entire stay along with a crushed beer can on our front lawn and a full trash can by the stairwell.

I have no doubt this property was very busy during our stay and prior to our arrival, but these situations take seconds to remedy. A quick sweep under the beds, picking up some small bits of litter, and emptying the trash. These little things get noticed by all (and obviously spoken about) yet take such little time to improve. The plantation is too lovely to be marred by such small matters. Yet it does make an impression.

I do highly recommend a trip there and a tour. Our guide, Margaret, was great and provided us with a thorough tour through the home which was fascinating. Front desk service was helpful and kind. And eating at The Mansion should be mandatory!

Attention to the littlest things will make the biggest impact in future stays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rzrbktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your true honesty as this is how we are able to best communicate with our staff the importance of making our guest experience the best it can be. This review has been passed on to our housekeeping manager who has already posted it for our housekeepers to see. In your post, you stated that we were probably too busy too notice these things, but on the contrary we were trying to re-open our doors after the hurricane to accommodate our guests who had standing reservations. In the chaos of things, this may have resulted in the overlooking of the smaller things on property, but none the less needed to be attended to. Again, thank you for your post, as I am confident these things will be corrected immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    206
    88
    34
    20
See reviews for
241
460
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roosendaal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We picked Nottoway out of a long list of plantation houses and had very high hopes for our stay abut it was not to be. We were given a room in the Carriage House. The room was pretty and well-appointed at first glance but disappointed when inspected properly. The toiletries were cheap generic ones (we got exactly the same ones at our NOLA hotel where we only paid USD 149 per night). In addition, despite the room having two queen beds (ie they are expecting more than 2 persons to sleep in the room) the bathroom held exactly 4 towels (2 large, 2 small plus 2 face cloths). The water pressure in the room was very poor which made for a miserable morning shower. Worse of all was the view from our hotel window, which was that of a selection of air-conditioning unitsm a small grove of trees which was littered with (builders rubble?) and what looked unhappily like used toilet -paper. The outside door-mat to our room was also sodden and thick with human air.
Check-in the evening before was done by a most friendly and professional older gentleman. This was in contrast to the lady (sitting down, no make-up, no sense of customer service) on the morning checkout, who didn’t even enquire how our stay was….We took the bull by the horns and told her what needed to be improved but she didn’t seem the slightest bit fazed or embarrassed but simply said ‘oh, well we will look after that’ ...No apology offered. We asked for an umbrella to view the grounds but were informed that there were ' none for visitors'. We were however permitted…. (oh gee thanks!)to use the staff umbrella on the understanding that ‘we brought it back, its our only one’. The grounds and the footpaths were all so sodden from the rain that we had to take off our shoes to view the front of the house….in the end, we were so disillusioned that we left without taking a photograph at all. Tip to Nottoway, re-train or replace your cleaners, garden staff but most certainly your check-out lady. The rhetoric in your brochures is lovely but a tad hollow/pathetic now that we have experienced the reality. Thanks but no thanks, Nottoway.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the carraige house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra_BT_Hannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We appreciate your review; I am pleased to respond that we have made several changes since your stay. Yes, we have always had umbrellas for sale in our lovely gift shop, but now offer rain ponchos to our guests at a rate of $3.85. This will greatly help those of you who are travelling to our facility unprepared for our afternoon rain showers we get throughout the month of August. We strive to make each of our guests comfortable and do provide enough amenities and towels in each guest room based on our double occupancy rates, if for any reason extra towels are needed, housekeeping can always be found or a quick call to the front desk and someone will be on their way to your room with the extra towels.
We greatly understand the view of the field behind the Carriage House, and it is for this reason we now provide rocking chairs at the front of the building for our guests to sit and appreciate the grand view of our mansion. We thank you for your visit, and hope that when you visit in the future you are pleased with the changes we are always making in order to satisfy our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We enjoyed our getaway at Nottoway Plantation! We stayed in Room 15, Mary Randolph room. The room has 15 foot ceilings with 11 foot doors. The bed was comfortable (one of the few queen beds in the main house). The pool was lovely and private. Breakfast was buffet with the complete offerings of hot and cold meals, including yogurt, granola, fruit, eggs, sausages,bacon, grits and biscuits. Service was excellent. The tour is worth taking and costs additionally. The recent owner spent $15 million to make Nottoway Plantation a resort destination. You'll be pleased!

Room Tip: For the full historic value of staying on the plantation, request a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudiaisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I made this trip to propose to my girlfriend. I arrived and had reservations to stay in the main mansion. I got to my room and the cleaning staff had not cleaned it from the night before. I called the front desk and was informed that the cleaning staff had already gone home for the night. We were "upgraded" to a suite. It was quite nice, but there were spiders webs in the shower and I found five spiders in the room the one night we were there. We had our own hot tub as part of the upgraded room and it had bugs floating in it. Overall I was very unsatisfied with my stay. The restaurant was amazing. The manager there is amazing and totally helped to salvage the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here in June for one night during a driving tour of the south. The hotel itself was lovely and clean although location wasnt great but that's no fault of the hotel!

I booked through agoda months before and paid upfront. Upon checkout they gave me my receipt and I thought that was the end of it until I got home and they had charged me again directly! I emailed and queried and they said they had refunded but when I checked the refund was short, it was probably because of the exchange rate but that's not my problem! I have emailed numerous times about this and I am being ignored! Probable because they know the likleyhood of me returning is slim but that is poor service!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your post. I would like to make all of our international travelers aware, that if they are booking through an outside online company and the exchange rate changes, they will need to verify with said company the policy if a refund is warranted. In this particular case, we did refund the exact amount charged, and feel like we have done all that is possible to make this guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have just returned from 3 nights/ 4 days on the plantation grounds. Yes the "Home" and history is lovely but this hotel/plantation is in dire need of a few essentials to keep their guest's comfortable and coming back. We stayed in the carriage house which is located in the farthest corner of the resort. Although our room was in the newest developed residence, it lacked some very basic amenities. We are in the deep south in the middle of summer and our roomed lacked a mini-refrigerator and microwave. And get this, the ice machine was located in a separate building over 2 football fields away. There are no drink machines located in the building either. You are at the mercy of walking for every need, anytime of the day or night, at a minimum of this distance, for any need. Furthermore, although they have a restaurant on the premises, there is only one. A cafe (not much of cafe) is open through the day (9-5) but actually closed on Sunday. Another real problem, rocking chairs are set outside of each cottage/carriage house to enjoy, yet there are no ceiling fans for comfort or to keep the bugs at bay...and they have bugs! The salon was closed the entire trip, the fitness lounge lacked the amenities stated, times and prices of the restaurant menu were not accurate as printed in hotel guide in the room but most disturbing was the front desk is able to open mic into your room without your knowledge unless they speak up and you are aware the small red light is lit on the phone. No updates or changes regarding advertised amenities were mentioned at check-in. Finally, the family cemetery, for which this very plantation exist, was in much need of TLC.

Room Tip: Can't help you here...didn't even have service our 2nd day although we stopped and ask our h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki5654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at Nottoway, we apologize your room did not meet your expectations. We do try and showcase each individual room on our web-site, where you can see many pictures of our quaint facility. Unfortunately, the only rooms that have full kitchens are our corporate suites in our cottages. They are the next price tier up from the Carriage House, due to their extra ammenities. Perhaps this was just an oversight during the reservation process, as no other rooms on property have a "mini" fridge. We hope that next time you will take advantage of our corporate suites and all they have to offer, including extended stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you visited Nottoway more than 3-4 years ago, it's time to go back. It has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation and expansion of cottage rooms, a small carriage house hotel, meeting space, etc. Beautiful piece of property and fine quality restaurant. Highly recommend for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MochaLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#15 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#5 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing