We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged twice for room and only received part refund!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Certificate of Excellence
carlisle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charged twice for room and only received part refund!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here in June for one night during a driving tour of the south. The hotel itself was lovely and clean although location wasnt great but that's no fault of the hotel!

I booked through agoda months before and paid upfront. Upon checkout they gave me my receipt and I thought that was the end of it until I got home and they had charged me again directly! I emailed and queried and they said they had refunded but when I checked the refund was short, it was probably because of the exchange rate but that's not my problem! I have emailed numerous times about this and I am being ignored! Probable because they know the likleyhood of me returning is slim but that is poor service!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your post. I would like to make all of our international travelers aware, that if they are booking through an outside online company and the exchange rate changes, they will need to verify with said company the policy if a refund is warranted. In this particular case, we did refund the exact amount charged, and feel like we have done all that is possible to make this guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    214
    91
    37
    20
See reviews for
260
485
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have just returned from 3 nights/ 4 days on the plantation grounds. Yes the "Home" and history is lovely but this hotel/plantation is in dire need of a few essentials to keep their guest's comfortable and coming back. We stayed in the carriage house which is located in the farthest corner of the resort. Although our room was in the newest developed residence, it lacked some very basic amenities. We are in the deep south in the middle of summer and our roomed lacked a mini-refrigerator and microwave. And get this, the ice machine was located in a separate building over 2 football fields away. There are no drink machines located in the building either. You are at the mercy of walking for every need, anytime of the day or night, at a minimum of this distance, for any need. Furthermore, although they have a restaurant on the premises, there is only one. A cafe (not much of cafe) is open through the day (9-5) but actually closed on Sunday. Another real problem, rocking chairs are set outside of each cottage/carriage house to enjoy, yet there are no ceiling fans for comfort or to keep the bugs at bay...and they have bugs! The salon was closed the entire trip, the fitness lounge lacked the amenities stated, times and prices of the restaurant menu were not accurate as printed in hotel guide in the room but most disturbing was the front desk is able to open mic into your room without your knowledge unless they speak up and you are aware the small red light is lit on the phone. No updates or changes regarding advertised amenities were mentioned at check-in. Finally, the family cemetery, for which this very plantation exist, was in much need of TLC.

Room Tip: Can't help you here...didn't even have service our 2nd day although we stopped and ask our h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki5654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Nottoway Plantation Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here at Nottoway, we apologize your room did not meet your expectations. We do try and showcase each individual room on our web-site, where you can see many pictures of our quaint facility. Unfortunately, the only rooms that have full kitchens are our corporate suites in our cottages. They are the next price tier up from the Carriage House, due to their extra ammenities. Perhaps this was just an oversight during the reservation process, as no other rooms on property have a "mini" fridge. We hope that next time you will take advantage of our corporate suites and all they have to offer, including extended stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you visited Nottoway more than 3-4 years ago, it's time to go back. It has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation and expansion of cottage rooms, a small carriage house hotel, meeting space, etc. Beautiful piece of property and fine quality restaurant. Highly recommend for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MochaLover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here one night in Room #15 in the mansion. It had great period furniture, a nicely upgraded bathroom and plenty of space for sure. We enjoyed our stay but were disappointed that the room needed some work. The bath needs some maintenance as the faucet handles were coming apart, the window blind was broken and drawer pulls were broken - nothing major, just a lack of attention to detail and care. With the high ceilings we were glad there was a fan unit in the room as the air conditioner was really inadequate - the fan helped immensely. This Grande Dame mansion really deserves more attention to make the resort stay top notch. We enjoyed our tour of the mansion - we'd been touring several plantations on this trip and appreciated the beauty and opulence of Nottoway in comparison to others. Our tour guide here, however, could have been more knowledgeable. We felt she might have been new as most questions we asked were answered with, "gee, I don't really know" in response. We enjoyed walking around the grounds, up the levee to see the river and the gardens and lighting at night - very nice. We especially enjoyed when it got very quiet late you could hear the low rumble of traffic on the river. We also had a great dinner at the restaurant, reviewed separately.

Room Tip: There is no elevator for the mansion, just be aware in case you have a good amount of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Go6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my third time in the last 25 years to stay at Nottoway. They have experienced a massive rennovation that included the addition of some outlying cabins, work out room and a pool. There is also a restaurant that is located in the main house now. The renovations are beautiful and in keeping with the original ambiance and color scheme. Everything is first rate, including the food. Prices are very reasonable for the level of amenities and I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The newer cabins are larger and less expensive than the main house, but it is fun to stay in the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austinranch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in the Cornelia Randolph room and it had a gorgeous canopy bed and other period furniture. The marble fireplace was still original to the plantation. Part of our package was a tour of the plantation which we found really interesting. When it comes to interiors this was the nicest antebellum collection I have seen so far. The tour guide and staff in their canteen were really nice. The cost of our stay was also really good value for money as the rate also included breakfast and was only around $200. If we were out this way again, we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: It is worth staying in one of the rooms in the plantation itself. We personally loved the Cornelia r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kehAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed in the Cornelia #1 room. We had a wonderful 12th anniversary night. The grounds are gorgeous at night and the food is wonderful. Our room was very clean, bed comfortable and had a view of the Mississippi that you cannot see unless you are on the 3rd floor. 3 windows in the room and 1 in the bathroom. Would highly recommend to anyone!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamveazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Castle
14.6 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#7 of 77 in Baton Rouge
509 reviews
11.0 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#14 of 77 in Baton Rouge
479 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
Best Western Plaquemine Inn
#1 of 1 in Plaquemine
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
15.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nottoway Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nottoway Plantation Resort

Property: Nottoway Plantation Resort
Address: 31025 Highway 1, White Castle, LA 70788-0160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > White Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in White Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nottoway Plantation Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nottoway, the South's largest remaining antebellum mansion, is a stunning historic plantation that lies between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana. A dramatic, multi-million-dollar renovation has restored this historic plantation to her days of glory as well as adding luxury resort accommodations, deluxe amenities and corporate and social event venues. Nottoway, located 25 miles from Baton Rouge and 70 miles from New Orleans, is an exceptional choice for weddings, fine dining, corporate functions, business meetings, social events, group retreats and luxury room accommodations. Plantation tours are given 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Nottoway Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nottoway Plantation Hotel White Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing